We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a pleasant stay and fantastic value for money”
Review of Abington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall, a pleasant stay and fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had booked the hotel through Groupon as the offer was very good value for money. When making the booking the man on reception was polite if a little frustrated-sounding.

The room was bright and clean with tea/coffee-making facilities which we love (sad but true!) Also the wee toiletries were a nice touch (which we also love!). Previous reviews have described the rooms as dated. Although the decor is far from modern I don't consider that to be an important factor. Our room had many positives such as a good-sized TV, lovely clean bathroom with the option of shower or bath and extra pillows if desired. My only complaint is the hardness of the bed; wasn't very comfortable to sleep on.

A 3 course meal and glass of wine were included in the deal; as mentioned very good value. Choice of 3 options for each course; I chose lentil soup, vegetable lasagne and chocolate fudge cake which were all very good. The lasagne was particularly good with a creamy cheese sauce; delicious! Partner opted for the chicken Balmoral which also got a thumbs-up. If I was to be nit-picky the dessert would have benefited from some cream or ice-cream along with it but it was lovely and moist. Dining room staff were friendly and attentive with the exception of 1 young girl who was rather frosty, no idea why but spoiled the service slightly.

Abington is very quiet so you don't need to worry about traffic noise, etc. If you're looking for things to do, Biggar is about a 20 minute drive away and is a picturesque town with lots of wee knick-knack shops and eateries to wander round.

All in all my partner and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend Abington Hotel, particularly if you get the Groupon deal or similar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jogo1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    95
    53
    37
    24
See reviews for
54
135
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in The Abington as part of a deal. It is value for money but rooms etc are dated and require basic cleanliness improved for guests arriving. Food and service is very good, which is why we recommend it as "value for money" - dependant on what you pay for the stay.

Room Tip: Wrap up warm if going in cold weather - rooms can be cold at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TAMDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband booked through Groupon as a birthday treat for me - a shattered mum of little boy devils! The hotel itself is lovely, yes its dated but i thought was charming with it reminded me of staying at my grannies, the shower was fab, the girl who checked us in and served us at bar was lovely...........but, and it pains me to be negative but the food was shocking. Very limited choices, egg mayonnaise lentil soup or pate to start, i had the soup and it wasnt great tasted really powdery, hubs liked the eggs, for mains the choice was ridiculous - pork chop, chicken stuffed with haggis and whiskey sauce which was soooo over powering and tasted like eating mustard straight from the jar, i took the vegetarian lasagne and im sorry it really wasnt good. Perhaps just a nice roast or steak pie wouldve been nicer. I didnt have breakie but hubs said was ok, the bed was really comfie and drinks were quite reasonable, £8 for a pint and a vodka/coke. Just wish the food had been nicer, and im not a fussy eater. The rabbits were cute and it was in lovely settings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natt1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very friendly staff, the area was very quiet and we had a very enjoyable walk along the river, only a short jag off the motorway. food was good and rooms clean and comfortable. Would certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed at the Abingdon as a large group three times and have always been very satisfied.The rooms are fine and very clean,the restaurant and bar are welcoming and serve good food and a wide range of drinks.It is set in a quiet village with very little traffic so there are no noise problems.The surrounding countryside is beautiful and has miles and miles of walking trails so this is an ideal location for lovers of the countryside.I recommend the Abingdon as a good value,pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spc00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Meals from restaurant took a long time to materialise resulting in free dronk from owners. Wi-Fi didn't reach my room which meant I had to use lounge in the morning to connect, wasting time at start of business day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank valentina206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have been to the Hotel twice now & have got another visit planned in the near future, it is a nice friendly hotel, attentive staff and good food both in the evening & at breakfast, great value for money. The only complaint I can think of is the check out time which is 10.00am, it always feels that you have to rush breakfast and then get out quick, apart from that there are no major issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side or back looking onto the hills, we saw deer and rabbits in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sitges875100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello to Sitges875100 and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you have chosen to stay with us on a number of occasions. Your positive comments regarding the level of customer service you received and quality of food are most appreciated.

I see that you have a further visit to the Abington Hotel planned - regarding your comment of a later check out time, please give me or Reservations a call prior to your visit.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abington
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
337 reviews
11.3 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
7.6 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
10.6 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
183 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abington Hotel

Property: Abington Hotel
Address: 78 Carlisle Road, Abington ML12 6SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a mile to the M74 at Junction 13 South of Glasgow. The hotel is accredited 3 stars by Visit Scotland. FREE WI-FI access, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms with hospitality tray for tea and coffee, remote control televisions, hair dryers, direct dial telephone and free parking.Wake up to a full cooked Scottish breakfast included in our value for money discounted internet rates. A perfect location for leisure breaks such as walking,fishing and golf, for an intimate Scottish Wedding or for a business meeting as the motorway location of the Hotel lends itself to be the ideal half way driving distance from the main cities. Easily found, this friendly family run hotel is within a short drive of Edinburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond, Stirling, the Trossachs, Ayrshire and the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abington Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing