We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but praise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing but praise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 days in March and were struck by the atmosphere, service and quality. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food was varied and of excellent quality, the hotel was clean, warm, and cosy with log fires and comfortable armchairs to relax in. We used the hotel as a base for touring the area, walking, and playing golf. As a touring base it is good. As well as the Cairngorms for the more adventurous walkers there are a lot of local walks that are well signposted and and can work up an appetite for lunch. The local 9 hole golf course was very enjoyable and we had a great welcome from the secretary/manager. On our return to the hotel we were always met with a friendly smile from the receptionist and brought pots of coffee to the sitting room to have in front of a log fire.

We ate in the hotel every night and had one lunch. The quality of all the meals was excellent. We had friends join us one evening and the staff made sure that we maximised our allowance on our dinner, bed and breakfast deal.

The hotel is in the centre of Comrie which is a small very friendly town. There were not lot of shops but enough to get a few things if you run out.

We will definitely use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    64
    22
    21
    5
See reviews for
34
119
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Royal while doing some hill walking in the area. The weather was terrible! Cold and wet, but the hotel was warm and welcoming. There were log fires in the residents lounge, the public lounge and our room. The food and service in the restaurant, both for dinner, and breakfast was excellent. We did not try the bar food but it was well used by the locals. We were also extremely lucky to get upgraded to room 1. Try it and see what I mean.

Room Tip: Even if you have to pay extra, get room 1. A previous occupant (on several occasions) was Queen Will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We went on a Saturday lunchtime. Had a couple of drinks, a sandwich and cheese plate. Scruffy bar server stood with his back to us as he read his newspaper. On subsequent occasions when we tried to get his attention, he was either playing with his phone or at the door smoking. The food was fine, if over-priced. But the service was embarrassingly bad. Could not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Broadhug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stopped off for a light lunch and was disappointed by the quality of the food. We both had sandwiches, me a hot steak and onion sandwich and my husband a club sandwich. The sandwich arrived in dry toasted cheap bread, we had to ask for butter. The fillings were well cooked but in small quantities. We were told as we had eaten them they must have been OK!! Expensive poor café style food with staff that clearly need to go on customer care courses...they were politely rude. Lovely setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have stayed many times at the Royal in Comrie and have enjoyed all my visits, both for accommodation and food. On New Years Eve, Hogmanay, we were given a generous Scottish experience. We enjoyed afternoon tea, canapes and champagne, viewing the Comrie fireworks on the bridge, a gala dinner and the Comrie traditional Flambeaux parade, starting at the Melville Square, outside the hotel. The staff were very busy all day and evening, (and the following day) but were friendly and welcoming, at all times.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable but some with views over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I spent last night at the bar for Hogmaney and thought I'd have a 'Scottish' experience. Instead the juke box was blaring out very loud music making it impossible to have a conversation. The young staff were asked to turn it down and they turned the volume down 2 notches making to difference at all. The foreign visitors must have been utterly disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My daughter and I stopped here for lunch, the food was excellent and the staff polite, friendly but not obtrusive. Toilets clean, molton brown toiletries were a nice touch. Would recommend and definitely return

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comrie
5.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crieff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Melville Square, Comrie PH6 2DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Comrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Comrie
The Royal Hotel Comrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing