We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food not one but twice!”
Review of Fratelli's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fratelli's
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold food not one but twice!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Having been to fratelli quite a few times before, my husband and I decided to go again tonight. Big mistake! After eating our starters it took over half an hour to be served our main meal. I know it's a Friday night and expect to wait a little longer but that's just taking the mick. After our long wait we eventually received our meal. Mine was cold, after another wait I recieved my replacement which was, yes you guessed it, cold again! I was offered yet another replacement but declined due to being put of and my other half having finished his meal. Not the usual service I excpect from fratelli, we won't be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    15
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful from the start!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Purchased a deal from groupon for 2 course meal and glass of wine for fratellis, and having been on a few occasions before I expected good things. However as we were soon to lean this was not the case. We booke a table before hand as it was a Friday night we chose to attend. We arrived and weren't create promptly, however at the time the waitress was busy serving desserts I think. So we did not mind waiting. Shortly after we were shower to our table, round the side and virtually in the corner, I am never one to complain about where a being seated so I let it go. The waitress already knew we were going to be using a groupon voucher, as I had informed them when I first booked. From there I got the bar code up on my phone which they needed to scan to confirm my purchase. There was a problem with it to begin with and after approximately 15 minutes of trying and failing she asked one Of her colleagues to help her out, at this time I would point out we still had not been offered the opportunity to order our drinks and after 15 minutes of waiting I found this extremely poor service. Moving on from this. Eventually the voucher worked and we were able to get on an start to have what we hoped would be an enjoyable meal. Now on to the food. The starters were enjoyable. I had the Italian sausage wreck on garlic bread topped with mozzarella cheese an my other half had the mozzarella sticks. Both were quite tasty no complaints about either. Only thing at this point was the general lack of politeness from the waiting staff. To be honest I felt like we weren't really being made to feel welcome and also the fact that we were also say virtually away in the corner I felt we were often forgot about as it did take them a while to clear our starter plates. Eventually our starters were cleared and we we're serve our main courses. I was having the cheese and ham pizza with fresh chillis, now where to begin it just lacked a general taste and had no real pleasantly about the taste. It was edible but that was about as far as it went, being hungry I tried my best to make a dent in it. Now on to my other halfs dish which is where the real trouble began. She had the pollo al pepe Nero without mushrooms. Basically chicken with peppercorn sauce. Having been a few times before and always orders this she assumed this would be a sure winner for the taste buds. Unfortunately this was not the case. Now she understand there is always going to be a bit of a kick with a pepper sauce, however in this case her taste bad where over loaded with pepper and it over Powered anything else in the dish, also this too lacked a general appetising taste. Having barely touched her meal. I urged we to inform the waitress and see about editing something else. I was quite willing to pay the extra if needed I informed the waitress at this point also. Her plate was cleared without an apology or even so much as a smile. Again in my opinion very poor customer service. She proceeded to order a margarita pizza. And after waiting a mouth watering amount of time( during this I might add I made a trip to the rest room and noticed what I can only assume was her pizza sitting under the hot lamp waiting to be served, expecting to arrive back toy other half midway through enjoying her pizza now. I was alarmed to see it still sitting there on my travels back and even more shocked when it took another five minutes for it to actually be served to our table again without so much as even an apology! And it was not even as if the place was busy at this point. It was practically empty). Getting tucked into her meal eventually, to her disappointment this also was not appetising in the slightest! No taste at all and very bland. Having a few slices. We both decided to call it quits and ask for the bill. During this time I made another trip to the restroom and when I arrived back the bill and been squared up, however my other half informed me that the couple seted behind is and took it upon themselves to pass comment on my girlfriend being 'fussy'. Now I understand that this cannot be stopped by the waitress and is in no turn their fault. However after having an awful experience all I'm this really did not top it off well at all. All in ou experience was downright awful and we do not plan on returning anytime soon and will also be advising others to do the same. The service was extremely poor and as I work a a waiter myself I was extremely disappointed with the service no apology offered at any point for any grievances or delays we endured during our experience. I cannot voice my disappointment enough at the severe lack of general standards from this establishment an. Would warn others to tread with caution before considering attending.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Csmart96717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just don't”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

went here recently and it was absolutely horrifying!! Got a Bolognese which was about a week out of date (mould) could hear the chef screaming obscenities to someone, the managers arrogance was the last straw. Don't go near it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johndoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality Fresh Food”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I was recommended to try Fratelli's rather than Guidies, I must say I was well impressed both by the food and price of the food. I will be back,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable xx”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I've been here a few occasions witth my better half and we've not been disappointed. the staff can't be more helpful, the food is fab. ... it's just a fabulous, its really a great relaxed, chill out night.... yeah, we'll be back xxx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fratelli's also viewed

Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
 
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing