We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“25th Anniversary Weekend (late!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Keystone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“25th Anniversary Weekend (late!)”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be given a Gift Certificate to the Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast (near Keystone/ Hill City, SD) for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, by our families. With my husband's job and our busy lives, we had to wait from August until December to use it. It was worth the wait! Leslie & Ron were so welcoming and such warm hosts. We enjoyed our time visiting with them. The room (Duke's) was so comfy and Leslie spoiled us with so many small touches. They both made us feel like friends visiting, not just guests. It was such a great weekend away from all the stress of everyday life. Leslie made delicious breakfasts both mornings.As it was near Christmas, the house was all decorated and festive too! We enjoyed trips to Hill City (which was only 4 miles away) and the beautiful area. Seeing the trees and landscape all covered with a coating of snow made it just that much more beautiful. We strolled Main Street and all the nice shops and art galleries. We even saw Santa and his Native American counterpart! The best surprise of all was to learn that our host, Ron, had written our wedding song!! How appropriate that we were staying there! They even played it for us at breakfast our second morning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SDGirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here one weekend, and loved it so much they stayed an extra night. This place is cozy and comfortable and Leslie's cooking is excellent. Both Leslie & Ron were so welcoming, so if you stay here, tell them we sent you!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngiJolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Such a wonderful, quiet, comfortable B&B located in such a beautiful, natural setting! Ron and Leslie are such wonderful hosts and very accommodating to their guests' needs along with being great conversationalists. My husband and I felt very much at home and enjoyed the peacefulness which surrounded us. Leslie cooks a delicious breakfast each morning and serves it on a table which is beautifully decorated in a different way each day. Everything is made from scratch, including homemade syrup for her stuffed french toast. My husband and I particularly enjoyed meeting the other guests and talking with them at breakfast each morning and occasionally in the evening. Ron is a wonderful story teller and played us a beautiful song which he wrote. I thought that having no Wi-fi or other computer to use was wonderful because we were there for a vacation and we were able to unwind and enjoy the sounds and visions the natural beauty that surrounded us. I've already posted on my Facebook page that if anyone wants the name of the perfect place to stay, I can give them the information. If we return to the Black Hills sometime in the future, we will definitely be staying at Elk Ridge B&B!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Big Jake room and felt we had sufficient room for our belongings and ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillianAnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Wonderful, picturesque, & very caring people. We were there for our anniversary & Leslie had a card & flowers & Ron had A song he had written. The rooms were in a w to find their. Western record. Be sure & follow Leslie's instructions on how to find their wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Don' t follow your GPS's. Bob & Sharon Soodsma

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

As others have noted, a little tricky to find, but worth the ride. We stayed in the Big Jake room, and although it is a bit small, it was decorated well and the bed was comfortable. The balcony was very nice and relaxing to watch the turkeys strutting around or to hear nature. It was a little odd for us sharing the balcony as we had to walk by the other guests room to go to our car. Rooms are quiet and we never heard another guest.

Breakfast was great each day and the table was decorated differently each day. Leslie and Ron love what they are doing and it shows. Guests feel welcome and comfortable in a home rather than a basic hotel room.

My only downside was not having wi fi. Wild definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This quiet place right off the
beaten path was a true gem and we so enjoyed our visit. Will definitely go back. Leslie cooks an amazing breakfast and Ron has a ton of stories to share with you if you want. If you want to escape from the craziness of the world and enjoy nature, beautiful sunrises and sunsets and peace and quiet, your hosts respect that as well. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBreshears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

4 miles from Hill City, 5 miles from Keystone. A little difficult to find at first, but once you get the "lay of the land" very convenient. There are 3 rooms, all immaculate and decorated lovely. We had Jake room... a lovely room, but a bit small, I would recommend room 2, We shared a balcony with room 2, which had a lovely view of Mt. Rushmore in the distance. Leslie and Ron are enjoyable hosts. Leslie goes out of her way to make you comfortable, and provides amazing breakfasts each morning. A bonus is finding a dish of sweets on your pillow when you returned each night, which included chocolate dipped strawberries one night. Leslie does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable, great conversation, and by the time you leave, you feel like family. The only negative post I had seen was re: the saying of grace before breakfast. Although I can understand the negative feelings of some who are not accustomed to this, saying grace is not required of the guest but Leslie does offer a blessing of the food and for the guests before the meal. In her blessing she asks that the food nourishes the diner, and asks for safe journey and health for each present. No matter what your religious or spiritual beliefs, it is nice to have some one ask for a blessing on your behalf. It is one of the nicest B&B's we have visited.

Room Tip: I think room 2 is probably the best.... although all 3 are immaculate and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollysnene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
3.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
3.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
6.0 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12741 Matthew Ct, Keystone, SD 57751-7700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the award winning Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast your "home base" while visiting the Black Hills of South Dakota. Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast is less than an hour away from all the spectacular scenic routes and points of interest of western South Dakota. We will sit by the fire ring at the end of the day while you recap your adventures. Three cozy rooms with fluffy bathrobes* queen Sleep Number beds * full breakfast * night time treats * fresh flowers, seating outside of your room * "concierge" service are all waiting for you in the "heart of the Hills" at Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing