We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't return”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mint

The Mint
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Coatbridge
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mint restaurant, Coatbridge is a relaxed family-owned and run restaurant in the heart of Coatbridge. Our fabulous 170-seater dining room is decorated to a very high standard, offering a stylish contemporary environment. The Mint restaurant is renowned throughout Lanarkshire, Scotland for its home-cooked food, classic menu and its very high standards of service.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have been here many times and on the whole the food has always been fine, unfortunately I couldn't say the same on this occasion. The meat in the steak pie was the biggest disappointment it was dry and hard unlike what we have experienced previously, the mixed pakora which consisted on one piece of chicken and two pieces of veg was what I could only describe as being covered in burnt batter which again was nothing like what we have previously experienced. The service was variable the young girl that showed us to the table was not welcoming or friendly however the rest of the staff were pleasant and attentive.
Definitely wont be retuning to many good competitors close by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    95
    41
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service & quality of food.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Party of 10 for my son's christening.Excellent service & quality of food. Attentive staff and child friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahunt1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Been to the mint many times and have always enjoyed my meal ,a good variety and well prepared,staff are very nice and helpful ,surroundings are nice and spotless I would recommend it ,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank May54547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food lovely. .but expected more..”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had heard so much about this place so decided to pay a visit. First time.
Booked for 7.30 and when arrived told straight away that we had to hurry up and order as kitchen closes at 7.30, even though when making booking was told 8pm.
Order taken at 7.50..waited a while even though it was quiet.
Food was lovely and fresh and waitress was very nice.
Great deal for the quality of food. I did hear a lot about the food and lived up to its reputation.
On getting bill, no one came for us to pay, no staff anywhere.
No ambience in the place. A bit let down as expected more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I am just back from the mint four of us visited today three of us had the best lasagne we've ever tasted the other person had the steak pie and she loved it the staff are brill very efficient and friendly all four deserts were scoffed without a word said they were brilliant too I look forward to our return visit in the near future

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mint also viewed

Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
 
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
 
Airdrie, North Lanarkshire
Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing