We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mendip Gate Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Churchill B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A cosy B & B”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A lovely welcome with a cup of tea in front of the wood burning stove. Paul & Sarah were very friendly and made me feel 'at home' I don't usually travel on my own so that was nice. The Bristol Suite was warm and cosy. A hearty full English breakfast made with locally sourced produce 'set me up' for the day. Would definitely stay again.

Just me on my own, I found it difficult to find looking and driving at the same time... But now I know it's by the bus stop!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poolepirate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
23
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
168 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Very nice B@B, we stayed in The Churchill Suite, room had good size, bathroom as well. room facing the busy road, but we did not find it was a problem. 2 pubs almost next door, and a Budgens supermarket at the petrol station, a short stroll away. Busstop just outside the door, bus goes to Airport, Bristol and Weston-Super-Mare. Wonderful english breakfast, cooked to order
Sara and Paul, who run the place, are perfect hosts and will help you, whatever your needs are. Coming back to this part of England, we would not hesitate to book a room here, the price was also very attractive.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just got back from a special long stay holiday in Fuerteventura which started and ended at the Mendip Gate B&B. Start 18th Jan ended today. We had a really lovely room with en suite shower etc.. An early start the following morning meant we didn't need a full brekkie, so Sarah left out croissants, cereals, fruit etc, great for a light bite. A taxi arrived on time and dropped us off at the airport. Brilliant!! As we were away for 30 days my hubby asked if they would start the car up a couple of times which they did, and also a really lovely gesture was that they washed the salt and grit etc off so we came home to a lovely clean car!! Thank you Paul. :)
When we arrived back at Bristol Sarah was waiting for us, brought us straight back and gave us the room we had the night before we left and even offered a cup of coffee or tea which we thought was a really nice touch. (Nothing was too much trouble for them)
After a good nights sleep in a lovely bed with feather pillows and duvet,...... breakfast. What can I say except wow... We had the choice of all the cereals, juice etc, and "the full english". It was delicious and cooked perfectly. grilled and All fresh local produce).
We didn't have room for some of Sarahs home made jam, so as we'd read such good reviews about it on TA we bought a couple of jars and they are really reasonably priced too.
The local area is really pretty, and we would recommend that you use this lovely b&b for a holiday, and not just as an airport stopover.
Brilliant service, lovely owners, (even though Sarah needed a bit of a geography lesson from my hubby..:) :) ha ha)
We will definitely use the Mendip Gate again.
So glad we booked with them :)

Room Tip: All the rooms looked really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

needed somewhere to stay close to bristol airport as the snow was forcast.this was the only one available .we had a nice welcome and landlady made my wife and i a pot of tea .the roomwe had was en suite .it was clean and tidy , freeview t.v .very comfy king bed .the breakfast in the morning was very nice .there are 2 pubs close by and a 24 hour garage selling most things you need

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Very comfortable guest house. We and 2 friends stayed for 2 nights and used it as a base to have a look around Cheddar and surrounding area. We ate in the 2 local inns and had great meals. We then finished the night off with a nightcap with Sarah. The rooms are high standard but a little small, the breakfasts were great and really enjoyable all freshly cooked. Many thanks to Sarah & Paul for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advisor55, Owner at The Mendip Gate Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hello and thank you for your contribution to Trip Advisor. It was really lovely to meet you all and makes my job so much easier when guests are pleasant and friendly. It's a shame that our three bigger rooms were fully booked for your chosen dates. The Somerset Suite is ideal for a one night airport stopover but The Churchill definitely more spacious for longer stays with plenty of wardrobe space and a bath and shower combination ensuite bathroom. I hope you get the chance to visit us again in the near future and see the ongoing renovations and changes. Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night before our morning flight from the airport in November 2012

We'd driven for 2 hours and arrived mid evening. We had a lovely welcome from Paul, who showed us to our room and offered us tea/coffee.

Our room was really lovely, we had our own en suite, with very nice decor. Lots of nice touches to make it feel homely. There was lots of wardrobe space and a good tv.

The bed (a double) was very comfortable. The duvet and pillows were so soft, a real luxury.

Our Breakfast was very good. The full English did us for the day.

Paul dropped us to the airport and then picked us up a week later

Will definitely be using the Mendip Gate Guest House again, and would highly reccommend :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateemily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advisor55, Owner at The Mendip Gate Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi and thank you for your lovely comments. Enjoying travel as much as we do, It is such a pleasure to be a small part of the holiday plans, knowing that we have contributed to a relaxing start. I am often envious of all the returning winter tans! I'm glad that you were comfortable in our Churchill Suite and thank you for your photos. It is definitely our most popular room, with repeat guests choosing it year after year. We nearly lost Ted once to a very small guest who couldn't 'bear' to be parted. Did you see what I did there?! Freshly prepared breakfasts are a pleasure to serve when guests are appreciative, thank you. I sincerely hope that we can be of service again in the future. Merry Christmas wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed here for 1 night and this was a nice place to stay in the Glastonbury/Cheddar area. The room (room 2 I believe) was very nice, bed was big and comfortable, and ensuite was small but modern - and everything was very clean. It is on a relatively busy road, so there was car noise but it was muted and certainly not enough to keep one awake or anything. Although the bed was large, the extra space in the room was relatively small - I think if I had been traveling with someone, we would be bumping into each other and our stuff a lot, but for just me, it was perfect.
Breakfast was delicious and Sarah and Paul were hospitable and welcoming. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchill
0.9 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Penscot Inn
Penscot Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipham
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beeches Churchill
The Beeches Churchill
#1 of 6 in Churchill
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lower Stock Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Meadow Cottage
Meadow Cottage
#3 of 5 in Redhill
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Batch Campsite
The Batch Campsite
#1 of 1 in Churchill
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mendip Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mendip Gate Guest House

Property: The Mendip Gate Guest House
Address: Bristol Road, Churchill BS25 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Churchill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Bed and Breakfast ideally positioned for travellers in and out of Bristol International Airport. Close to Langford School of Veterinary Science, Cheddar, Wells, Bath, Bristol and Weston-Super-Mare. Local Sporting activities include Mendip Spring Golf Club, Mendip Snowsport Centre, Underground Adventures in Cheddar, First Flight Hot Air Ballooning, ACF Team building and Shipham riding school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mendip Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mendip Gate Guest House Churchill, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing