We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed over labor day weekend last fall. We had a suite and a regular room. The suite was spacious and clean. The room was not very updated but then again it was in good condition for the furnishing's age. Our regular room was indeed one of the smallest I have stayed in but clean. We found the location perfect for our needs to travel to the Black Hills attractions. The pool was nice and large and the hot tub worked well. Breakfast was standard hot and cold choices typical of an Econo Lodge. Over all we had a pleasent experience and the price was fair for the area it is in.

Room Tip: The suite is not that much more and is worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Keystone is where Rushmore is, and it can be crowded since the land is at a premium, but Econo Lodge pushes it. When we parked, there was one spot left, and what the later check-ins do is a mystery. They say they have a parking lot, and they do, but they can't fit everyone in when it's packed.
The room? We had a room with two beds, that had so little space that you had to look over the mini table (next to the sink, which doesn't fit in the bathroom) to see the TV, if you still wanted to. It wasn't bad for a couple traveling through, but a family for more than one night?
It is not a good motel, except for its location. And it was clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We chose the Econo Lodge because we wanted to stay near Mt. Rushmore for a reasonable price. And to that end, it was fine. Less than half the price of other Keystone hotels. We felt safe and the room was clean. However, this older property is in desperate need of an update. Vinyl bathroom floor and Formica counter top. Worn and shabby linens, towels, and bedspreads. We had a "suite," which gave us a large room with a loveseat. The loveseat was worn and stained. The frig and microwave were centered on a wall with extension cords running to the nearest outlets. In the bathroom, 2 of the 4 light bulbs were burned out. The breakfast room was very small with a simple, but adequate breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast attendant appeared very uninterested, wearing ear buds, and not acknowledging the guests at all. If I had paid a lot of money for the room, and if it was not so conveniently located, I would have been upset. However, I got exactly what I was looking for - an inexpensive stay near Mt. Rushmore.

Room Tip: Glad we reserved the larger room. Very adequate size for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nomad062_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very friendly front desk lady:) The breakfast was very good.

The room was a tad stinky and the carpet had not been vacuumed. The floors were noisy when you walked.

We chose this hotel thinking it was within walking distance to DT Keystone. It was not - we had to drive and park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinc361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel charges way too much for the quality of the place.
- A cold shower at 7 AM in the morning!
- A very small room
- One small waste basket for the entire room - none in the bathroom
- The bed was lumpy and I asked for special consideration since I had back surgery recently
- The towels were old and thread bare
- The A/C was not adequate for the small room
- The window curtain would not close which faced the front of the building where everyone
walked by and the front desk was not much help...so I improvised to try to keep it closed
- At breakfast one of the servers stood in a place that blocked people from helping
themselves...she appeared zoned out or spaced out on something because she just stood
there doing her thing oblivious to the fact that people were trying to help themselves.

Room Tip: Rooms very small on first floor at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dwight L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The room was fairly small but adequate for 2 people on a 1 night stay. We chose this hotel because we wanted to be close to Mt Rushmore and everything else in Keystone was booked.
Room was outdated and tired, there were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room and the TV was awkwardly placed right in front of the mirror? (probably because that is the only way you could see it from the bed).
But to be honest, if you don't need anywhere fancy and are just stopping for one night, this is fine for a quick stop. Breakfast was fine too. A big plus for this place was the lady at the front desk called Gwen - she was wonderful! So extremely helpful and nice, she made up for what the hotel lacked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esd3104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our room and bathroom were a bit cramped. Seems as if it was an attempt to get "one more room" in. That being said, it served our purpose a place to sleep on a trip across country with a stop to see Mt. Rushmore & Custer State Park.
Room was clean, continental breakfast had biscuits and sausage gravy so hubby was happy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keystone hotels
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
1.2 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Keystone/Mt. Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial

Address: 908 Madill St, Sr 40 E, Keystone, SD 57751-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £49 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial Hotel Keystone
Econo Lodge Keystone
Econo Lodge Mount Rushmore Memorial
Keystone Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing