We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...”
Review of Carvers Cafe

Carvers Cafe
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Keystone
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Let's be honest, there are some better or more fun places to eat in the Keystone/Hill City area. But if you are spending a few hours at Mount Rushmore, Carvers has decent food to get you through. The buffalo burger is good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jpwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    85
    50
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice quick meal in a cafeteria setting”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had the buffalo stew. It was okay, but I added some tabasco and salt/pepper to give it a little kick. I wanted to have a glass of South Dakota wine with it, but they only had the regular stuff in the small bottles. The South Dakota versions were only sold by the bottle. There was a terrific view of Mt Rushmore!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pricey, but well worth the convenience”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had dinner here the night of July 3. It is pricey, but the convenience more than made up for the price. We quickly figured out that travel in this area of the country is difficult when it comes to food, and having a restaurant on site like this was a welcome site. Lots of hot and cold offerings, and plenty of things to suit children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaretf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It was convenient since it was right there at Mt. Rushmore and we were hungry after walking the presidential trail. The food was ok, mostly hamburgers and hot dogs with a few hot offerings. Stew was ok. Would be better if they offered fresh sandwiches and salads.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank omgimhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,363 reviews
1,600 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,723 helpful votes
“Pleasant Cafeteria Style Lunch at Mount Rushmore”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The food here was good and filling - I had buffalo stew which was quite tasty. The views from our outside patio table were very nice of Mount Rushmore. Its a good way to see the memorial when you want to relax and just enjoy lunch and looking at the details of the four presidents.

It took less than 10 minutest to get our food, pay for it, and find a nice place outside to enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carvers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing