We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people but very uncomfortable.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainier Valley Restaurant and Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Reviewed 28 July 2011

On arrival we were given a key to the first cabin. We went in and saw that it hadn't been cleaned from the night before. Went back to the office where they gave us a key to a different cabin, right next to a wooden fence. On the other side of the fence was the trailer where the family owning the property lives. They were nice enough to move their car out of our gravel space once they saw us there. The cabin was very basic which we anticipated (no phone, no t.v., no alarm clock). The pro's include pet friendly, and excellent water pressure in the shower, coffee maker. Con's include spider webs in the curtains, no coffee filters in the room, sheets coming off the bed once it is occupied, and horrible back pain in the morning. Also our dog was freaked out all night possibly due to the base board heat coming on and making quiet clicking noises. Either way it made for a horrible nights sleep. The breakfast at the cafe in the morning was good. (Not included) The waitress was super nice and they had wifi at the cafe. Espresso machine was not working.

Room Tip: Maybe get one of the rooms in the motel section? I don't know if that is any more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimber1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

My (adult) daughter and I stayed for one night at the Overland on the first night of our 11-day adventure exploring the Great Pacific Northwest.

Initially, we were somewhat concerned to learn that there were none of the usual chain Hotels/Motels to be found in close proximity to the entrance to Mt. Rainier Park; we both travel often and are somewhat picky about our lodging. But, since we wanted to get a very early start on the mountain, we decided we'd rather stay at one of the lodges close-in, rather than one of the chains, further out.

We honestly couldn't have been happier with our choice!

While the Overland is an older lodge, Its setting at the base of Mt. Rainier and its rustic architecture provide for a very charming establishment. While there were no frills, our room was very clean and well cared for. We also found our room to be very well insulated. Although, when outside, I could hear the guest in the next room coughing, once inside we didn't hear a thing.... not even the occasional traffic that passed on the roadway just outside our door.

Best of all, our beds were very comfortable! I don't say that lightly, as I have a bad back and am quite often uncomfortable, waking up in more pain than usual, when I sleep in a strange bed. Not here! Our beds were very comfortable and I slept like a baby!

We were also delighted to find the on-site restaurant was very good. While the menu isn't extensive, it has a good selection. We enjoyed dinner, just after checking in, and breakfast the next morning. And, when asked, they were kind enough to put together a sack-lunch (sandwiches, fruit, etc.) to take with us on our tour of the mountain.

The Overland is family owned and operated and all are very friendly and personable.

Overall, we truly enjoyed our one-night stay. Rustic, charming, very clean and comfortable, exceptional location... I would definitely recommend this lodge to family and friends. In fact, we look forward to returning to Mt. Rainier next summer and have every intention of staying at the Overland, when we do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank phxsundncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I just got off the phone with the owner, Sandy, after I made a reservation to stay in her place for one night in July. She was super friendly, open and generous with her advise and flexibility in terms of cancellation policy. Our family prefers to camp in the area, but if we find no good place or the weather is poor, I would like to have a back-up plan. Sandy offered excellent suggestions and made me even more excited about travelling to the area.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank Mar12378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

So lets be frank shall we? When we arrived we had a little trepidation. The outside of the Motel is fairly basic and not modern in any sense. But we had pre-payed so decided after a long day of travel we would give it a go. The rooms were simple but CLEAN. The beds (perhaps it was my exhaustion) were very comfortable (even my 9 yr old remarked at how comfortable he thought the sheets were) -- not your traditional crisp white hotel sheets rather these were the comfort and style you might put on your bed at home. The rooms furniture was very simple but it had everything we needed for a quick one night stay. The staff was very friendly and accomodating and made us feel very welcome. In fact there was no cell signal in the area and we needed to make a call back home, the front desk person allowed us complimentary use of their phone as long as when they needed to run a credit card we would get off. Worked great and it was much appreciated! We opted not to have dinner there as we saw no diners at that time.... we went out to a local restaurant which was fine, but upon return found their restaurant very busy and the guests seemed happy. One of the reasons we selected the Overland was because of it's proximity to Rainier and also because they began breakfast at 6am. We were coming off of East Coast time with two young kids and knew we would be getting an early start to our day. The breakfast was very tasty and service friendly. My rating of overall 3 stars does not reflect the attitude which we experienced, which would have been 4-5 -- it simply rates this as a budget minded option for those looking to stay close to Rainier. Overall a great stop and helped us manage our overall accomodations budget for our 2 week WA adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suntraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Our room was in the "motel style" row of 8 rooms. The room was large, with a king size bed. Simple style decor - older furniture, quilt on the bed. Staff was very nice. Its main attraction for us was that it's only about a 5 minute drive to the Mt. Rainier National Park entrance. You will have to pre-pay for your reservation. Keep in mind this is a basic hotel - no TV, no internet, no phone, no shampoo, no hairdryer (maybe available at the front desk?). There is a coffeemaker with coffee and tea provided and there's a restaurant, although we didn't eat there. A drive down the road and it looks like this is similar to other lodging choices in the area - no chains or large hotels. It's clean and it gave us a place to sleep close to the park, which is all we really needed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed there with some working colleagues because we were working in the park for about 3 weeks. The owner and all the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The food in the restaraunt was excellent. The atmosphere was also very comforting.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokyryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

It was a great place to have a shower and a bed to sleep on at night..... No frills but a good restaurant for those who need something on the go to Mt. Rainier. :) Paradise is 25 miles away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vkwingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
3.6 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
19.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainier Valley Restaurant and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainier Valley Restaurant and Inn

Address: 31811 State Route 706 East, Ashford, WA 98304 (Formerly Rainier Overland)
Region: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: £49 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainier Valley Inn is Close, Clean, and Comfortable. You will find us 5 miles from the south west entrance to the park. We have an on site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner open from 6am to 9pm. Wifi access is available in our lobby area, inside and out. Our rooms range from a modest 2 twin bed "Hiker's" room, to our basic rooms that each have 2 queen beds, a room with a king bed, all found on our boardwalk. We also offer a few cabins onsite. Great rustic getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainier Overland Hotel Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing