We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RELAXING WITH SPORTS”
Review of Foxhills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Foxhills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
Certificate of Excellence
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“RELAXING WITH SPORTS”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Foxhills is a resort destination surrouinded by 3 golf courses (2x18 and 1x9 holes) and with lots of other sports activities – tennis, swimming, kid’s play facilities, spa, etc, etc. It also has functions such as weddings. Restaurant facilities are in the original old house. We stayed in a modern block separate from the house by a short walk: there are also rooms in older converted buildings. The room was large, well appointed and to ‘international’ standards: staff were attentive and the breakfast spread was impressive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    201
    77
    25
    18
See reviews for
140
249
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My daughters and I spent a spa weekend here. We arrived on Friday and had champagne afternoon tea. Our rooms were massive and beautifully decorated with huge bathrooms with a bath and a shower. Our rooms included their own fridges which were well stocked with wine and soft drinks. Outside we had a table overlooking the outside pool.
We ate in Bar XIX and the Main House - both meals were very good. We knew about the no denim rule and were quite happy with that, it's nice to dress up once in a while! Breakfast is excellent with a choice of hot or Continental.
On Saturday we visited the spa and had massages, facials, manicures and pedicures, rounding the visit off relaxing in the Spa garden with a glass of Prosecco.
The gardens are beautiful with plenty of well sign posted paths to walk along. We found all the staff polite and helpful.
We were sad to leave on Sunday but have vowed to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahdevon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you just get caught up in the beautiful settings of this hotel. The sweeping drive showing off the immaculate grounds on you way up to the manor house shows you the quality that continues throughout your stay. I joined my party for afternoon tea in the terrace room. The cakes, sandwiches and pastries were delicious and we topped ours off with a glass of bubbles. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated with good seating areas (for us both inside and out) a huge bathroom filled with fluffy towels and robes, and best of all your very own bar area!! Loved it. We ate in both bar XIX and the manor restaurant and were impressed with the food in both. The manor is more of a formal dinning experience and I can recommend the lamb!! We took full advantage of the spa and booked a range of treatments. Michelle was a brilliant therapist and looked after me so well. We also came away with a variety of products too. The spa garden was a haven of tranquility. Just sit and relax with a good book. The staff are friendly and welcoming and just make you feel so relaxed and at ease. I can't wait to go back and visit again as there is so much to do we couldn't fit it all in to one weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked a spa day here last minute as couldn't face killing a whole day whilst my teenagers were having fun at Thorpe Park. Was so pleased I did as it was perfect for me. I had a full body massage with hot stones and a facial which was lovely and relaxing. The spa was very nice too and the day just whizzed by. Enjoyed the lunch in the Manor House. Will definitely be encouraging my teenagers to have another day at Thorpe Park soon so I can return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A beautiful country manor with above average rooms, fixtures and spotlessly clean. Caution, it's a bit pretentious but in an English proper kind of way. We were eyed when entering the bar with new blue jeans on and advised in the main (expensive) restaurant that blue jeans, in spite of brand new shape, cuff linked shirt, and proper sports coat were not "acceptable attire." It easy to say fine I'll go elsewhere but elsewhere (other than the acceptable but unremarkable and service slow XIX hole golf lounge/restaurant) is the only eatery nearby. Was a wedding party in attendance whilst I was there so there was much noise from outside at night and stomping from the second floor was disruptive to sleep. Decent room rate compared to other area choices but not a sure thing I would chose again over other local hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had an amazing time at Foxhills. We stayed in one of the Garden rooms which was very impressive-spacious, heated bathroom floor, rain shower and nice toiletries/tea/coffee selection. We also had a DVD player in the room though the choice of DVDs needs to be updated.
The staff were really professional and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate in both the Manor House restaurant and Nineteen. We thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals-they smoke their own fish which was delicious.
The grounds...wow-400 acres of beautiful green landscape and well maintained golf course. We enjoyed walking through the grounds in the sunshine on the Sunday.
Spa-again wow! I have visited many spas worldwide and I was very impressed even with the black robes and slippers. My therapist was very knowledgeable about Elemis products-even more than my Elemis beauticians in London which was impressive. I would recommend the Rasul treatment and the outdoor hot-tub.
Would definitely recommend for a relaxing couples break a short distance from London.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ambler-London2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for one night and there were several things that disappointed. On arrival we found our room was not in the main hotel but was in a block of rooms a walking distance away which with luggage in bad weather (it was raining) was not a good start. The room was nice and clean and a good size but the wi fi did not work. The evening meal in Nineteen was quite nice but there was a party of golfers who were rude, noisy and on phones disrupting other guests. To be fair when we complained the cost of two drinks were removed from the bill. We had a disturbed night due to a leaky guttering outside our room which was pointed out when we paid the bill. Breakfast was OK we went in as soon as it opened at 7:00 as we wanted to get an early start and some of the food wasn't even out. The cooked breakfast also took a while to come. All in all the hotel flattered to deceive. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: When booking ask where your room will be in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottershaw
3.1 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
4.6 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
20.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills

Property: Foxhills
Address: Stonehill Road, Ottershaw KT16 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Ottershaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxhills 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended by the AA Hotel Guide 2016, Foxhills in Ottershaw is the ideal getaway. Guests become members for the day, enjoying access to the award-winning healthspa and gym, fitness classes, par three 9 hole Manor golf course, three restaurants and bars including fine-dining in The Manor Restaurant, tennis and squash courts, and more. The ultimate playground, visit the historic Manor House to check in for your stay, before enjoying modern luxurious touches in your bedroom. Foxhills is also available for weddings, parties and conferences, with nine flexible event spaces on offer and complimentary WiFi throughout the resort for visitors and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Foxhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Hotel Ottershaw
Foxhills Resort Ottershaw
Foxhills Surrey/Ottershaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing