We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hat trick of catering excellence”

Orangery Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A hat trick of catering excellence”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is my third 5 star review of The moat house hotel & orangery restaurant, I have eulogised previously about the food , service ,bedrooms, and surroundings of this wonderful place . Just to say my latest experience fully lived up to my previous comments The Lewis family owners of the moat house & Matt Davies the chef keep upping their game to stay at the cutting edge of hospitality, that makes this a must place to visit in Staffordshire, well done keep up the good work.
E.B.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hammer49shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    51
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Find”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This restaurant offers diners and exquisite dining experience. Abundant windows provide a connection to the pleasant outdoor scene. A generous but elegantly simple cathedral ceiling opens the space and provides a pleasant acoustic atmosphere for conversation. Our entrees included gently flavored chicken, lamb, beef and salmon, each with a touch of herbal compliment. All were fresh, moist and flavorful allowing the natural flavor of each to delight. For all of the well-earned criticism of English food, this restaurant has mastered quality food preparation and dining. This is a very special spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great english Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Five of us around a round table having breakfast and a good atmosphere. Good selection of food including smoked salmon .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“People who live locally should be so privileged”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I used to stay here frequently with overseas guests from 2003-2005. First visit back to the area in almost 10 years and just couldn't resist booking. They have seriously raised the food and service levels which I used to think were already quite good. It was a bank holiday so limited table d'hôte menu but it was superb. The wine list is very extensive and I was sorely tempted with the Penfolds 707 which was good value verse retail price. Instead opted for a sensible Muga which was very enjoyable. All the food very well presented but the quality of the meat and ingredients was something special. I had the quail Kiev, rack of lamb and English treacle tart. I couldn't have enjoyed it anymore. Staff were just awesome, very knowledgeable and passionate about what they are doing. A must visit and desperate to see the full a la carte.

Helpful?
Thank McPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton,lancs,
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5 star all the way.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The menu ,the food, the wine list, the service,the attention to detail.The actual setting is also perfect as s the layout which promotes a nice cosy atmosphere which is neither too "private" nor to "invasive"

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hateturbulence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orangery Restaurant also viewed

 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Orangery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing