We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent quality food and service”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Gourock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decent quality food and service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently visited with a colleague, we went on a Friday night and had two course and some drinks.

I had some very nice food, to be honest I wasn't sure what it all was as the menu doesn't explain the meals very well, I just picked options which didn't have any ingredients I thought I would not like.

I ended up with a starter which was ok, not something I would buy again but not unpleasant, the main was much nicer and the quality of the food was excellent, way above your average Indian take away standard.

The drinks were reasonably priced and the restaurant stayed open until midnight, the bill was reasonable and we definitely enjoyed the evening.

The take away is busy, this is good but it does mean that if you are sitting near the door you have a constant stream of people coming and going, the waiting area is not well separated from the dining area, this can be a little off-putting.

I will probably go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rampant_Sc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    13
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Indian in the area”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Great sized portions and friendly service. Looking forward to going back. Alternatively the takeaway service is excellent too. Getting hungry just thinking about it.

Helpful?
Thank DannyGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“21st birthday celebration”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As usual great food and very nice staff. Service was good and atmoosphere was pleasant. They kept an eye to when we needed the birthday cake which was nice and took some photos for us.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bosslady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Local legend !!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place has been on the go for as long I can remember , never been disappointed in the food or service , I agree with other reviewers that the seating can be a little tight sometimes . My favourite is the chicken karahie, with a garlic and coriander naan ....yum! And to finish it ,The taj also do a nice fresh baileys coffee Over the years I've started knowing the family that run this establishment and I must say you couldn't come across nicer people. Keep up the good work !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianmcilroy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Consistently good food.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

For the last 10 years my family have spent Christmas Day in this restaurant and I have used the restaurant on countless other occasions over the years. The food is always very tasty, the portions are generous and I have never left the restaurant unhappy. I can see why people may find the restaurant a little cramped and the level of service can vary depending on the waiter you deal with but if you are in the area and looking for a good Indian meal you won't be disappointed in the Taj Mahal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Greenock, Inverclyde
Gourock, Inverclyde
 
Gourock, Inverclyde
 
Gourock, Inverclyde
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing