We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very nice Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here one night of course to see Mt. Rushmore. Hotel is in a good location, clean, and friendly staff. Breakfast was good and we had no issues. Free wifi was nice because we had been in Yellowstone for three days and I had not checked email (don't tell my work). Slept well and the bathroom was clean. No complaints.
On a side note, we called the hotel the day of our arrival and were told no rooms were available. So, I called the Priority Club hotline and they were able to find me a room. Hmmm... I hope I did not cause someone who had a reservation the chance to stay here? If that was you, I am sorry...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    222
    101
    22
    24
See reviews for
267
200
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed for two nights in September 2013. We had a great large room (311) with side lounge and all amenities, free WiFi etc. Good nights sleep. Guest laundry used (only one wash machine so pick wash time carefully!). Reasonable hot breakfast choice. Did not use pool. Hotel location is excellent just a five minute walk from the main street which has many shop and restaurant choices. Three mile drive to Mount Rushmore and seventeen mile drive to Cray Horse memorial (both a must to see.)

Room Tip: Room 311 was immediately above the front door and lobby and if available a good one to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

[Had posted this review earlier, wanted to add some new information, shown in brackets below. Fair is fair.]

As other reviewers have stated, this property is in a very convenient location for visiting Mt. Rushmore, which why we stayed there. But so are all the other hotels in Keystone. We chose this one because of the reasonably good reviews and the fact that we have a good Priority Club relationship. Big disappointment.

They gave us a "suite," which we didn't need and didn't reserve. it consisted of one room in two sections. The first had the bathroom, a kitchenette, a sleeper sofa, a TV on a chest of three drawers slightly larger than a nightstand, a coffee table, an end table, a small dining table with two chairs, and a very small window. This area had no overhead lighting and only one floor lamp, so it was very dark. The other section had the king-sized bed and nightstands, a second TV, and a cabinet under the TV with shelves. Except for the shelves there was no clothing storage in the sleeping area, and the only drawers were the three small ones under the "living room" TV.

The sleeping area was directly over the hotel entrance and one wall consisted of a large arched window over the entrance. So the only ventilation in the whole place was the one small window in the living room. So even though we were in the Black Hills where the evenings are delightfully cool, we had to run the A/C the entire time. (Did I mention that the only A/C unit was also in the living room?) Finally, the bathroom was on the opposite end of the suite from the bedroom, so we had to leave a light on all night so we could find it.

We asked for a different room and were told there were none available, and that this was their "nicest room." We asked for an extra lamp so we could see our clothes in the tiny dresser. No dice. We asked for a second luggage rack. Again, no. Finally, we asked for a fan. You guessed it. In no case was there any apology for the situation.

I guess I wouldn't be so upset except for the fact that the staff, while pleasant, didn't really seem inclined to respond to any of these concerns. [On the other hand, when a bottle of wine we'd placed in the refrigerator rolled out and shattered onto the floor, they did come up to the room pretty quickly to help us finish cleaning up, especially vacuuming the floor to eliminate the broken glass.] That and the fact that this hotel costs substantially more than most of the other hotels in Keystone, which we had assumed would justify a higher quality of lodging and service.

[Also edited to add: Several reviewers have complained about the "employee parking" out front. When we checked in it was explained to us that this is controlled by the city and is for city employee parking, not hotel employees!]

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneToughMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear OneToughMommy,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for taking the time to write this review.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your expectations on room condition and fixtures and we are truly sorry for the lapse in service from our staff. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed the last week in August during the week. The cost per night with a Senior Discount was $180.00 way overpriced for what was available. The restaurants in town were not offering buffets because the number of visitors were low. Some of the attractions in the town were closed. There was no fitness center that I could find. I asked for directions at the front desk to a local tourist attraction and the person did not know what I was talking about.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center that I could find. I asked for directions at the front desk to a local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms, and an attractive hotel. Good breakfast buffet. Great location with being very close to Mt. Rushmore. Didn't expect this nice of a hotel from Holiday Inn, but it was a pleasant surprise. We managed to find parking on the lot, but it was crowded. Didn't understand all the other parking by the hotel and along that whole strip of hotels and shops where it was reserved for employees. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK_StCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were very happy with this hotel & wished we'd booked a few more nights. Keystone is a charming town to visit as is Hill City, nearby. We booked a suite & it was very comfortable & clean! Breakfast was crowded, yet awesome!! We will stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesflowers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Room Was Good. Carpets Need Shampooing. All the staff were very nice. Not enough parking. The majority of the parking lot is employee parking. Do they have that many employees?? But was a nice hotel and we would stay there again but parking needs to be fixed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angd3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing