We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Cabins
Ranked #3 of 3 Ashford B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were shown to a dismal room above the shop but asked to be moved to a cabin. The whole place felt grimy and shabby. The sheets were old and smelt of mothballs and were not laundered to the general standard of other hotels/motels. Everything about the accommodation was slapdash. The discovery in the morning that the complementary toiletries were all only half full was the final straw.
We had a very simple breakfast in the restaurant in the morning which was good. The waitress was very pleasant and attentive.
The hotel is in a prime situation and this could offer so much more to its visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJFCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    18
    24
    32
See reviews for
37
44
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My brother, sister in law who are from Pa, and myself traveled to Mt Rainier. After going through the park, we stopped at Gateway Inn where there were Log Cabins. Our cabin had 2 queen beds, a couch that could have been used as a bed, fridge, microwave and a fireplace with a bunch of wood that we could have a fire in there. It was very clean and comfortable. The setting was incredible. Also at the Gateway Inn, there was a fantastic restaurant which served terrific food and large portions! The blackberry pie was to die for!!!! Also attached to the restaurant was a convenience store and gift shop. The gentleman who ran the store and cabins was very friendly and accommodating. The waitress in the restaurant was fantastic and she cooked the food and served it. We would definitely recommend the Gateway Inn. Some day, hope to return to the area. Thank you Gateway Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lareine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we stayed in ashford for a wedding at wellspring and we couldn't find accommodation anywhere because of the yearly festival that happened on the same weekend. once we arrived, we were quite happy with our cabin--warm and roomy, and we could even have had a fire. true rustic as opposed to the faux rustic of some of the other places. it is indeed RIGHT at the gates to the park.
we even had a special request and they were very amenable. we had to be on the road at 8:00 but the restaurant only opens at 8:00 am and they were kind enough to make up and deliver our breakfast sandwiches--delicious!--for 7:45 am.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cabin closest to the road and had no noise--barely any traffic on the highway durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtsvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Situated right on the boundary of the Nisqually entrance of Mt Rainier National Park. Gateway Inn comprises log cabins and more general motel units. Our unit was spacious and comprised a large flatscreen TV, refrigerator, microwave, shower over bath and a good sized deck with seating. Interior walls were of faux wood. Somewhat oddly the coffee and tea making facilities were in the bathroom. Gateway Inn also do meals - our dinner options were very limited due to their supplies being delivered on a Wednesday (we were there on a Monday). Our meal was average but well priced and servings were on the large size.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_M255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

So comfortable and cozy - perfect location too....right at the entrance to the National Park! Our family really enjoyed the stone fireplace in our room at the end of a cool foggy day of hiking! The staff was friendly, the little shop and dining area was as we needed for our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylaelderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The cabins are located RIGHT in front of the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, so it's hard to beat that if the park is your destination. The cabin is just fine: good for sleeping, reasonably clean but not spotless.

Some have criticized the owner. He's Korean and hasn't learned to be "California friendly," but I think others have misinterpreted this. I would say that he, like the place itself, is "just fine" or "perfectly okay." You get the drift. This is not a problem.

A few things are a bit quirky or missing. No light at all near the bed. I had a Kindle with light for reading, so it wasn't a problem for me. Staff came in each day to replenish towels and soap as needed but didn't do anything else. (I'm not sure if they were supposed to or not.) Coffee machine had an electrical cord that would reach to the outlet only if put on the floor. Wifi worked best only in central areas of the cabin complex--restaurant (or near one window in my cabin).

There is a restaurant and you can buy some supplies, but it's pretty basic. I didn't eat at the restaurant but at another one down the road. Staff that worked for the owner were very friendly and helpful.

Oh, I forgot. There is a fireplace!

Overall, it was okay, and I'd recommend it if you know you are not getting luxury and are okay with the price (which seems perhaps high to me for what you get).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biophiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Allen, Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Cabin 3 was smaller and less attractive. Avoid the ones closest to the highway. Stroll back in the property and it is like a very pretty little park. The man who appeared to be the owner/operator did not seem very friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage in the rear of property. Inquire about size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
1.1 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
301 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
199 reviews
15.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
90 reviews
5.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
2.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Cabins

Property: Gateway Inn & Cabins
Address: 38820 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304
Region: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Inn is located just 50ft outside park entrance to Paradise, Mount Rainier, on Hwy 7. Lodging facility range from standard motel room to log cabins. On site restaurant, food mart, gift shop, and RV parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Gateway Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Inn And Cabins
Gateway Inn & Cabins Hotel Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing