We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay on a visit to Glasgow...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spinnaker Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gourock
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on a visit to Glasgow...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

....even though it is 28 miles to the west! Road and rail links from Gourock are excellent so you get the best of both worlds - a really laid back, charming town within easy reach of the big city.

We stayed at the Spinnaker whilst attending a couple of days at the Commonwealth Games. I was impressed that unlike every other hotel I looked at, the Spinnaker appeared not to have raised their prices for this period.

Our room was very comfortable and had a great view over the Clyde estuary - it was lovely looking out of the window and finding the picture changing at different times of the day or as the weather changed. The main road does run immediately in front of the hotel so if you are bothered by traffic noise (not terrible but definitely audible) then might be better to forego the sea view.

Breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and helpful and Stewart was a most pleasant host. We had dinner one evening and this was also very good.

There was free wi-fi but a very 'iffy' connection!

As noted, Gourock itself is very pleasant. Do beware though, when eating out in the town it would seem that all kitchens close at 8 during the week. One night we wound up at 9pm eating some dry, tepid fish and chips on a bench overlooking the Clyde - though this was perhaps more fun than it sounds!

I would definitely recommend the hotel as relaxed, no frills, good value accommodation in a lovely location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and also give a wee summary of how you found Gourock also. I agree with the point about 8pm establishments for sit in food seem to stop serving. The Spinnaker provides their menu until 9pm Friday & Saturday for all customers and I will personally if I'm on the premises ensure all residents are offered hot / cold food up till the late hours of any evening.
Thank you again for your constructive and positives comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    44
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
47
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in for dinner with our friends visiting the area for the first time. Great welcome, lovely food and a view second to none. Great selection of drinks available, everything reasonably priced. Stuart and the team are very friendly and always have time for a blether

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in a double room for two nights from 30/5/14. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with an outstanding view and a huge comfortable bed. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the breakfast served was superb. Customers in the bar area were a mix of residents and friendly locals and the atmosphere was welcoming (something often missing from hotel bars). We travelled as a couple but would have been equally as happy had we brought the children. The hotel itself is located on the sea front a short walk from Gourock town centre and I would recommend this hotel to any type of traveller.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang0X0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed in a double room overlooking the Forth of Clyde. The room was well-presented and clean, with plenty of space. The staff were all friendly and helpful and breakfast was freshly-cooked and delicious. The highlight is the view - absolutely stunning. The value for money was great and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here a few times for business, this was recommended by a local Bus Company Harte.
Always served good food, helpful and friendly service. clean rooms. good night sleep and no problems with parking on the road side with my new AMG Mercedes. Great breakfast. will go back there when in the area again.

Thanks

Room Tip: Get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MADReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The room is basic but clean. Make sure you get an en-suite, because otherwise you will find yourself sharing the bathroom. Not so good if you get caught short!
Surprisingly you do not hear much noise from the pub below, which has a good atmosphere and serves good beer.
Food is basic pub food. I was disappointed with the macaroni and cheese that I had to convince myself had not come out of a tin, but breakfast was hearty and well cooked.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, but the management seems to have gone off the boil.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an en-suite bathroom. The views are wonderful, but there are other things in l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cimerahou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Spinnaker.
I'll try to address some of the things you highlight.
The 2 rooms that are not ensuite are not as comfortable as the ensuites for obvious reasons. They don't have a toilet being the main one. These rooms are lower in price as you would expect. Sometimes guests on a lower budget are happy with this and at times they are the only rooms left available. They are not my best rooms but are clean and quiet.
The macaroni is homemade not out of a tin. That's not a flippant answer I'm just clarifying it is homemade as it says in the menu. I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy it.
I'm glad you had some positive views of the Spinnaker.
I'd be really grateful if you could elaborate on the comment about 'the management seems to have gone off the boil.' I'm the owner and the manager so you may understand why I'd like a bit more detail. I can't really 'defend' myself or the business without more detail. I may not even be able to do so even if you do elaborate but I'd like to be at least the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hadn't visited this local hotel to eat for a long while as last few visits were extremely poor and disappointing. Most recent visit last week was a very pleasant surprise-I do believe The Spinnaker is back on form-good choice of pub food,well prepared and served with a smile.
Will be back.
Haven't stayed here so cannot comment on accommodation,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourock
2.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
2.1 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker Hotel

Property: The Spinnaker Hotel
Address: 121 Albert Road, Gourock PA19 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gourock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Spinnaker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Hotel Gourock
The Spinnaker Hotel Gourock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing