We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful hosts, peaceful garden, very welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtlands B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shipton under Wychwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtlands B&B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful hosts, peaceful garden, very welcoming!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Booked this for my parents as it has a downstairs bedroom for people who find stairs challenging - a great hit with my mum! The Fletchers made my parents (& us & even our dog!) very welcome with tea & cake as we arrived. My parents thoroughly enjoyed chatting with their hosts, the room was very comfortable, clean & quiet. Breakfasts were of a high standard & cooked to suit particular diets. I know my patents have recommended this B&B to other family already & they would be very happy to return themselves.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kino100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bundanoon, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Courtlands B&B. Jean and John made us feel like part of the family, giving us access to their lovely warm home, with our own sitting room and a pretty back garden. Jean helped with our washing and provided a magnificent cooked breakfast every morning. Both she and John gave us excellent travel advice. Our upstairs room was clean and very comfortable, with an enormous and well appointed en-suite. Shipton under Wychwood is a pretty little village built around Shipton Manor. It's a great location from which to explore the Cotswolds, with good car access to Oxford, Blenheim Palace, Bristol, Bath, Stonehenge and Avebury. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eversmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Jean Fletcher runs a very efficient and friendly operation.
Special requests are remembered and catered for and she made a number of suggestions for places to visit that were very helpful.
Shipton under Wychwood is attractive but not in itself a tourist attraction. However there are two good places to eat within walking distance of the B&B and Burford is only 4 miles away. That part of the Cotswolds is very attactive with pretty villages and countryside with good walks and places to visit.
The bedrooms at the B&B are of good quality, reasonably sized and good bathrooms. However the set up is such ( with only on en-suite) that is best if both rooms and a single if necessary, are occupied by friends or family. Excellent breakfasts and packed lunches. Also access to fridge with fresh milk and juices.
We enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending Courtlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNN62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do have 2 double ensuite rooms available at Courtlands.
Our twin room is only used with the private bathroom, our other single room can be used for a family of 3 or 2 single friends who do not mind sharing a bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Accommodation was very comfortable with full English breakfast with plenty of choice for cereals and fruit juices. The hot breakfast was custom-made to our requirements and very good. We had a warm welcome with tea/coffee and home-made cake.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Courtlands B&B, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Writing a review of "Courtlands" is difficult because just about everything good about this outstanding Bed and Breakfast and it,s hosts Jean and John has already been said.
Jean and John are the most Generous Hosts you could possibly wish for.
They go out of their way to help with advice about the area,very much enjoy a good old chat about anything and you get a welcome with a Wonderful pot of tea and good old home made cake whenever you return in the early evening from a day out.
The Accommodation at "Courtlands is exceptional in being very clean,spacious and comfortable.
We stayed for two Nights in a double en-suite,which was very well furnished that was more than we had expected.
We will be returning to "courtlands"soon,providing that they are not fully booked up.
Thank you Jean and John for making a lovely break for us.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Courtlands B&B, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing and having another good old chat soon. It was wonderful to receive your thank you card, very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I have been staying with Jean & John for at least 5 years and don't think we have ever left any review. A sin considering how great it all is. Trouble is you may want to stay at the same time as us.

Courtlands standards have not faltered even a smidgen since we started staying. It is like staying with friends or relatives,who do everything for you. On arrival we are always offered tea or coffee and some of Jeans home made cake in the conservatory, overlooking their lovely garden. Rooms are really comfy, spacious and clean, as is the whole house.Our room has a lovely large en-suite shower room with toiletries, tea / coffee making facilities, biscuits and lovely china. Plus of course a TV. Between them Jean and John are a mind of local information and if they do not know, will look on the web and find out for you.

Breakfast is definitely worth getting out of bed for, lots (about 6) of various cereals plus a freshly made fruit salad every morning with Greek yoghurt ..really great. Then comes the cooked part of breakfast (my favourite) always great. As much tea /coffee as we can drink and mixed toast as much as we want and oh yes, Jeans home made marmalade and preserves / jams, my wife's favourite is the whisky marmalade. Everything being served on immaculate china.

You get a front door key and come and go as you please. It really doesn't come any better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tregorthe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Courtlands B&B, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to see you both, looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We found Courtlands B&B very good. Clean, neat and tidy--we were encouaged to use the garden whenever we wanted. The breakfast was a treat, the homemade marmalade was very good.
John and Jean went out of their way to make our stay memorable. They helped us to find places via the internet and drew maps for us. They could not have been more helpful. I would reccommend Courtlands to anyone. The next time we visit the Cotswolds, we shall stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtlands, Owner at Courtlands B&B, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for take the time to write a review about Courtlands B&B it is very much appreiciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
0.3 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
217 reviews
6.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
941 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,032 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shaven Crown
The Shaven Crown
#1 of 6 in Shipton under Wychwood
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtlands B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtlands B&B

Property: Courtlands B&B
Address: 6 Courtlands Road, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtlands B&B is located on the edge of the Cotswolds in a quiet village only a few miles from Burford, in easy reach of Oxford, Blenheim Palace, Cotswolds villages, National trust properties and gardens. Jean and John have created a combination of ease, comfort and well-known hospitality. Breakfast is sourced locally, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, homemade preserves and a good English breakfast, any diets catered for. Afternoon tea in the garden or conservatory. 3 local pubs in walking distance. All bedrooms have hostess trays, colour TV an internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtlands B&B Shipton Under Wychwood, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing