We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxhills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxhills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The reason for the low marks is . And ipod charger and Ray Ban sunglasses case in the room after checkout. I called back within hours after leaving and was told they were nowhere to be found and the room was not even reoccupied.

I have stayed in hotels literally hundreds of times. I have never had anything go missing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C4SPI4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    197
    73
    25
    16
See reviews for
136
237
16
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Contrary to other reviews, we found the reception staff friendly and helpful. Our room was very large and comfortable, if rather warm due to the underfloor heating that did not seem to respond to the thermostat - open windows did the trick! The bathroom was also large with bath and separate shower, and a large heated towel rail; that was always on and had no control - so the bathroom was always hot!

The room was well provisioned with the strange exception of no shoe shining facility and no shower caps - but everything else you could wish for was there, including an excellent free wi-fi service.

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed the breakfasts - full service affairs with the best porridge and the best scrambled eggs I have eaten in years.

If you are able to enjoy the spa centre, pool, gym and/or the golf facilities you can take full advantage of what Foxhills has to offer in its 400 acre grounds.

All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLomond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Booked as a package for an overnight stay and meeting/ conference.
Like someone else I found the reception staff more interested in completing their computer work than welcoming new guests. Had to wait while Receptionist finished typing on her PC and then greeted us. Note: Checkout was similarly emotionless.
However it does get better. The food as part of our Corporate "package" could not be faulted. Even my Italian and German colleagues were impressed with the food!
Waiters and Bar staff were similarly excellent.
Rooms are good. I had a guest room in the "new" block which was v.clean etc.
Meeting facilities were great. Nespresso coffee machines and the endless cakes and cookies were a welcome distraction from Strategy planning :o)
Overall a hotel I try and book in preference to many others.
The Reception staff could be a little bit friendly and welcoming as you (usually) get the same in return.

Room Tip: The Lyne rooms are in the modern block which come travellers prefer. However the "garden"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanwellfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Close to Heathrow this Hotel and Country Club boasts one of the best Spas around and offers an excellent dining experience as well as comfortable and well equipped rooms. Its quiet and altogether a considerable improvement on the collection of Heathrow hotels alongside the airport.
There are two golf courses and tennis facilities if you're feeling sporty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriswoodbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

As they say, first impressions count. We arrived at 1pm and went to reception, my wife asked what time we could check in and the lady behind the desk gave us an emotionless 2pm and turned away to continue working at the computer. It would have been really helpful to have been told where we could go for the one hour before check-in, or where we could take a walk around, or where we could take our son or perhaps even where to get something to eat. Not the perfect start to my wife's birthday weekend...

We had a quick nose around and ended up in the sports centre to find an incredibly helpful young man who walked us all the way to the Summerhouse where we had a nice lunch for a reasonable price.

On check in we went to our room to find a really spacious room, very clean and were really pleased with it. We played tennis on the complimentary courts in the afternoon which was really great. On asking about the golf we were told that the club hire was £15 per person which we felt was a little steep for playing a 9 hole pitch and putt.

On the Saturday evening we ate in Bar Nineteen and the service and food were excellent, the waiter was really superb and helpful beyond what would normally be expected.

The only other slight disappointment was he inconsistency between the web site and the book in the room. My 11 year old for example should not have eaten in Bar Nineteen according to the book and he was unable to go into the Spa swimming pool which is the one pictured on the web site so he was a bit disappointed. Perhaps this should be made clearer when booking.

All in all a nice clean hotel that was only let down a little bit by misunderstanding and customer service in parts.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmlewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was invited to attend refreshments after a funeral service, along with three other people, one disabled, one having had a recent knee replacement and a 90 year old. On arrival at the venue we discovered no lift, but a very trendy modern flight of stairs. This building is four years old. The staff in the downstairs cafe were very helpful transporting some of the refreshments down to us.

The venue does have disabled parking spaces.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband booked us a 24 hour 'Get Away Weekend' very last minute surprise treat last Friday 17th February. Great package - Dinner, B&B and lunch plus 70 minute Spa treatment package (foot scrub, back massage and facial) and full use of the spa pool facilities.

The Spa bar offered a good selection of food. Dinner in the main restaurant was very good with an excellent dessert and breakfast offered everything that we would expect.

We had a standard room which totally surprised us as it was enormous! Lovely ensuite bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath and wonderful underfloor heating.

Only things stopping an excellent rating are that the bedsheet had a large hole in it which was clearly visible at the head end of the bed, the mattress was rather soft for us (but that's a personal preference) and there were no eye makeup remover pads, cotton wool etc... in the bathroom - however they did supply shower gel and shampoo miniatures (Elemis, very nice).

Came away feeling well rested and pampered. Will go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottershaw
3.9 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
5.4 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills

Property: Foxhills
Address: Stonehill Road, Ottershaw KT16 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Ottershaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxhills 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended by the AA Hotel Guide 2016, Foxhills in Ottershaw is the ideal getaway. Guests become members for the day, enjoying access to the award-winning healthspa and gym, fitness classes, par three 9 hole Manor golf course, three restaurants and bars including fine-dining in The Manor Restaurant, tennis and squash courts, and more. The ultimate playground, visit the historic Manor House to check in for your stay, before enjoying modern luxurious touches in your bedroom. Foxhills is also available for weddings, parties and conferences, with nine flexible event spaces on offer and complimentary WiFi throughout the resort for visitors and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Hotel Ottershaw
Foxhills Resort Ottershaw
Foxhills Surrey/Ottershaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing