We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grange Guest House
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I couldn't find a nice hotel in central Bishop's Stortford, but TripAdvisor reviews suggested that this B&B was worth a try. It was a lovely quirky alternative to a bland hotel room. There was a warm welcome and helpful advice for getting into town. Paulette was still awake when I returned late and poured me a glass of water to take to bed, and I enjoyed a very comfy night's sleep.
Breakfast was chambre d'hôte style with the other guests, which made a nice change from breakfasting alone, and the scrambled eggs were excellent.
But the nicest surprise was to receive a phone call a couple of hours after I'd checked out to tell me I'd left behind my mobile charger. "Don't worry," said Peter, "We'll post it to you."
You don't get that level of service in a travel lodge!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
20
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Grange guest whilst visiting family in the area. We can't speak highly enough about our experience. We had a lovely en-suite room on the top floor with an extremely comfy bed. Breakfast was a very different experience everyone seated round a large table which made for a very friendly atmosphere and the breakfast menu was excellent with a good range of choices.Finally our hosts Paulette and Peter were very welcoming always a cheerful smile. We will certainly be making a return visit in the future as we travel by train and the property is located close to the Railway station also Stortford town centre

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This is simply the best place to stay in Stortford. Its a hidden gem run by the very friendly Paulette an Peter who are excellent hosts. A good central location in a quiet residential area handy for town and the airport.Very comfortable beds very clean and very artisic decoration witg original artwork fron the owners and their talented family.
The ensuite room is compact but has everything you need and the rooms without ensuite are also excellent. Do not be put off by the thought of a shared bathroom as it is imaculate and spotless.
Breakfast is excellent with home cooked local freerange food. Paulette is very accomodating serving breakfast to order even outside the usual times.
We often stay in Stortford for family and work and this is a regular stop. I cant recommend this enough. Oh and the three legged cat is just adorable!.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank busycitybreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villeneuve-sur-Lot, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I arrived at the house at around 5pm for a night and had to take another plane the next morning at London Stansted. The place was very easy to find, because ideally situated close to the railway station. I met Paulette, which is a very nice person. Her cats are cute, too !
The single room was maybe a bit small but very ok and enough for me, there were tea facilities and tv, and the bed was really comfy. I slept really well and even though I could slightly hear the planes because of Stansted airport situated nearby, it didn't bother me at all at night.
If I'd like to be picky I'd say that the bathroom could be cleanier, but it was still acceptable.

Maybe it could be a bit cheaper for the size of the room and the view from the window (either the wall or the neighbour's window), but I guess it's London prices.

Too bad I left too early, so I didn't have a chance to taste Paulette's mouth-watering full English breakfast !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Found this little gem on a last minute booking site. It is ran by a lovely couple and we felt very welcomed by them. The double room we stayed in at the top of the house nice an clean with its own shower room. Tea making in room factilities in the room and a small TV. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast very good too. The only negative was the bathroom towels were a bit hard, they needed to be placed in a dryer to fluff them up. All in all would definately book there again if we are to stay in Bishops Stortford, I'll just take my own towels.

Room Tip: Ask for the double ensuite room at the top of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

What a lovely find. A gorgeous house in a very handy location.
The room was beautiful we were on the top floor and slept under a sky light. The bathroom had a huge shower.
If I had a house it would be just like this. Lovely fresh breakfast would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carterishandsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I only stayed at Grange Guest House for one night, but it was a very pleasant stay. The room I stayed in had books and ornaments, making it a lot nicer than some of the plain rooms with no personality that some B & Bs offer. The shower was good, as was the breakfast (nice selection, and good quality items). Paulette was very helpful, offering directions and suggestions, and she encouraged me to go to a local Indian restaurant, which turned out to be very good. I would definitely stay here again if I were in Bishop's Stortford.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahateumezalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
1.1 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Guest House

Property: Grange Guest House
Address: 48 Grange Road, Bishops Stortford CM23 5NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Stortford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Edwardian Guesthouse only 600 metres from the train station in the historic market town of Bishop's Stortford with its many shops and restaurants. Fast access to Stansted airport, London and Cambridge. Free WiFi. Good home cooked breakfast using good quality free range and organic produce. French also spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing