We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stopped here on a family spring break road trip. The hotel was very nice and very clean. I am not sure how old the hotel is, but it appears brand new. The room was very clean. The pool area was great, and the hot tub was good and hot. The hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel had a great breakfast. The hotel was also the best priced hotel on our trip. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wispr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    219
    98
    22
    24
See reviews for
264
197
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My wife and I had another enjoyable stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels. We were upgraded (platinum level) to a corner room suite with a great big semi round window.
The staff was excellent (helpful, courteous). The pool and hot tub were nice too.

Room Tip: go offseason, very few customers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRuhnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

It looks like a nice hotel, modern, nice rooms, etc. We were dissappointed that the hotel didn't have a fitness center.

I thought our room was a nice room, until I crawled into bed with some type of bug that looked like a hybrid between a cockroach and a grasshopper. Okay, not the end of the world - kill it before my wife gets out of the bathroom and she won't be the wiser.

Mission accomplished, and I'm willing to accept that a random bug might be in the room. However, the next morning as I get up to use the toilet, I find another one perched on the top of the toilet. Where there's two, there's probably a whole lot more.

My two hopes:
1.) We didn't bring any home with us
2.) That I killed the only one that was in the bed with us

We will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thompson_sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I like most Holiday Inn Expresses and when touring will look for them. Keystone is a great town to visit. We're not drinkers but we had fun at the local bar two nights in a row watching the house band. Keystone is like an old fashioned western town. Lots of fun. Easy access to Mt Rushmore and more important Custer State Park where I saw my first Bison and then later ate my first Bison burger! Yum.

Back to the Holiday Inn. The most impressive foyer I have seen in any Holiday Inn Express. The staff were friendly enough, but not like my Holiday Inn in Richmond, BC

Best night's sleep! Best bed in any hotel. I almost asked them for the brand so I could go home and purchase one. The breakfast in the morning was included and was great. The one woman was a wonderful help and polite.

I have two complaints though. Instead of hiring a Concierge, which I personally have never seen in a Holiday Inn Express, they have a woman who cleans, and helps at breakfast and whose job it is to talk to the guests. She is loud and when I first noticed her I thought she was a guest. She takes over the conversation for lengthly periods of time and is quite boastful in her conversation. She was making her rounds, and I began to feel unrelaxed. I just wanted to relax, eat my breakfast, slowly wakeup and maybe smile at a person or two. I'm far from antisocial but this woman was too much. She actually had the nerve to approach my husband when he went to get some orange juice. He just ignored her, but what was her plan? To talk to my husband for twenty minutes and leave me alone to eat my breakfast? And it was intrusive, not a nice 'good morning, how are you today sir', but straight into demanding to know what our plans were. It was over the top and I comment to him. He said it just made her look like she was trying to get out of working as the other woman was doing all the work. The other woman did over hear me as she did take the woman into the back room and all I heard the loud woman say, was oh, I didn't realize I didn't think of it that way. And she calmed down.

I had to tell the front desk, and instead of recieving my comments as they were intended. Not critism but with the intent of letting them know. I felt it was my job to give feed back and I said it very nicely. I was totally dismissed and told noone has every complained before. The woman at the desk, in my opinion disregarded me and was rude to me. I prefaced by saying how much I was enjoying my stay there. Really its a place I could have spent an entire week! Only problem would be I would be dreading going for breakfast every morning. And why was the front desk staff not trained better. My only two complaints.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieK-SSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I had done quite a bit of research on hotels for our vacation. After spending one awful night in Rapid City at the Marriott, I was desperate to find something that we could comfortably and economically fit our family of five into. The Holiday Inn at Keystone completely saved the trip for us. It was clean and much more roomy than the "suite" we tried in Rapid City. At the Holiday Inn, the customer service was fantastic. They were so kind, so accommodating, and very helpful. It was in a beautiful setting, the room was quiet and comfy - and the breakfast was very good for an economical stay. We even had a kitchenette, which was wonderful since there wasn't an on-site restaurant. Keystone was quaint, right next to Mt. Rushmore, and a much better location than a trumped up water park hotel. My kids, ages 5 through 13, had a blast. I loved our stay here and would highly recommend the hotel to people of all ages.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

After hesitating to book a one-night stay due to some less-than-positive feedback on TA, I decided to make a reservation as we were on a very tight schedule and staying in nearby towns such as Custer or Rapid City was not a viable option.

On arriving, we were checked in quickly by a cheery and efficient receptionist. Although our room was on the ground floor just down the corridor from the lobby, we were not disturbed by any noise from the public areas. However, other reviewers are accurate in saying that noise from the room above can be troublesome. Fortunately our neighbors upstairs were quite light-footed so it was not as bad as it could have been.

The lobby is nicely decorated and the indoor pool a little larger than usual for a hotel of this standard. Breakfast is standard HI Express fare and quite adequate.

It is a short walk from the hotel to the main street, and several restaurants are close by. Mount Rushmore is about 5 minute's drive away.

I think in high season this hotel could be quite a noisy place particularly if there are youngsters running around in the rooms, but for us (in low season) it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express the last night of our wonderful vacation. The hotel and staff were great! The lady that checked us in that night was so sweet. The room was very clean, the breakfast was great, and everyone that worked at the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I have not one complaint about this hotel at all. I would highly recommend staying at this location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing