We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over on the way to Dorset”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in The Lamb, sadly it was only for one night, as we were on our way to Osmington in Dorset. From the moment we stepped over the door we realized we had picked a winner. The land lord was very helpful from the time we arrived until we left. We had a lovely pint of beer in the bar whilst chatting to the locals.
The room was beautiful, very comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom. The only slight problem was a very high bath which you had to step into for the shower.
The evening meal and the breakfast just could not be faulted. The cooked breakfast was freshly cooked, well worth a short wait.
We will certainly return, but next time it will be for a longer break.

Room Tip: We stayed in Paris en Provence which was above the dining room so was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

The rooms are modest but the food was excellent. We were dismayued that teh night we stayed there was 'Pie Night' in teh restaurant but we had the best pies we have ever had and the service in the restaurant was superbly friendly. We stayed in the Paris et Provence room and have a few tips if you want to stay there - the stairs up to the room are steep and tiny so don't go if you have any disability! Our aged dog could not make it up these stairs and had to be carried. If you are taller than five foot five don't plan to use the over-bath shower unless you prefer to sit down! Some aspects of yoru stay will be 19th century quaint and not very practical. Still, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: See above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Nice room with a four poster bed, nice bathroom with a bath and shower. We were made very welcome as soon as we arrived. We stayed for a 2 night break. The village was very quiet, but close to Bourton-on-the water, and Burford, with great walks. Lovely village pub, which was busy both nights, with most people having a meal. the food was great, not a large menu, but well cooked. Breakfast was excellent with locally produced bacon and sausages.
Would recommend the pub for a short break, good value for money, and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary here and so glad we did. Staff were super helpful and friendly, food is great with good sized portions and the accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Best of all for us it is a dog friendly pub. Great walks are on the doorstep and the surrounding countryside is just lovely. Would definitely like to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great atmosphere and the best meal so far after 2 weeks of eating out in pubs in England and Scotland. Don't know about the accommodation,as we stayed in a nearby B &B. The dining area was cosy with a warming wood fire. The bar was crowded with locals, always a good sign.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rosscoe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Lamb is tucked away in a corner of this Shipton-under-Wychwood and is a gorgeous example of a village pub / restaurant. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and from the moment we were shown to our room to the morning of checkout we were well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. Our room - Paris en Provence - was very comfortable and well furnished, the bar with its roaring log fire and real ales was very cosy and the restaurant and dinner was excellent. Breakfast was also perfect. Another plus point for us was that we could take our dog with us and unlike some hotels, there was no extra charge. The LAmb is in a great setting with some fantastic walks nearby as is the pretty market town of Chipping Camden where you can get a mean cream tea,

Room Tip: The Lamb has just five rooms and ours - Paris en Provence was great with a window seat and roll top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLarges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a 2 night deal in October 2012. We stayed in the Paris en Provence room, which was beautifully decorated with a lovely window seat which was also big enough to sleep on! The bathroom was lovely and spacious, as was the room. The one negative was the mattress on the bed. It was far too soft for us and we found it quite difficult to sleep on, to the point I slept on the window seat one night. But this could be more down to our personal taste, rather than the bed having been well slept on!

The staff were really friendly and attentive and answered any questions we had and advised us on places nearby to visit.

The sunday lunch was fantastic and the option of how you wanted your meat cooking was very welcome. The balsamic ice cream was a revelation! The breakfasts were hearty, varied and incredibly tasty. They really set you up for the day.

We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titchypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
3.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
744 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
6.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,880 reviews
7.0 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
547 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: High Street | near Chipping Norton, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range: £98 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Shipton Under Wychwood
The Lamb Inn Shipton Under Wychwood, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing