We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in two rooms at the Lamb Inn, as it was a late booking, so they could accommodate us in one room for the first two nights, then they moved us to another room for our final night as the first room was booked. All we had to do was prepare our bags and they did the move for us.

We received a warm welcome from our host, Tracy, part of a mother/son team who run the inn and happily gave local information. All the staff were most helpful, even providing me with a spare cable for charging my mobile as I'd left mine at home.

I'm not a fan of horse-racing, but if you are, you'll love the bar, full of books, photos, Cheltenham racing programmes, even jockey pants! There were also some fine paintings for sale on the walls from a local artist.

We ate at the inn on two nights, with the middle night at another local pub, as we didn't want to drive anywhere. After our first night in the bar, we were very happy to eat there again. Good, enticing food choices, excellent quality and good wine, with an easy relaxed ambience in the bar and a slightly more formal style of service in the restaurant. The pork belly was excellent. All fab!

Our first room was Leopard Hills, with a king-size bed and a good-sized bathroom. Each room has its unique decor and this one suited us very well. The only (very minor) oddness was a silly non-smoking sign that looked a bit cheap/tacky and didn't really fit with the rest of the well-thought out interior.

Our second room was Spice Route, which had a most beautiful carved wooden bed from the Orient and felt quite luxurious, which you can see in their photos. However, the room was quite dark and there was nowhere to put a book or glass if you're the one sleeping on the inside. Perhaps the room could have been laid out slightly differently? It was very warm and a bit noisy as it's right above the main bar. This did not deter us from sleeping well, but it might bother some people.

I popped my nose into the Paris en Provence room, just out of curiosity and it looked fresh and inviting.

Breakfast was served downstairs, either in the restaurant area or at a cosy table next to the bar and a real fire. It felt very relaxed and a good choice of well-cooked food and good friendly service.

We had a very good experience at the Lamb Inn and we would very gladly return to the Lamb Inn for another stay in the Cotswolds, but would opt for the Leopard Hills room or Paris en Provence over the Spice Route.

Room Tip: See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    74
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
30
133
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I booked this purely because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor and boy were they right. We booked the night before and stayed for one night on the Saturday 4th February 2012. We stayed in the Paris en Provence Room. We knew that snow was due that day. Indeed it started at 1.15pm when we were in Stow on the Wold. So we drove straight to the Lamb where we received a really warm welcome from Tracey and checked in our room. Paris en Provence is a lovely room overlooking the front. A large blue slipper bath is gorgeous. The only downside is the noise from the bar at night as there is a restaurant underneath it, but you get around that by joining in downstairs and it soon quietens down and is then lovely and peaceful.

The pub was buzzing and busy when we arrived, the snow was falling, we sat at the bar and had lunch !! Beautifu.l some lovely Petit Chablis and delicious sandwiches. Paul Tracey's son sent us out for a walk later to the Wild Wood 2 minutes away opposite Shipton Hall, this was a delight, all the pond was frozen and covered in snow, I took some really great photos. Make sure you visit, It must look lovely when all the spring flowers are out.
We had our Dinner by the fire as recommended by Cath and we didn't want to leave. The food was lovely and we both had the Beef Pie - really scumptious no wonder Pie night is so popular.The wine list is good too with a lot of choice. We found the young very local staff a real delight they could not do enough to help you, really good old fashioned service with a smile from all the girls and boys who work here. A real change !! There is a lovely garden with nice furniture when were were there it was accesorised by an Snow dog instead of Man !!
So if you want a night away at a lovely old inn, there is a steep flight of stairs up to 2 of the rooms. But this made us feel as if we had been away for 3 or 4 days. We had a really great breakfast the next morning. The snow had blocked the Burford hill apparently. We left about 10.30 earlier than we had planned becuase of freezing fog. When we left Shipton it looked very spooky - like we were on Bodmin Moor... But we we defnitely will be back. Thank you Tracey & Paul ...

Room Tip: Remember some of the rooms are over a dining room and bar and this is a pub with rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been here three times now in three weeks and it hasn't failed to impress me.

The pub is always busy, a good sign, the staff attentive and food and beer is excellent. I believe it is a family run Inn and perhaps that gives you a clue as to the attention that is lavished on dinners and drinker alike.

There are speciality nights such as Pie night and Fish and Chip night, both meals for under a £10.00. If this is not to your liking the menu gives a good choice and is excellent.

If you love real ale you won't be disappointed with Abbots as the standard and other guest beers. If you like lager then they have Perronio (think that is how you spell it) plus others.

There is a car park and a outside drinking area which has plenty of tables and chairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwitterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had a lovely break here last weekend as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday. I booked last minute but nothing was too much trouble, lovely cosy pub and room with delicious food at reasonable prices. My boyfriend had some of the best beef he's ever eaten here and the thai fishcakes were a highlight.

The village is lovely, quiet and not too touristy but atmospheric nonetheless. Make sure you get the table by the fire and you won't want to leave. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathC7875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Whilst the Lamb is nice for a drink in the evening, or Sunday lunch, I'd recommend Pie Night on a Wednesday where you can have a choice of delicious pies with veg and chips/ mash AND a glass of mulled wine for £9.95. The food is always good, the building is fabulously old and wonky and on a summer's day there's a nice garden as well. You'll need to book though because Pie Night is very popular round here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon/Berks
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I work in the area and for the last three years The Lamb Inn is where a group of 9-10 of us have had our Xmas get together.
My boyfriend and I have stayed twice and have not been disappointed. Staying over is our Xmas treat.

These are the reasons we keep coming back :

The Lamb Inn is a professional family run business in a beautiful village in an outstanding part of Britain.
The family are genuinely very nice, down to earth people who endeavour to make your visit at their Inn an enjoyable one whether you are a visitor or a regular. The locals are very very welcoming and friendly and I feel a village pub/inn should provide a service to its locals.

The restaurant serves a very high standard of food and a good selection of wines. The service we receive is always warm, friendly and 1st class. Nothing is too much trouble.
The breakfast, again is of the same high quality whether you have the full english with locally sourced produce or the continental. More than enough and served by a very pleasant young member of staff.

The rooms are, again, to a very high standard. The interior design is very original and have a "boutique " feel to them, I have stayed in Paris en Provence and Spice Route.
I was very surprised that a review stated it was dark and dingy in the "spice" room - that is not the case at all. The opium bed and dark teak furniture is exotic, sensual and somewhat mysterious and really gives an opulent, oriental feel.
The bathroom is well designed and uses its space well, after all this is an old coaching inn- they didn't tend to have ensuites in those days! Fab power shower.
The "paris" room is spacious, well appointed and again beautifully designed. Very romantic feel to this room.
The rooms have good facilities and always use high quality linens, towels and toiletries.. Nice!
The public areas are very clean and again designed and decorated to very high standard.

A must for National Hunt lovers!

The outside areas are just as well thought out as the inside. Lovely touch with the patio heater!
Overall The Lamb offers high quality food, service and accommodation for an Inn and is excellent value for money.

I was amazed at some of the negative reviews and one did make me giggle (bit too personal and rant like to be taken seriously !) , are we talking about the same place and the same Mr Hunt!!!
Will we be returning for a 3rd stay ..oh yes a 4th,5th etc etc most definitely! A very big thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymOxon_Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed in the Paris en Provence room for a weekend with our dog. It's a great room if you have a dog--very cozy and not overly ornate. Bring a dog blanket as there is a nice daybed by the window that is a perfect dog beg.

Fantastic large bathtub with a nice shower as well. The service was excellent and we enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the pub. Good wine list. One thing to note: the room is a bit loud during dinner hours, but we avoided that by going downstairs and enjoying the restaurant ourselves.

Room Tip: The Paris en Provence room is spacious and cosy and great for dogs. Not exactly quiet during dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corsica17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
3.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: High Street | near Chipping Norton, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Shipton Under Wychwood
The Lamb Inn Shipton Under Wychwood, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing