We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Sister from Illinois”
Review of Brookside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookside Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed 30 August 2013

First of all "DITTO" what my sister had to say, but to add I will make this short and to the point. If I ever have the opportunity to visit this most beautiful part of the USA again, my home away from home would be the Brookside Motel or Battle Creek Lodge also in Keystone and owned by the same great 2 ladies. There choice of employees is excellent, Jeremy was a wealth of info for sightseeing. Kathy's homemade blueberry muffins to start the morning. Meeting all of them is part of the great memories of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at the Brookside Motel in Keystone during a business trip. The new owner, Tammy and her staff are very friendly, and have a great interest in improving their property. There were surveys in the room on items of priority which guests feel would be a good fit for the next improvements, so it's clear they are making it a priority. The rooms were simple, clean and comfortable, but a great fit for Keystone. Great location, and very close to the Mount Rushmore national monument. I would recommend this place, and I look forward to going back to see the improvements.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It was a perfect please to stay! Especially to start our 12-day adventure! It was very CLEAN, simple, and had NEW mattresses. Coffee pot in the room (thanks) and complimentary breakfast. It was centrally located for us to enjoy Mount Rushmore, Custer Park, Crazy Horse, 1800 Train from Keystone to Hill City, Black Hills, Bear Country, etc.
I talked with Jeremy Sunday morning. JEREMY was truly god sent! A room was available for two nights. Once we arrived, the air was on in our room, fresh sheets, and 4 chairs on the deck to sit. Jeremy gave us a tour of the property and is the BEST TOUR GUIDE EVER!!! He told us about the sites, great restaurants and do's and don'ts. With all the great information we received from Jeremy, we didn't waste a day. I highly recommend this place! The owners and staff made us feel right at home. BIG THANKS TO TAMMY, CINE AND JEREMY!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Brookside Motel was a great place to stay. I am not for staying in a congested hotel with a million people. This motel is in downtown Keystone were I could walk to all of the shops and not have to fight parking. For my vacation, going back and forth between the sites and the motel made my vacation much more enjoyable. The rooms are not cramped and the staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianFromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at the Brookside. It is now under new ownership and they have done a fine job making improvements. If you want a good value with no frills...just clean and you have a deck to sit outside....to enjoy also within walking distance to downtown Keystone. Our friends brought a grill along....it was fun. It is like motel/cabin so you can enjoy the gorgeous summer evenings.

Room Tip: We like the one story so you can have the deck and sit out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiemae321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyInKeystone, Managing Partner at Brookside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Maggiemae~
Thank you so much for your review! Having been raised in a family business ~ I was taught that there are 3 HUGE compliments your customers can give you. #1 - Referals to friends and family. # 2. Corrections. (If there is something wrong or something we can do better and a guest tells us - we try to never take it as an insult, but rather as an oppertunity and a compliment. A compliment in that the person cared enough to give us the oppertunity to make things right - or atleast better for the next person. #3 -- Repeat business.
Obviously, your repeat visit means a great deal to us and we appreciate the business. We also appreciate your acknowledgement of the improvements and the work that we have put into the property. If you didn't see the property prior to the improvements, it may be hard to understand all that has been done. We have many more projects planned in our future at the Brookside - and we hope that you will be back to enjoy them with us.
Again - thank you for taking time to post your review ~ and for the compliment of your repeat business.
Safe Travels ~
Tammy Gilbertson
Brookside Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a simple roadside motel with basic, clean, no-frills rooms. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are sparsley decorated and basic. The pool is tiny but clean. Everyone I met was friendly and it is clear that the management is vested in improving the property. I considered rating below average simply because at the price I paid it wasn't a value but that was because we were passing through during the Sturgis rally week and all rooms were at a premium in the area. You could probably find nicer rooms in town but I commend the management for their commitment to improving. I would recommend a visit if you can live without the amenities of a Holiday Inn and enjoybsomething a bit more rustic.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank SciGuyMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyInKeystone, Managing Partner at Brookside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our property! We appreciate you taking time to offer your constructive feed back!

As you stated in your review, and we have stated in earlier reviews - this is a new property for us. The timing of the purchase and take over didn't leave us much (if any) time to get some of the projects we would have liked to have done in time for the busy season. We did our very best to focus on what we felt were key issues for a property of this size and in this price range. Things such as the addition of a breakfast bar, making sure we had new beds and new linens (as the old ones were ... well, old..) we tried to focus on the CLEAN rooms and GREAT service and start fixing things one at a time.

Hind sight is ALWAYS 20-20. As we come to the end of the "busy season" and look back at our first year. We certainly see things that we would have done a little differently. We would have made sure that we had coffee pots in the rooms at the beginning of the season (We are THRILLED that we now have coffee pots in EVERY room!!) We would have made sure that we had blow dryers in every room. We would have spent more time and attention making sure that our Wi-Fi service was 100% connectivity on the ENTIRE property -- vs. spending money on upper grade room amenities. We would have focused our attention a little more on the little things and maybe less on some of the bigger projects. However, you don't know what you don't know. Time has been our best teacher. Thanks to guests, like yourself, who have been willing to give us feedback and tell us ways that we can improve our guests experience - we have a much better idea of what we can do to make The Brookside a better property and we are proud to have already put MANY of those idea's and things in place.

As I mentioned, we are already working to update and correct some of the issues that have been guest concerns. Starting with the addition of coffee pots in the rooms, and ordering blow dryers for the rooms. We have gotten the Wi-Fi working on the entire property and will be adding more routers and exterior antenna's to make sure that we have stronger service in the coming season. We are also working with a few local artists to "dress" up the rooms and make them feel a little more "cozy".

With all of these things, we are keeping true to our first and primary mission -- which is keeping the Brookside a family friendly and affordable lodging option for our guests. Growing up in family ran businesses and knowing the value, education, and memories that come from "family vacations" we have made it our goal from the start to keep Brookside a great property at a great rate. We KNOW it can be both.
With that said -- we want to again thank you for staying with us and supporting small and locally owned business. We also want to thank you for acknowledging how vested we are in this property. There is NO doubt that every person on this team from ownership to housekeeping is vested in the success of this business and it was encouraging to know that our efforts are noticed. We hope you will stop back by if you make it back our way -- I assure you - you will see continued improvement!

Safe Travels!
Tammy M. Gilbertson
The Brookside
Keystone South Dakota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The worst of the worst! Filthy, dangerous without smoke detectors, lying staff & owner! Double billed our credit card. Take sleeping bags into the woods before sleeping in this over-priced dump of dumps. BAD BAD BAD! Chamber of Commerce & Fire Marshall investigating this awful place. Not safe to sleep in with little ones! Stay away! This hovel should be demolished and a real motel built. We have stayed in wonderful little mom & pa's all over several continents & this was the worst! SLEEP IN YOUR CAR FIRST!

Room Tip: don't hand over your credit card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelerstimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyominglady, Managing Partner at Brookside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

To Whom it May Concern ~

I have debated on if I should respond to this post. My first instinct is to ignore it and not waste another moment of my time or energy on dealing with this Bully-Scam Artist. However, because this is a public forum and it does have the potential to impact future guests and the choices they make about lodging, I feel a response is warranted.

I believe the best way to deal with situations like this is with facts. The facts are this
1. The guest did have his credit card charged 2 times. One for EACH of the 2 rooms he occupied during his stay at the Brookside.
2. The Brookside has not now and has not EVER been under "investigation" by the Chamber of commerce or The Fire Marshall. The person who wrote this review did file a complaint with the Chamber of Commerce -- it was the FIRST complaint that has ever been filed on this business (or any of the other businesses that we have ever been affiliated with.)
3. The Brookside has recently had both State Health inspections and Fire Protection inspections. We received a 95/100 on our State inspection. The Fire inspection is an optional inspection that we pay for. This is something we choose to do to insure that we are up to code and have everything (fire exits, lights, extinguishers, etc) in optimal working condition. The state inspection is posted on-line and is available in the lobby of the motel for guests to view at any time. We welcome and encourage inspections at any time.
4. We may be new to the Brookside, but we are certainly not new to the hospitality industry. When someone calls you and tells you that they are "Doing you a favor" by allowing you to give them a room for free instead of calling the fire inspector -- it is in your best judgement to charge them for the room and call the fire inspector yourself.
5. The facts are that the person who posted this review checked into 2 rooms at the Brookside Motel. He made a claim that both rooms he had were missing batteries in the smoke detectors. Without question, we immediately remedied the situation. The guest was satisfied. The following morning, he came down and demanded that he not be charged for his stay. The Desk Clerk on duty contacted management. They agreed to look at the situation and contact the guest later in the day, after they had time to collect the full story. This was not enough for the guest. He was out of control. He tried to intimidate our staff, he "tried" to scare us by using threats of contacting the state and the fire Marshall. When this didn't work (as we had no reason to fear an inspection from the fire Marshall) He finally left. When he got home, the madness continued with repeated harassing calls to BOTH of our businesses. Demanding personal information, swearing, etc. Eventually, we had no choice but to contact the police and have a "harassment claim" put against the guest.
6. The truth of the situation is we work on the basis that our guests are ALWAYS right. We will do whatever is reasonable to make sure you leave here feeling like you got a good value and that you had a good experience. That said, I won't have my staff or my property be threatened or Bullied.

This "Guest" probably would have gotten a discount or certainly would have had a better shot at it if he would not have acted as though we were in a position we needed to buy his silence. We will NEVER buy someone or ask a guest to keep quiet about something we are doing. Wrong or right. We stand behind our staff. We stand behind our business practices. We will ALWAYS put the safety of our guests first -- and nobody will ever have to question that. So, if you ever think that you will get a room for free by telling us you will turn us in to the Chamber, the health department and the Fire Marshall if we don't give it to you. Bring your Credit Card. We will never run our business with ethics like that.

In conclusion, I would again like to say that we welcome guest inspections at ANY time. Certainly, we don't claim to be perfect -and certainly there is always room for improvement. We have learned SO much in the last 2 months. We have worked hard and will continue to work hard until we have this property in TOP shape. We have some amazing plans for our little piece of South Dakota, and we know it will be a treasure. We hope you will stop and see for yourself.

As always - Wishing You Safe Travels ~
Tammy Gilbertson
Battle Creek Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keystone hotels
0.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Motel

Address: 603 Reed St, Keystone, SD 57751-2067
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £111 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Brookside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing