We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rupert's View”
Review of The Moat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moat House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Moat House was spectacularly good and exceptional value for money. From a very warm welcome, to the upgrading of our room at no charge, through to the best hotel breakfast I've enjoyed for a long time - the experience from beginning to end was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Several years ago we ate at the Moat House and had the most exquisite pea soup so when we c celebrated our 13th anniversary on Saturday the 14th June my partner booked a table for two with pea soup.

The soup was an amuse bouche and it was just as I had remembered and the rest of our dinner was excellent.

The staff were charming and very helpful making the whole experience one to remember and we particularly liked the final touch petit fours on a slate acknowledging our anniversary.

A dinner to remember and return trip a certainty.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Margo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

location is great, my room had fabulous views of the canal. The food in the restaurant was out of this world...I'm a vegetarian and it was great to have something different...we were also treated to little tasters in between courses...staff were very friendly....al in all a great stay and cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute for two nights and couldn't resist booking an extra night's stay it was that impressive!
The staff are excellent and can't do enough to ensure you have no problems. Kirsty on reception really deserves top honours for going out of her way from the time we booked on the 'phone, to meeting her and up to when we checked out (management take note).The girl's a gem!
The setting is stunning with two lakes to the front populated with ducks and swans and the canal to the rear, a beautiful tended landscape surrounds the main building.
The restaurant is in an attached orangery serving gourmet food or you can get quality food in the main bar.Thanks Emma.
The bedrooms are gorgeous and so relaxing, the tv is at eye level for a nice change.
It caters for weddings and is the perfect setting (might renew our vows!), but everything is kept separate and we were not disturbed.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isteam54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Eaten here loads over the years but not for a long time. Was expecting the usual over priced meat and two veg but came away very impressed by food, service and value for money. Great to find genuine quality food beautifully presented, tasty and affordable. Well done.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We decided on this hotel by chance as it was close to the memorial arbretum in Litchfield.
The room we were given was a junior suite which had a huge bed ,sofa and a fab bathroom with a seperate shower.
The hotel has a lovely lake and is on the canal which can be acssesed via a small bridge just outside the hotel.During our visit the lake was patrolled by a particularly protective swan who made sure no one went too near their cygnets,but made for a very entertaining afternoon.
We ate in the hotels orangery reasturant and had a superb gourmet dinner served by young but very experienced staff. The whole meal was beautifully cooked and presented and the recommended wine was a great choice.
Breakfast the next morning was of an equally high standard.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more for the suite it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anndavDunstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited for an Early Bird Meal which was superb and excellent value for money considering the quality of the food and the presentation. The staff were very attentive but also friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The surroundings are stunning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Pollygreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acton Trussell
6.1 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
795 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stafford
663 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moat House

Address: Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell, Stafford ST17 0RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford > Acton Trussell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Price Range: £91 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moat House Staffordshire, an independent, family run hotel with four coveted AA stars....a unique and very special place. The luxury Moat House Hotel boasts a canal side location in the picturesque village of Acton Trussell. It extends a warm family welcome which guarantees industry leading professionalism and service. Whether your need is for accommodation, fine dining, a wedding venue or the best in corporate hospitality, our beautiful, historical buildings provide the perfect solution. Close to junction 13 of the M6 and within a short drive of Stafford, The Moat House combines a taste of history with leading-edge facilities and unrivaled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moat House Acton Trussell Hotel Acton Trussell
Moat Hotel Acton Trussell
The Moat House Acton Trussell, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing