We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of The Moat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moat House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We use this wonderful hotel whenever we can. If we do not drive there from our home in Suffolk we moor our Narrowboat on the canal bank opposite. We have considerable hotel experience both in UK and abroad. This hotel is simply hard to better. The staff and management make it. The rooms are superb as is the food. Well worth a visit. We are NEVER disappointed.

Room Tip: All are good. If there is a wedding perhaps a room away from the party is sensible-but even then not...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for The Moat House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for one night after attending the driveme experience nearby and couldn't have stayed anywhere better.
Excellent hotel grounds with well manicured lawns surrounding two duck (swans) ponds to the front and the Stafford and Worcester canal 5 metres away at the back.
good sized room which was clean.
The bed was very comfortable as well which usually helps.
very good food and choice in the restaurant which was not cheap but expected for the quality of food and service.
Where else could you get a photo with Geoff Hurst to boot as he was also staying here attending a golf event nearby.
If this place is good enough for the only footballer to score three goals in a world cup final it's good enough for me and mine!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hateturbulence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Didn't stay in the hotel; just came here for a drink! The weather was glorious so we sat outside. We ordered some drinks then went outside and sat at a table! We then ordered some food from the lunch menu (some sandwiches and chips) all of which were delicious. Lovely on a pleasant day! There was a wedding going on whilst we were there, the facilities which the establishment provides are fantastic so I'm sure that they had a great day too! Would definitely recommend; brilliant venue for eating, drinking, relaxing and for any kind of function! Brilliant!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtravel1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

As non residents we enjoyed sitting outside in the sun, overlooking the picturesque lake. Very pleasant surroundings and friendly staff.
The food we had was extremely overpriced indeed for the size of the portions and the poor quality, it was certainly not of two rosette standard. We ordered the crispy duck salad for £12.50 and the sausage and mash for £10.95. The duck salad was minuscule with a tiny portion of duck and a small salad which tasted of nothing but vinagerette, extremely disappointing. The sausage and mash was just very average and fairly tasteless. This hotel/pub is fine for a quick drink (very limited real ales though) but do not recommend the food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tannoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It is the sort of hotel, where you feel you should be at a family wedding as you check in. Very friendly staff, a nice position right next to the canal on the edge of a small well kept village. You can hear the M6 from outside, but not from your room.

The bedroom was large with one enormous and comfy double bed and one rather small single. Bathroom badly lit, and reading in bed also difficult. Tea set on hand for early morning tea.

I had the full "Staffordshire" breakfast. One sausage, one bit of bacon, one egg, one tiny piece of black pudding, one miniscule piece of fried bread and one hash brown. perhaps they watch their weight in Staffs! Actually it was more than sufficient and all served with the usual courtesy of all the staff in this hotel.

All in all, you get what you expect in this sort of country hotel. Not very cheap, but dependable and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rleg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Thank you to the Moat House for looking after our party from Germany last weekend. We had a terrific time at a wonderful hotel. 8 very happy people returned to Germany to sing the praises of the Moat House. One of our group is a hotel director so very critical of other hotels. He had a wonderful time and could not fault anything.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KimDavid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My mother was staying here on a visit to see us and invited us over to have supper with her in the brasserie (pub). Our table was in a lovely position overlooking the lake and there was plenty of room for the eight of us, so a good start. I would say the atmosphere was leaning towards the elderly. The menu was uninspiring and the food plain. If I'm going to compare like for like then The Wayfarer in Stone wins hands down ( although they've got stuck with a never changing menu at least its vibrant!) There were only three drinkers at the table ( and a glass of red had to be sent back as undrinkable) and the bill was over £200 which I felt was steep for what we had. Disappointed...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Leanbean_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acton Trussell
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stafford
602 reviews
6.1 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
14.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moat House

Address: Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell, Stafford ST17 0RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford > Acton Trussell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Price Range: £93 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moat House Staffordshire, an independent, family run hotel with four coveted AA stars....a unique and very special place. The luxury Moat House Hotel boasts a canal side location in the picturesque village of Acton Trussell. It extends a warm family welcome which guarantees industry leading professionalism and service. Whether your need is for accommodation, fine dining, a wedding venue or the best in corporate hospitality, our beautiful, historical buildings provide the perfect solution. Close to junction 13 of the M6 and within a short drive of Stafford, The Moat House combines a taste of history with leading-edge facilities and unrivaled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moat House Acton Trussell Hotel Acton Trussell
Moat Hotel Acton Trussell
The Moat House Acton Trussell, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing