We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place on way North”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Abington M74
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a good and cheap place to stay.
We found it to be clean and comfortable.
It is close to the motorway but we did not hear traffic noise.
Our room looked out north over pleasant green hills.
Rooms looking south over the car park may have been noisier and
certainly don't have a pretty view.
Only downside was the limited range of places to eat in a motorway
services area where the hotel is situated.
This place is well situated if you are making the long haul from the
south to Scotland.
Very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a northern view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room fittings are a bit dated, and no soap/shampoo was provided, but the bed was very comfortable, so it's adequate and has a good location. We were very disappointed with the WiFi service though - connection kept dropping and had to keep logging back in, and it also only lasts for a limited time before expiring permanently. This is very poor considering that it was advertised with free high-speed access, and I would expect a better service in a place where there is little else to do.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have stayed here before, and have always found it an ideal stop-over on the way to the north of Scotland. In the past the food at the service station has been very good but not this time. The Menu had changed and the quality and choice was very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The room was OK, my only minor criticisms being the small TV (by current standards), some slight mould above the shower and the fourth bed, that was of poor quality. But our main issue was with the breakfast, which we booked on arrival. It was served in the adjacent service station restaurant and was poor in almost all aspects. The server was very rude when we asked him to clarify the difference between a "Full English" (which we thought we had ordered) and a "Traditional" (which apparently we had ordered). His attitude was very bad: "well, what DO you want then?". The restaurant was quiet at the time so there was no obvious reason for his offhand manner. On top of this the tables had not been cleaned and the used trays were piling up uncollected. It is unfortunate that the overall hotel experience was dragged down by this shoddy service station restaurant, as with a better breakfast option it would be quite acceptable. As it is, I would try a different one next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Arriving late at night after a very busy day, it was lovely to be met with a friendly, efficient receptionist, and to find ourselves in a quiet room with a comfortable bed and hot water for a shower. Exactly what we needed for a one night stopover on our way north. We will certainly use this Inn again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We use Abington twice each year as we go and return from the Isle of Mull. It is convenient and always a very friendly place to stay and help make our holiday experience complete.
If we were to have any complaint it would be about the bed pillows which could be softer and higher but that doesn't really detract from our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank briantimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Not well signposted especially in the dark. Excellent service from booking in to leaving, very friendly and knowledgeable reception. Room very good, plenty of space for my two Old English Sheepdogs and a nice big comfortable bed. Bathroom adequate (bath was a bit small but OK) excellent shower, excellent bath towels. The only fault I could find was the toilet role, poor quality and quite narrow and not quilted, sadly it let down the whole experience, other than that very happy and will certainly use Days Inn again. Plenty of grassed areas to exercise the dogs - brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abington
12.2 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
11.1 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
86 reviews
11.2 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
1.0 mi away
Abington Hotel
Abington Hotel
#2 of 2 in Abington
295 reviews
14.8 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Abington M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Abington M74

Address: Welcome Break Service Area J13, M74, Abington ML12 6RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Price Range: £43 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Abington M74 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly off junction 13 of the M74, Days Inn Abington has free Wi-Fi, free parking and spacious rooms. It is in the Upper Clyde Valley of the Southern Uplands, within easy reach of Glasgow and Edinburgh. All rooms are en suite and have tea/coffee making facilities, a free newspaper and remote-control TV. Most have views of the beautiful countryside. Reception is open 24 hours a day. The adjacent Welcome Break service area has a self-service restaurant, retail outlet and coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Days Inn Abington M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Abington m74 Hotel Abington
Abington Days Inn
Days Inn Abington M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing