We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ate here twice”

Wildberry Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant closes during off-season(Mid October through April). Under new management. One of the few restaurants (or at least decent ones) near the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. Currently owned by a renowned mountain climber, Lhakpa Gelu Sherpa. Lhakpa (owner) has climbed Mt. Everest 15 times, and also holds record for the fastest ascent of Mt. Everest in 10 hours 56 minutes and 46 seconds. Wildberry serves both traditional American Mountain Menu (burgers, sandwich, Salads, fish n chips, chicken strips etc.) as well as authentic Sherpa-Himalayan food (steamed dumplings- momo, stew, Thali, etc.)from Tibet & Nepal.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Gorgeous! Spotlessly clean, very good food and great staff. We ate here two evenings running...grilled trout, chicken thalis, yak burgers - it was all lovely. Their wild huckleberry pie with vanilla ice cream is the bomb, do not miss it! We had a lovely bottle of wine the first evening which we didn't finish. We bought it back the second night and they were fine about us finishing it up which we really liked too! Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alisoniponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    103
    34
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Got Yak?”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were staying in a nearby cabin while on a hiking trip at Mt Rainier, and noticed Wildberry on the way to the park. We stopped back there at dinner time, and got seating outside in sunny spring weather. The restaurant is run by a Sherpa family and includes a gift shop with Himalayan wares. The menu includes Sherpa ethnic specialties rarely seen anywhere else, including yak and water buffalo. I was told that the yak was raised locally in Washington, and so I had a yak burger. The meat was mild and delicious, not at all gamey. If staying longer, we would have returned to try more dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Two good dinners”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We ate dinner here two nights in a row and enjoyed it both times, trying both Himalayan and American items on the menu. The second night was busy and we initially felt like we'd been forgotten, but once the server realized we hadn't been helped she made sure we were well taken care of.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JD-94-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Drive to fast and you"ll miss something special!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Wife and I decided to depart from Elbe, Wa. in search of something new to experience in the means of good food. Eureka!, The Wildberry Restaurant was just the ticket. My Wife had a traditional Cheeseburger with Sweet Potato Fries, and I had The Yak Burger with Onion Rings. We both also throughly enjoyed the "Best Wild Huckleberry Pie" my taste buds have had the pleasure of tasting. So!, it's real simple that I should warn all Skiers,Hikers and Passerby's to put aside your trail mix and baloney sandwiches. For once slow down, set aside a few dollars and enjoy some of the best cuisine in the immediate area!

Sincerely!, Richard F.

P.S, The Yak Burger was just as sweet as Kobe Beef, that's a promise!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First ever Nepalese food”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Staying at the National Park Inn, Wild Berry's was an easy drive for dinner. Enjoyed their Thali, which was a sampling of Nepalese food, including the Tumeric soup. All very tasty. The owners there were so helpful and gracious. We weren't brave enough to try the yak burger.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wildberry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing