We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abington Hotel”
Review of Abington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Abington Hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel having purchased a DBB voucher through Amazon. It was extremely good value! On arrival, the first impression was very good as we had to walk through a large conservatory to get to reception. It was comfortably furnished and spacious. We were welcomed by a very friendly lady who checked us in very quickly. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished and the bathroom was modern and clean. I thought the little stool for the bath/shower was a nice touch for less able visitors! Our room overlooked the back gardens and it was lovely to see young rabbits nibble grass and play.
Dinner was tasty and well presented. There was a reasonable choice for all courses on a set menu. The waitress was extremely pleasant and efficient. After dinner, we chose to retire to the conervatory instead of the bar, and enjoyed chatting to other guests.
Breakfast was buffet style and was plentiful. Tea/coffee was promptly served by the owner who was approachable and happy to help guests with places of interest, directions etc.
Abington itself is a pretty village on The Clyde Valley Tourist route. I would recommend this hotel as an excellent base for touring around this part of Scotland. It's handy for both Edinburgh and Glasgow and it is very welcoming to its guests!

Room Tip: Both front and back rooms had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello to AnneMarieG and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.

Your comprehensive review is very much appreciated and I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Your positive comments regarding the value for money, level of room amenities, friendliness of staff and quality of food are very much welcomed.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Abington Hotel.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Abington Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    95
    53
    37
    24
See reviews for
54
135
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

From Dundee we usually head south way down into England to visit relatives twice a year. It's a long drive and we always break the journey with an overnight stay. This time we picked the Abington Hotel in Abington. What a lovely place - village and Hotel - to recharge ones batteries. We arrived fairly late in the evening, close to the end of meal serving time but nothing was too much trouble. We quickly unpacked and headed for the lounge bar where we were given the choice of any menu and to eat wherever we wanted. We were personally attended to by the Manager (Duncan Macbride). As well as making us feel very welcome he managed to share his hospitality around numerous guests, the Hotel being particularly busy that night. The village is quaint, the Hotel is charming and comfortable. There is a good choice on the menu and everything ordered arrived quickly, was well presented and tasty.

Our room was absolutely fine with a comfortable bed and everything you could need. After a good night's sleep, we had a leisurely, full breakfast before setting off south again.

We will definitely stay there again and it is highly recommended. If you plan on staying in the area then there looks plenty to do, particularly if you enjoy the outdoors.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1AbingtonHotel, Owner at Abington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello to IanD and thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Abington Hotel.

It was my pleasure to welcome you to the Abington Hotel and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding the quality of your meal, location of the Hotel and the level of comfort of your room.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Abington Hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards
Duncan MacBride
Abington Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for one night dinner bed and breakfast on a Groupon deal at a "bargain" price and it looked as if most of the other guests were enjoying the same deal as ourselves. The package was worth what we paid for it but that's about all. I got the impression that the hotel had seen better days. Our room was small with no view but had a reasonably equipped bathroom, a flat screen TV and the usual tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable enough.
Staff in the pleasant dining room were friendly and the buffet breakfast was OK. However, we were very disappointed with our evening meal. The food from the table d'hôte menu was limited in choice and was not well prepared or presented. The vegetables were stodgy and looked as though the life had been boiled out of them.
All in all, we wouldn't have wished to complain at the price we paid but would have been aggrieved to pay the full rate!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My husband booked a romantic break for out wed anniversary to this Hotel was the smelliest dirtiest hotel I have ever been I. We never even got our luggage out off car so thank you for ruining our anniversary. I have lots of comments but will limit them the room was horr small dated and unclean windows filthy and window sills carpets were Defo not hovered right .Last straw was fly in pint It actually laughed so hard at this Defo lifted my spirts thank god as was so near to tears. I would have waited as not to disappoint my husband but he was disgusted to he sat in his phone and booked a lovely clean b&b (we really did not budget for this ) on leaving I was very polite but to the point the receptionist looked shocked but when I turned around she said okay bye cheeky cheeky woman I never asked for money back just put my views across politely so thanks again Abington hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abington hotels

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in the Abington through Groupon and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us also our dinner and breakfast was lovely. Nice hotel in a pretty village and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Groupon deal A less than warm welcome from the man at reception who turned out to be the owner Dated hotel with not much to do nearby A pleasant starter of pate and soupl then RAW chicken with haggis and ard veg ! Returned tis and requested the gammon option which was at least cooked but not very pleasant again accompanied by hard tasteless veg ! Littl square of average sticky pudding for hubbyand my desert was a little meringue nest covered with aerosol cream, suopermarket squeezy bottle fruit sauce and a few chopped strawberries Other staff pleasant and apologetic re chicken Breakfast a further disappointment with overcooked bacon and not properly cooked scrambled egg Spoke with owner at check out re dinner issues He did not seem too concerned - no apology offfered i have never commented on any other hotel in this way but AVOID !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had booked the hotel through Groupon as the offer was very good value for money. When making the booking the man on reception was polite if a little frustrated-sounding.

The room was bright and clean with tea/coffee-making facilities which we love (sad but true!) Also the wee toiletries were a nice touch (which we also love!). Previous reviews have described the rooms as dated. Although the decor is far from modern I don't consider that to be an important factor. Our room had many positives such as a good-sized TV, lovely clean bathroom with the option of shower or bath and extra pillows if desired. My only complaint is the hardness of the bed; wasn't very comfortable to sleep on.

A 3 course meal and glass of wine were included in the deal; as mentioned very good value. Choice of 3 options for each course; I chose lentil soup, vegetable lasagne and chocolate fudge cake which were all very good. The lasagne was particularly good with a creamy cheese sauce; delicious! Partner opted for the chicken Balmoral which also got a thumbs-up. If I was to be nit-picky the dessert would have benefited from some cream or ice-cream along with it but it was lovely and moist. Dining room staff were friendly and attentive with the exception of 1 young girl who was rather frosty, no idea why but spoiled the service slightly.

Abington is very quiet so you don't need to worry about traffic noise, etc. If you're looking for things to do, Biggar is about a 20 minute drive away and is a picturesque town with lots of wee knick-knack shops and eateries to wander round.

All in all my partner and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend Abington Hotel, particularly if you get the Groupon deal or similar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jogo1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abington
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
335 reviews
11.3 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
7.6 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
10.6 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
182 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abington Hotel

Property: Abington Hotel
Address: 78 Carlisle Road, Abington ML12 6SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Abington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a mile to the M74 at Junction 13 South of Glasgow. The hotel is accredited 3 stars by Visit Scotland. FREE WI-FI access, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms with hospitality tray for tea and coffee, remote control televisions, hair dryers, direct dial telephone and free parking.Wake up to a full cooked Scottish breakfast included in our value for money discounted internet rates. A perfect location for leisure breaks such as walking,fishing and golf, for an intimate Scottish Wedding or for a business meeting as the motorway location of the Hotel lends itself to be the ideal half way driving distance from the main cities. Easily found, this friendly family run hotel is within a short drive of Edinburgh, Glasgow, Loch Lomond, Stirling, the Trossachs, Ayrshire and the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abington Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing