We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Carver, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. Great location - you can walk to town and only 2 miles from Mt. Rushmore. Very nicely appointed rooms. The room was quite spacious and clean. No complaints at all. Parking is on the side as pointed out in earlier reviews but wasn't a problem at all. We would recommend this hotel if you are coming to see Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationgirlSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    206
    97
    21
    24
See reviews for
258
190
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Not the least expensive, but very enjoyable stay. I don't know what the less costly hotels are like, inside. Great location - around the corner from the main touristy strip so easy to walk, but not the noise and traffic, and easy to park. though I'll bet parking a big rig would be difficult. Great breakfast for a "free continental" because it has hot bacon/ham, pancakes and eggs, plus the usual cold choices and breads/pastries/juices/fruit. We recommend it and would stay again. We faced the street on 2nd floor - room 207 - (not noisy, but might be if near the time of Sturgis motorcycle gathering) so we don't know what the other side (faced a hillside) is like. Did not use pool. Lots of families with little ones.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoDak
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Pretty standard Holiday Inn Express. The location is right off Highway 16A on the way to Mount Rushmore in the Black Hills. This location has easy access to various attractions in the central Black Hills. The rooms were not quite as nice as other HIE's that I've stayed at, no refrig/microwave. Bathroom was huge.

The breakfast was typical HIE fare - eggs, pastries, and the yummy warm cinnamon rolls. The room rate was a bit higher than most HIE, but the location in the heart of the Black Hills, in the heart of tourist season, dictates the room rates.

Room Tip: Be careful where you park, listen to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATSgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We booked this hotel in Keystone based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed! It's in a lovely location just minutes from Mt Rushmore. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. They had had quite a bit of rain, so it was interesting to watch the water rush by in the creek out front. We opened our window for the fresh air also. We walked next door to the Goldstone for some delicious Mexican food. The continental breakfast was fantastic - delicious cinammon rolls! The staff was very friendly and we loved the decor in the lobby. Really couldn't ask for anything better for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

I chose this hotel based, in part, on the reviews on trip advisor, and in part because this was one of the few hotels that had a 24-hour cancellation policy, as opposed to a 36-hour (or more) policy. I was extremely pleased with my decision. The room was clean, comfortable, and the staff excellent. The "continental breakfast" turned out to be a full "hot" breakfast, with eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, and pancakes in addition to the sweet rolls etc. Coffee, packets of cocoa and tea were alwqys available in the lobby. The pool area looked inviting, but unfortunately I became ill while there and did not use the pool. (The only downside I could come up with is the slowness of the internet in the business center--but I suspect that is a function of the reception in the area, as opposed to the hotel itself.) The hotel is walking distnce to many restaurants and shops, and only about a 3 minute drive up the mountain to Mt. Rushmore. If I were to make a return visit to Mt. Rushmore, this Holiday Inn Express would be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttercup62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stopped here on a family spring break road trip. The hotel was very nice and very clean. I am not sure how old the hotel is, but it appears brand new. The room was very clean. The pool area was great, and the hot tub was good and hot. The hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel had a great breakfast. The hotel was also the best priced hotel on our trip. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wispr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

My wife and I had another enjoyable stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels. We were upgraded (platinum level) to a corner room suite with a great big semi round window.
The staff was excellent (helpful, courteous). The pool and hot tub were nice too.

Room Tip: go offseason, very few customers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRuhnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing