We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Firth hotel gourock” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckley's Firth Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gourock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buckley's Firth Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Gourock B&B and Inns
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Firth hotel gourock”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I attended the New Year's eve function and it was terrible, wished I had stayed at home. The food was terrible, service terrible. The owner was there and not once did he enquire if we were enjoying our meal, like he must have realised how bad it was. Will be last time I will eat at this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
4
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Apart from the sign to lure people onto the seats, The Menu, from which people choose their meal in this Bar/Restaurant CLEARLY itemise the wide variety of "Specials" dishes. A VERY wide selection is available for £4.95.

Anyone who chooses A La Carte, over the equally excellent cut price cuisine, needs to go to Spec-Savers!

Every item on the menu is a delight, the Chef is a wizard and the staff friendly, attentive and efficient.

I'm a PAYING but not paid for regular of this wonderful Bar/Restaurant and I'm flabbergasted that ANYONE can fault the place.

I suspect, but can't prove, that a rival or two has/have posted two negative reports after seven positive ones.

No it's not a full Hotel again yet - but with necessary upgrades WILL be in the near future. This present lack of full Hotel facilities is NOT the fault of the new owner but historic negligence from previous Management/Owners.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Excellent value for money, really enjoyed my meal, its hard to find a chef better than the firths!, was overwhelmed by the drinks promotions during the week- only 1.50 for a smirnoff and coke!!, definitely the best restaurant/bar in town! Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniec1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We have friends in Gourock and visit often. In the evening this hotel offers quite outstanding quality of food and , rain permitting, this can be enjoyed with unbeatable views over the Clyde.

We have also joined our friends for early evening meals which provide excellent value in the same pleasant surroundings. Note : these meals are priced at £4.99 and £9.99 and are selected from different menues, so be careful !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

If you are looking for a lovely restaurant with great food, wine and beautiful surroundings then the Buckley’s Firth Hotel is the place for you. It is run by the Buckley family who are all very welcoming as well as all of the staff. They are friendly and provide a top class service.

There is a great variety on the menu which they regularly change and I have never been disappointed in the food. It is of great value too. I also pre-booked the restaurant for a family get together as my sister was returning home for visit. And I can safely say we were not disappointed - it again proved to be a wonderful evening. If you want a special night out with excellent food prepared by an exceptional chef with very high standards then I would definitely recommend the Firth.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JujuBee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I am a resident in Gourock and although this is no longer a Hotel, the food experience is above and beyonf the expectations of a rural Bar/Redtaurant.
Their Chef is renowned in the area and produces soma fantastic dishes.
This family run establishment has extremely friendly staff with a great personal touch. We find it hard to find a better value for money establishment in the area and we have tried most of them.
Kep up the good work.
Alan L

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have eaten here several times and always enjoy good food, good views and a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J90DAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourock
0.0 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gourock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
1.2 mi away
Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckley's Firth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckley's Firth Hotel

Property: Buckley's Firth Hotel
Address: 1 Ashton Road, Gourock PA19 1BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gourock
Also Known As:
Buckley's Firth Hotel Gourock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing