We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Brookside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookside Motel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Manteca, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A lightning storm forced my mom and our friend out of our tent and onto the streets of Keystone, SD, frantically searching for a room at various hotels. Alas, all the hotels seemed to be full, noisy, or exorbitantly priced. I was just beginning to despair when a clerk at one of the other hotels recommended Brookside--and I'm so thankful he did! The room was reasonably priced, recently redecorated (new mattresses, too), and CLEAN! The hotel was an oasis from the crowded and noisy streets of Keystone (I know what you're thinking, but it can get a little crazy around Mt. Rushmore). In addition to the great room, there was also a free breakfast (2 types of cereal, a variety of breads ready for the toaster, hard-boiled eggs, biscuits/gravy, coffee, OJ, milk,..and probably other things I don't remember). Even better than all of this were the wonderful people running the hotel. They were so friendly and funny that, by the time I left the office, the stress and tension I had been feeling had completely dissolved. It turned out to be a great night, due in no small part to their kindness and good nature. If I ever make the trip back to SD, I won't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    53
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
89
63
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hallsville, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were on a tent vacation when the weather went cold on us, heading to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Several motels had marquees that said rooms $49.95, but when we came in it was $129. We happened by the Brookside Motel, and were greeted cheerfully by Anna, who set us up for half what we had been offer. Not luxury, but better than a tent in inclimate weather, very clean, and just can't say enough about the staff. Thanks for the great hospitality!! Julie and Ed Burg, Mo

Room Tip: Duplex cabins that share a porch with chairs. Each room has a picnic table. Very simple and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We spent two nights at the Brookside with our 13 year old daughter. I was a bit nervous when we pulled up to the bright blue building (which I am told is being repainted soon) but my fears were out at ease when I walked into the office. We were greeted by a friendly young woman who was more than accommodating to our request for a "two room" accommodation. This isn't what we booked, but heard the person in front of us say they had one and thought it would be nice to have the extra privacy. The rate was flat out amazing for this tourist area, we literally would have spent more at a Super 8 and would have missed the family touches and great location.

It is true that there is some remodeling going on at the property, the breakfast bar was just finished up the day we left. Our room, while not fancy, was sparkling clean, spacious and comfortable. True the TV was smallish but who goes to the Black Hills to watch TV? We had plenty of hot water for showers (sometimes a concern in older hotels) and the room was quiet dispite a family with young children staying above us. We slept like rocks with the cool mountain air coming through the screened window.

The location of the hotel is about a five minute walk to the "strip" and a 1-2 minute drive to the general parking area if you are unable to walk any distance. Then major pluses of this location to us were 1) it IS brook side with a mown grassy area behind the hotel that was stunning and tranquil 2) it's in historic Keystone next two two historic homes and a gold mine. But I'm a history nerd, my husband and I went for a late night walk reading the historic markers and enjoying the serenity of the evening.

I'd pick a family style lodging any day over a discount chain or "big box" hotel. It reminds me of what a true family vacation is about, time together, meeting new people and immersing yourself in the local culture. Thank you ladies for a lovely place to stay and some great memories!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tuckx9ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We think the place is owned by a young couple who are doing everything they know to do to make a 50's motel a viable choice up against all the national chains that have moved in over the last couple of decades.

There is only so much that can be done with room designs that were okay 60 years ago.

WiFi was not good.

The breakfast area was not open because remodeling. That's not good at the beginning of tourist season.

Location is not good for those who would like to wander the tiny main street stores.

The problem, in my opinion, is that all these things could be overcome with room rates more aligned with what customers are receiving for their money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyominglady, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
First, we would like to thank you for taking time to post your review and to share your feedback with us. From the number of reviews you have posted, we can see that you have put a lot of time and energy into assisting businesses and fellow travelers as they plan upcoming trips. I am sincere when I say that your feedback is VERY important to us and something that we use in many ways to assist us in our business.

With that said, we were disappointed to hear that you did not have a better experience at The Brookside. Certainly, we do not want to make any excuses, but we would like to address a couple of things that might help explain.

First, The Brookside Motel was owned and operated by the same amazing family for 16 years. The property was sold this year in a last minute deal. The deal came together in about 2 weeks and was made final on May 31st (The day of your visit.) We (The new owners and management) excited about this, as it is a great move for everyone involved. The business is still owned and operated by locals and there are some great things planned.

It has certainly been a VERY hectic couple of weeks. Certainly, purchasing a motel in Keystone on May 31st is not ideal timing. Even so, we have mad the best of it. We started immediately with our "to do list" and got started! There were some things that we felt needed to be done IMMEDIATELY -- Things like new linens, new mattresses, new flooring, and some things that we knew we could work on, but we could work on them through the season, like getting the property nicely manicured, and developing the creek area, or painting the motel a more soothing color.

Another thing we felt was vital to the success of our business, that the property has not offered in the past, was a breakfast bar. Thus, we had to remodel an area to make this area accessible. Again, we would have loved to have it finished prior to opening, but we couldn't start the project until we purchased the property. I assure you - the breakfast bar has turned out beautiful and we are excited to now be offering this to our guests.

The Wi-Fi is an issue that our entire community continues to struggle with. Some days we get great connection, sometimes it is a little slower. We will continue to work with our area providers to find the best way to get the fastest and best service for our guests.

The Brookside is located in what is called "Historic Keystone". We are almost 5 blocks off of the main strip in Keystone. The Main strip is where many of the local shops and dining establishments are. Most of our guests enjoy that walk. In addition to being within walking distance to both the Main strip and the Historic Walking Tour, but there are also several restaurants, a bar, and countless shops and novelty stores between us and the where the "main strip" or boardwalk starts for those guests who are not interested in a refreshing 5-block walk.

Last - but not least, the issue of our rates. One of the things that is VERY important to us is that we are a good value. We understand how expensive it is to travel, especially when you are traveling with family's. All of the people involved in the operation of this property grew up in or around the Black Hills and remember the countless family vacations we spend here. For that reason alone we have done everything we can to keep our rates as low as possible. I am not sure if we are the only property you have stayed with in the area or if you checked with other properties -- but I can assure you, we stand behind our rates and the value that we offer. I encourage you to check around and if you are in the area again, we would love for you to give us the opportunity to prove what a fantastic value we really are.

Again, Thank you for your feedback and hope you enjoyed your time in this beautiful place that we are lucky enough to call home.

Safe Travels,
Tammy Gilbertson
Brookside Motel/Battle Creek Lodge
Keystone, South Dakota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keystone hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My partner and I were on a 7 day self-contained bicycling trip of the Black Hills and spent two days in Keystone. This place was modestly priced (for this tourist town) and had good reviews, so we tried it. So glad we did. The innkeeper was very friendly to us throughout our time there and on one occasion she went well over the call of duty to help us out. The rooms, while somewhat plain and a little dated, are clean with plenty of walking room. The bed was nicely firm without any mid-mattress sagging and the bathroom/shower was fine. The washbasin was in the main room and had ample shelf space. The mini-fridge was nice to store our snacks and wine. The motel even had a supple of rags available outside the office to clean up our filthy bicycles. The best part in many ways... the room had a nice covered front porch with chairs and small table. Great place to read and have our happy hour before heading out to dinner. This place beats the pants off of your generic "modern" tourist hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graybeard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksideSD, Manager at Brookside Motel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We hope that the rest of your trip was great and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We go to the Hills a couple times a year and always stay at the Brookside! It has been years since we started staying with them and have never been disappointed! It is quiet, very clean and very accommodating. Within walking distance from town so you can walk there if you like. Also close to other attratctions. We have never had a problem asking for extra towels or anything else. The staff and the family that run it are all very friendly and always willing to answer your questions or give advice on how to get to other attractions. Love sitting out the chairs, they have on the porch, at night enjoying the quiet evening. We have seen the little brook out back when it is almost completely dry from drought to years when it is so full you wonder if it will over flow. We always look forward to our trips to the Hills and staying with the great people at the brookside. We would and do recomend this little family run motel to our friends, relatives and others that ask if we know a good place to stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at the Brookside for four days and nights. Found it to be very clean and very accommodating and very quiet. It is family owned and operated and run by family members who care about giving you the best service. We have been staying at this motel on and off for several years one to two times a year and have never been disappointed. We find it to be more family orientated then the big chain motels. Better service and friendlier people all for a very resonable price. The beds are execellent and we have asked for more pillows with no problem at all. The people that run the place will take the time to sit down and talk to you and let you know the best places in town to eat, things to see and do and what to avoid. They can also give you some history about Keystone and are more then willing to talk to any of their customers. If you want a night of rest and relaxation and friendly atmosphere then I would pick the Brookside Motel. Also as a plus just about all the rooms have a porch with chairs where you can sit and enjoy mountain air of Keystone. I would recomend this to anybody.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice most have porches you can sit and enjoy the evening air
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 14 in Keystone
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Motel

Property: Brookside Motel
Address: 603 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-2067
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brookside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing