We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

As others have noted, a little tricky to find, but worth the ride. We stayed in the Big Jake room, and although it is a bit small, it was decorated well and the bed was comfortable. The balcony was very nice and relaxing to watch the turkeys strutting around or to hear nature. It was a little odd for us sharing the balcony as we had to walk by the other guests room to go to our car. Rooms are quiet and we never heard another guest.

Breakfast was great each day and the table was decorated differently each day. Leslie and Ron love what they are doing and it shows. Guests feel welcome and comfortable in a home rather than a basic hotel room.

My only downside was not having wi fi. Wild definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This quiet place right off the
beaten path was a true gem and we so enjoyed our visit. Will definitely go back. Leslie cooks an amazing breakfast and Ron has a ton of stories to share with you if you want. If you want to escape from the craziness of the world and enjoy nature, beautiful sunrises and sunsets and peace and quiet, your hosts respect that as well. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBreshears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

4 miles from Hill City, 5 miles from Keystone. A little difficult to find at first, but once you get the "lay of the land" very convenient. There are 3 rooms, all immaculate and decorated lovely. We had Jake room... a lovely room, but a bit small, I would recommend room 2, We shared a balcony with room 2, which had a lovely view of Mt. Rushmore in the distance. Leslie and Ron are enjoyable hosts. Leslie goes out of her way to make you comfortable, and provides amazing breakfasts each morning. A bonus is finding a dish of sweets on your pillow when you returned each night, which included chocolate dipped strawberries one night. Leslie does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable, great conversation, and by the time you leave, you feel like family. The only negative post I had seen was re: the saying of grace before breakfast. Although I can understand the negative feelings of some who are not accustomed to this, saying grace is not required of the guest but Leslie does offer a blessing of the food and for the guests before the meal. In her blessing she asks that the food nourishes the diner, and asks for safe journey and health for each present. No matter what your religious or spiritual beliefs, it is nice to have some one ask for a blessing on your behalf. It is one of the nicest B&B's we have visited.

Room Tip: I think room 2 is probably the best.... although all 3 are immaculate and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollysnene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This B & B was lovely. Lesley prepares excellent breakfast and both she and Ron are great to talk to. The beds are a sleep number bed. Rooms very clean. We did however have a problem with Lesley's record keeping. I had paid in full in advance and she didn't record the payment. We had to charge what she said was owed (which was more than the final amount she said was due in an email to me) then I had to come home and find the date I mailed the check to her. This did put a damper on our trip. She did refund the money, however it was a worry to me the rest of the trip. She also approached me about the money in front of others which was a poor choice on her part. She should have asked about it at check in.

Room Tip: I would recommend the back room (number 3) it is larger and has windows beside the sliding glass doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This bed and breakfast has it all: perfect location, hosts, food, everything! It is wonderfully located in between Keystone and Hill City - very close to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Ron and Leslie were so welcoming and felt like long lost friends from the beginning. They helped us plan our stay upon arrival, and we had excellent conversation with them and the other guests every night in the kitchen/living room. The food was delicious, and the table had different decorations every day. We stayed here at the beginning of a two week road trip, and all other accommodations paled in comparison to this bed and breakfast. If we ever return to the area, this is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed Big Jake's room. However, if we were to return I would probably prefer to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Location is wonderful, a quiet, tranquil forested area, in its own grounds, but just off a good back road between Hill City and Keystone, it’s actually nearer to Hill City which is a much nicer town than Keystone. Don’t expect to find this place in Keystone itself; because you won’t, you have to access the property off Old Hill City Road if you are in Keystone town and from Twin Springs Road off HW 16. Just Google map the address, you will need a car!

There are only 3 rooms, which makes the place very personal and intimate, no locks on the doors.

Our room was the John T. Chance which was quite small, or it just felt that as there was quite a lot of 'clutter' in the room, but it was beautifully appointed, everything looked new right down to the carpet, chest of drawers, wardrobe, TV and a little private balcony with table and chairs which was our exit to the car park. The bathroom was lovely too and of a high standard, with a Jacuzzi bath/shower lots of towels and complimentary soap etc. (though no means of heating the room that we could find). The bedroom had a stand-alone thermostatically controlled convector heater, that we did need at night, it took some time to work out how to use it but we mastered it in the end (but not as instructed). A simple fan heater with an off/on switch would have been simpler for us oldies! The bed also had electronic adjustments so you could make it firmer or softer, very novel in a B & B!

Leslie and Ron are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. You feel as though your custom is really appreciated, and sitting down with other guests at the breakfast table is a lovely way to get to know people you would otherwise never have met. Leslie is an excellent cook and serves wonderful home-made food of 5 star restaurant standard, nothing like the American 'food' we experienced everywhere else!

Waking up to the sounds of birds, and driving off in the early morning and coming back at night seeing Deer wondering around was lovely. This place is a little bit of heaven.

I only have a few niggles that certainly shouldn't put you off staying here, but are worth mentioning. Coming from a secular country, we don’t feel the need to have religion as part of our everyday life and those that do and work in the public service sector, wouldn't expect others to share their beliefs. We personally don’t feel the need to say ‘Grace before meals’, or to be prayed for. Whilst we appreciate that we were guests in someone else’s home, this was a commercial enterprise; a Bed & Breakfast establishment. Religion, the belief of or not, and how and when it’s expressed, is a very personal thing. If the owners feel the need to say grace that’s a private affair and should remain so; it was a little disconcerting for some of us guests when we were expected to wait while prayers were said before we could eat, when this was not what we would normally do and we weren't given the choice to abstain.

We also would have preferred more space in the room for OUR belongings and less for those of the owner’s. The book case full ornaments, display case of personal memorabilia, rather large chair and table took up a lot of valuable space that we needed with 3 weeks worth of luggage - just my personal opinion.

Having no wifi or telephone reception was another concern, especially as we needed to contact our next accommodation to check something out, but it wasn't a deal breaker!

All in all though, this is probably the nicest B & B we have stayed in to date, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again in the unlikely event we ever visit South Dakota again!

Room Tip: Room #1 "John T. Chance" is at the back of building with a view into the forest and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowbikesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights about a week ago (June 2013). Our hosts, Leslie and Ron, made us and their other guests most welcome. Breakfast time was more like a dinner party with Leslie's interesting menu and lots of lively discussion around the table. We also enjoyed Leslie's home-made cookies and cup of tea every afternoon. Our bed was very comfortable, the room and bathroom had all we needed. It's situated in lovely countryside with deer and other wildlife spotted wandering around just outside.

The towns of Keystone, about 6 miles away, and Hill City (which we preferred) just 4 miles away, offer interesting shops and restaurants and other amusements. We especially enjoyed visiting the Crazy Horse Memorial and the scenic drive through Custer State Park as well as the more famous Mount Rushmore Memorial. If we'd had more time, we'd like to have visited the Badlands area. We went into Jewel Cave, but were not as blown away by it as other caves we've seen in the USA and Europe.

I can highly recommend Elk Ridge and would love to go back some day. Thank you Leslie and Ron for your hospitality.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Suffolk_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
4.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
958 reviews
3.5 mi away
Harney Peak Inn
Harney Peak Inn
#1 of 8 in Hill City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12741 Matthew Ct, Keystone, SD 57751-7700
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Price Range: £80 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the award winning Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast your "home base" while visiting the Black Hills of South Dakota. Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast is less than an hour away from all the spectacular scenic routes and points of interest of western South Dakota. We will sit by the fire ring at the end of the day while you recap your adventures. Three cozy rooms with fluffy bathrobes* queen Sleep Number beds * full breakfast * night time treats * fresh flowers, seating outside of your room * "concierge" service are all waiting for you in the "heart of the Hills" at Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing