We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lamb Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford House(Burford)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds(Burford)(Great Value!)
US$81
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$70
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$193
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fox(Chipping Norton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown and Cushion Hotel(Chipping Norton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
116
81
19
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
81
19
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambleopard hillsthe pubspice routeparis roompiesfish and chipswine listtwo nightssteep stairslovely foodbeautiful roomcooked breakfastbar areafriday nightnew ownerstwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Nice room with a four poster bed, nice bathroom with a bath and shower. We were made very welcome as soon as we arrived. We stayed for a 2 night break. The village was very quiet, but close to Bourton-on-the water, and Burford, with great walks. Lovely village pub, which was busy both nights, with most people having a meal. the food was great, not a large menu, but well cooked. Breakfast was excellent with locally produced bacon and sausages.
Would recommend the pub for a short break, good value for money, and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary here and so glad we did. Staff were super helpful and friendly, food is great with good sized portions and the accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Best of all for us it is a dog friendly pub. Great walks are on the doorstep and the surrounding countryside is just lovely. Would definitely like to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great atmosphere and the best meal so far after 2 weeks of eating out in pubs in England and Scotland. Don't know about the accommodation,as we stayed in a nearby B &B. The dining area was cosy with a warming wood fire. The bar was crowded with locals, always a good sign.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rosscoe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Lamb is tucked away in a corner of this Shipton-under-Wychwood and is a gorgeous example of a village pub / restaurant. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and from the moment we were shown to our room to the morning of checkout we were well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. Our room - Paris en Provence - was very comfortable and well furnished, the bar with its roaring log fire and real ales was very cosy and the restaurant and dinner was excellent. Breakfast was also perfect. Another plus point for us was that we could take our dog with us and unlike some hotels, there was no extra charge. The LAmb is in a great setting with some fantastic walks nearby as is the pretty market town of Chipping Camden where you can get a mean cream tea,

Room Tip: The Lamb has just five rooms and ours - Paris en Provence was great with a window seat and roll top bath with shower.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLarges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a 2 night deal in October 2012. We stayed in the Paris en Provence room, which was beautifully decorated with a lovely window seat which was also big enough to sleep on! The bathroom was lovely and spacious, as was the room. The one negative was the mattress on the bed. It was far too soft for us and we found it quite difficult to sleep on, to the point I slept on the window seat one night. But this could be more down to our personal taste, rather than the bed having been well slept on!

The staff were really friendly and attentive and answered any questions we had and advised us on places nearby to visit.

The sunday lunch was fantastic and the option of how you wanted your meat cooking was very welcome. The balsamic ice cream was a revelation! The breakfasts were hearty, varied and incredibly tasty. They really set you up for the day.

We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titchypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews