We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“closest to Mt Rainier Nat'l Park entrance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Inn & Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gateway Inn & Cabins
Ranked #3 of 3 Ashford B&B and Inns
san francisco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“closest to Mt Rainier Nat'l Park entrance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked a 3 bed log cabin for 5 people (2 kids 3 adults) and they charged $10 extra per person (2 of us were charged extra) which I don't understand as they were 3 full size beds to fit all of us. The room was very spacious as it has plenty of room in the middle to play board games and such. Our room (#5) had a fridge and a microwave. It was cute but we found a dead bug on one of the beds and spider/spider webs on the log ceiling. The shower was nice with plenty of hot water and enough "power" but the door for whatever reason still leaks water onto the floor even when it was shut completely. So after 2 people had showered there was a huge puddle of water and completed soaked the floor mat. My bed squeaked very loudly whenever I moved so it was very annoying. The cabin is the closest to the entrance to the Park entrance, however that is still a good 20 min to some trail heads at the National Park Inn (I will probably stay there if I were to go again, as we spotted a few deer just grazing right in front of the Inn's porch- with beautiful view of Mt Rainier. We sat there for a good hour to relax after our hike). The cabin was a good 45min away from the Paradise Visitor Ctr., and most trails were still covered with snow and none of us had the proper gear to hike it. The lodge at Paradise is probably most centrally located to go either east or west. The Park is enormous and I feel like we spent a lot of time in the car the first day just to get situated.

Room Tip: room #5 has 3 beds and it is the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    18
    24
    31
See reviews for
36
44
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

My wife and I was looking for the ideal location to snowshoe around Mt. Rainier and downhill skiing at White Pass. Since during the winter, some roads are closed inside the National Park, the best access to both is via Highway 12 and 7.
So we decided to book a cabin near the park for couple nights. Gateway Inn had everything we needed, breakfast, restaurant, groceries, camping supplies, espresso. Price was cheap and reasonable. Anyone on a budget, I would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We just spent a weekend at the Gateway Inn in Ashford, WA. We arrived to a light dusting of snow, and in preparation for our arrival, the heat had been turned up and there was a load of firewood for the large stone fireplace, a load of kindling, and a couple of large newsprint magazines to help with the building of a nice fire.

Don't get me wrong, the cabins are old and rustic, but quite roomy and clean. There is free wi-fi, a microwave, and fridge. Two double beds (one on either side of the fireplace) and a couch make this a comfy place to base a winter day trip to Mt Ranier national Park for snowshoeing or cross country skiing. Unfortunately the park is closed for sledding for the season.

The one drawback was that due to the lack of people staying the restaurant had very limited hours. It would have been nice to walk over for breakfast and dinner, but due to the lack of business we were only able to go for an early dinner.

The price was quite reasonable and I would stay again. When our goal is to take our grandkids for fun snow days, it's great to be able to stay close and have a nice place to clean up/warm up after a chilly day on the mountain. Finding deer tracks in the newly fallen snow in the mornings were just a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked online - the pictures looked good but they must have hired a great photographer. The first room was hard to describe. The old carpet was covered partially with a 'newer' rug held in place with duct tape. The bed sheets were threadbare and appeared to have been slept in and just made up. We asked for another room. The second room was marginally better but generally old, worn, and dirty. Bare bulbs hung from wires from the ceiling. A real fire hazard. The clerk at the desk who originally booked us suddenly became unable to speak English then the 'manager' accused us of being unhappy with the weather and refused to refund our money. Very rude and aggressive. I would sleep in my car before I stayed there. DO NOT stay there!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashford hotels

Troy, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

we booked a stay at this hotel online. on arrival were given an upstairs room which not only was of the 60's gold dirty carpet etc but extremely smelly. used the toilet which would not flush, decided we could not stay here and asked for a refund. we were refused refund and asked for manager who was extremely rude offered us a cabin for more money and they were in the same condition told him we just wanted a refund and he became even worst told us we were not nice and would not give us one. . left and went down the road about 2 miles and stayed in a wonderful B & B which was almost the same price and included a wonder full breakfast. do not stay at this DUMP

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lgtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I never met such bad attitude boss, I think he is the boss, very rude and impolite to us when we want to know the reason why we need to pay extra person which was confirmed over the phone was free for a family of 4, even though they are over 15-18, and simply asked us to leave as we wish. However, we don't want to ruin our vacation so we chose to pay whatever they asked. The room they claimed was great was actually with three double beds in three separate rooms but not good for 4 of us, double bed is not enough for 2, very bad design and the bathroom is designed even worst, incredibly small on the shower and toilet, I don't think it can fit in anyone over 100/lbs, especially western people, we can even turn our body properly, we need to squeeze it, it might be the only one room with that condition, I really don't know, but the sitting room is very spacious but I can't say it is clean enough to touch everywhere. Besides the boss, the other staff was ok.

Room Tip: don't stay in the Inn, especially with small kids, may be cabin is better, but do remember they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iuhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This looked like a convenient place to stay = beware! The cabins are filthy! The carpet was so dirty that I kept my socks on. The thin, worn sheets gave me the creeps. All beds were doubles with dismal old bedspreads from the last century. There was a nice old fireplace, but they used an oven rack for a firescreen. The places look adorable from the outside, but need immediate attention to new carpets and linens. I'd rather camp in the rain.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
1.1 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
15.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
15.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
14.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Cabins

Property: Gateway Inn & Cabins
Address: 38820 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9743
Region: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Inn is located just 50ft outside park entrance to Paradise, Mount Rainier, on Hwy 7. Lodging facility range from standard motel room to log cabins. On site restaurant, food mart, gift shop, and RV parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Inn & Cabins Hotel Ashford
Gateway Inn And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing