We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly and very helpful”
Review of Penmachno Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penmachno Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmachno B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, friendly and very helpful”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

A really good place to stay in lovely surroundings. Very close to mountain bike trails, Betws a short drive.

Very helpful and good service.

Well worth having a dinner there too - good food and wine.

Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam18Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmachno_Hall_Owner, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Hi Adam

Thank you for your great review. As you say, the Machno Bike Trails start only 1/2 mile from our front door. (I really should ride them more, I have no excuses!)

Thank you for your comments regarding the food too, so glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again next time you visit the area.

All the best

S & L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is really a great B&B. Lauraine and Simon are such welcoming hosts, who pay attention to detail. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and Lauraine was brilliant in providing options for my intolerance to dairy products - nothing was too much trouble! We dined in one evening and were treated to a very special 'Welsh supper' in the dining hall washed down with an excellent bottle of wine recommended by Simon. The location whilst on the edge of Snowdon National Park has quick and easy access to a wide range of outdoor activities in Snowdonia - and the Penmachno MTB trails and great walks are on the doorstep. Simon and Lauraine were also a very good source of local knowledge.

Room Tip: We had the blue room with lovely views out the front and a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmachno_Hall_Owner, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to accommodate special dietary requirements, and a big thank you to you for giving us advance notice of such. Always a bit more of a challenge without that prior warning!

Hope to see you again

S & L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire Uk
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is our favourite place in Snowdonia the ambience is lovely, a wonderful old rectory with lovely hosts Simon and Lauraine - So much to do in the area and the most fantastic scenery. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and very individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmachno_Hall_Owner, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a (another) great review. We are so glad that you enjoy your stays with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Great for a walking holiday. You can park the care and forget about it! this beautiful B & B - an old Rectory, is better than it's website suggests (if that is possible) ! A complete delight from arrival to leaving. Food is great, 'Welsh Supper' is simple and tasty. The Saturday Five Course Dinner with a great choice if wine and other drinks is served in the opulent dining room, candles, wonderful views and discreet service. The food was really good, very tasty, good size servings, served with a smile. Simon and Lauraine are perfect hosts, knowledgeable ad nothing is too much trouble. There were not phased by a vegetarian.... Every room has panoramic views of the surrounding hills. The Orange room was exactly what we expected, restful and we particularly liked the bath and lovely toiletries. Fruit in the room and use of 'the morning room' during the day made for a perfect birthday treat! Three nights was not enough

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the Welsh Countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmachno_Hall_Owner, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hi Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here again in the future.

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A great and wonderful place to stay for a short break to a lengthy holiday. Simon and Lauraine made us feel extremely welcome from the the moment we arrived. The Orange room was exactly as described on the website, the tea and cakes were most welcoming after a lengthy car journey. There was always plenty of useful information on hand from Simon where ever we planned to go for each day. We were not disappointed with the accomadation and the breath taking views of North Wales. This was a very relaxing holiday that Simon and Lauraine made more enjoyable with their relaxed and friendly outlook on life. (John / Swindon)

Room Tip: Book early !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmachno_Hall_Owner, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hi John,

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear from people after they have stayed. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the area.

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Penmachno Hall is in a great location with easy access to the breathtakingly beautiful Snowdonia. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Simon and Lauraine are friendly, easygoing, hospitable and obviously love what they do. They are also very knowledgeable and able to provide a lot of information and recommendations about the area. The rooms are well appointed with great views. We would have preferred a proper shower rather than just a hand shower (yellow room) but the hot bath with the bath salts was great at the end of a long day. The bowl of fresh fruit in the room and a good stock of toiletries was welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieRafalowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmachno_Hall_Owner, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hi Maggie,

Thanks for the review and apologies for the delayed response (Trip Advisor have finally removed the need for me to re-register our identity as owner of the property by sending personal financial info to them - YAY!)

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are aware that many people prefer to have the option of a shower but this is currently not feasible in the Yellow and Orange rooms due to the free-standing nature of the Victorian baths in these two rooms. To accommodate showers in these rooms would need some major alterations to the bathrooms to avoid water the risk of water damage to ceilings of the dining room and morning room below. This is not something that we currently have planned but we do review our services every year.

We would advise all guests for whom a shower is important to select the Blue Room, as this is the only room that currently has a shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Really can't believe how lucky we were to find such a wonderful B&B for our stay in Wales. From the moment we arrived (greeted with tea and cake), we were shown the utmost hospitality and nothing was too much trouble. Simon and Lauraine obviously love what they do because they do it so well and with such enthusiasm. The rooms are beautifully decorated and filled with special little touches that show how well thought through this little B&B is, not to mention that the whole place is spotless. The gardens are lovely, too. Whether you are after a simple, peaceful stay, or want to sample gourmet cooking and one of the best wine lists that we have encountered, this is the one to book.

Room Tip: We had a peep in all the rooms and they're all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryten66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmachno_Hall_Owner, Owner at Penmachno Hall, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hi "Kryten"

Thank you for your great review.

I, Simon, am especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wine list so much! You will have to come again as I am constantly changing / adding new wines as I come across new "favourites"

For anyone reading this and expecting some huge comprehensive wine list please be aware that, with only 3 letting rooms, and catering for residents only, we do only keep about 12 - 15 wines on the list at any one time, but I always try to keep it "interesting"

Simon & Lauraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmachno
3.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
3.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmachno Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmachno Hall

Property: Penmachno Hall
Address: Penmachno Hall Glascwm Road | Betws y Coed, Penmachno, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0PU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Penmachno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmachno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Penmachno Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Rectory dating from 1862, Penmachno Hall is set in over 2 acres of private grounds, comprising spinney and landscaped garden, fronted by the Glasgwm River. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, just 4 miles from the tourist centre of Betws-y-Coed, Penmachno Hall offers the discerning visitor the opportunity to be within easy reach of all the major tourist attractions, whilst at the same time enjoying the seclusion that the largely undiscovered Glasgwm valley has to offer.With its breathtaking views, quiet forest tracks, stepping stones and secret waterfalls, the valley is a haven of tranquility within easy reach of bustling Betws-y-Coed.Offering Country House-style accommodation, the 3 spacious bedrooms are all en-suite, and benefit from panoramic views of the garden and surrounding countryside. The two guest reception rooms, the Morning Room and Dining Room, have log and coal fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penmachno Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmachno Hall Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing