We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are no pictures for a reason.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Cabins
Ranked #3 of 3 Ashford B&B and Inns
MEDFORD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There are no pictures for a reason.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

There are no pictures of the hotel for a reason, it would make you change your mind about staying. The hotel is old and needs some serious upgrades, at the very least new mattresses to replace to 30+ year old mattress we were on. It is not easy to make a reservation or change a reservation due to a language barrier with the owner; he uses that to his advantage. The rooms were poorly decorated with "this and that" collection of furniture. The room I stayed in had only a bed, nothing else...it was not enjoyable to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHARON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    18
    24
    31
See reviews for
36
44
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Planned a 2 night trip to Mt.Rainier for a family gathering and found this site for the Gateway Inn & Cabins with a picture that made the cabin look nice. We were totally disappointed. I booked a JUNIOR SUITE that sleeps 3. We got a double bed (that sloped downward at the head of the bed) and a single bed put just a foot away from our double bed. From the picture, I expected 2 bedrooms! Manager started to charge me an additional $10.00 for our son & I said I paid for 3 person room.(fee was waived). Upon entering cabin, it smelled of Lysol. Floors were sticky and entire cabin was in a run down condition. Had to use shower from hiking all day and put a hand towel down on the floor of the shower because it was disgusting. There is no closet! TV controller could not turn TV on or off (had to do manually). We were in cabin #3. Don't know what other cabins are like inside but will not come back to find out! For the money and condition, I would NOT recommend this property. The only positive thing about this place is the location!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashford hotels

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It reminds of cabins I used to stay in as a kid, in the northeast. Simply appointed, spacious, and to step outside to smell. Park entrance literally steps away. Food and service warm. They left lights on for us even though we came in late.
Would definitely stay again. Sorry we didn't arrive sooner to enjoy during the day

Room Tip: How close are eating places and what time do they close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked a 3 bed log cabin for 5 people (2 kids 3 adults) and they charged $10 extra per person (2 of us were charged extra) which I don't understand as they were 3 full size beds to fit all of us. The room was very spacious as it has plenty of room in the middle to play board games and such. Our room (#5) had a fridge and a microwave. It was cute but we found a dead bug on one of the beds and spider/spider webs on the log ceiling. The shower was nice with plenty of hot water and enough "power" but the door for whatever reason still leaks water onto the floor even when it was shut completely. So after 2 people had showered there was a huge puddle of water and completed soaked the floor mat. My bed squeaked very loudly whenever I moved so it was very annoying. The cabin is the closest to the entrance to the Park entrance, however that is still a good 20 min to some trail heads at the National Park Inn (I will probably stay there if I were to go again, as we spotted a few deer just grazing right in front of the Inn's porch- with beautiful view of Mt Rainier. We sat there for a good hour to relax after our hike). The cabin was a good 45min away from the Paradise Visitor Ctr., and most trails were still covered with snow and none of us had the proper gear to hike it. The lodge at Paradise is probably most centrally located to go either east or west. The Park is enormous and I feel like we spent a lot of time in the car the first day just to get situated.

Room Tip: room #5 has 3 beds and it is the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My wife and I was looking for the ideal location to snowshoe around Mt. Rainier and downhill skiing at White Pass. Since during the winter, some roads are closed inside the National Park, the best access to both is via Highway 12 and 7.
So we decided to book a cabin near the park for couple nights. Gateway Inn had everything we needed, breakfast, restaurant, groceries, camping supplies, espresso. Price was cheap and reasonable. Anyone on a budget, I would strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We just spent a weekend at the Gateway Inn in Ashford, WA. We arrived to a light dusting of snow, and in preparation for our arrival, the heat had been turned up and there was a load of firewood for the large stone fireplace, a load of kindling, and a couple of large newsprint magazines to help with the building of a nice fire.

Don't get me wrong, the cabins are old and rustic, but quite roomy and clean. There is free wi-fi, a microwave, and fridge. Two double beds (one on either side of the fireplace) and a couch make this a comfy place to base a winter day trip to Mt Ranier national Park for snowshoeing or cross country skiing. Unfortunately the park is closed for sledding for the season.

The one drawback was that due to the lack of people staying the restaurant had very limited hours. It would have been nice to walk over for breakfast and dinner, but due to the lack of business we were only able to go for an early dinner.

The price was quite reasonable and I would stay again. When our goal is to take our grandkids for fun snow days, it's great to be able to stay close and have a nice place to clean up/warm up after a chilly day on the mountain. Finding deer tracks in the newly fallen snow in the mornings were just a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked online - the pictures looked good but they must have hired a great photographer. The first room was hard to describe. The old carpet was covered partially with a 'newer' rug held in place with duct tape. The bed sheets were threadbare and appeared to have been slept in and just made up. We asked for another room. The second room was marginally better but generally old, worn, and dirty. Bare bulbs hung from wires from the ceiling. A real fire hazard. The clerk at the desk who originally booked us suddenly became unable to speak English then the 'manager' accused us of being unhappy with the weather and refused to refund our money. Very rude and aggressive. I would sleep in my car before I stayed there. DO NOT stay there!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
1.1 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
295 reviews
15.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
89 reviews
15.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
14.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
190 reviews
2.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Cabins

Property: Gateway Inn & Cabins
Address: 38820 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9743
Region: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Inn is located just 50ft outside park entrance to Paradise, Mount Rainier, on Hwy 7. Lodging facility range from standard motel room to log cabins. On site restaurant, food mart, gift shop, and RV parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Inn & Cabins Hotel Ashford
Gateway Inn And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing