We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for Rushmore.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Rushmore.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Checked in late at this hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

The room was clean, beds were comfortable.

Parking is a bit tight, but we had no problem getting a spot. It is a very short drive to Rushmore.

Definitely would recommend this hotel if you're crashing for a night or two in the area.

(Walk over to the bar/restaurant in the next parking lot over, they were very nice there too)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    206
    97
    21
    24
See reviews for
256
190
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We only stayed one night in this hotel due to being evacuated due to rising flood waters. The staff friendly, room good size and clean. Beds and pillow very comfortable we were very disappointed that we had to leave. Thanks heaps to staff we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern,PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

So glad we chose the Holiday Inn in Keystone over other options. Driving through town it looks really touristy, but when you turn down the side street for this hotel it is more peaceful. The front desk staff was absolutely delightful and caring. We had mailed two boxes in advance of our stay that were too heavy to take on the plane. They were at the front desk when we arrived. There is a washer and dryer close to the front desk which was soooo convenient, as we desperately needed it. Only $1 to wash a load and $1 to dry. Again, front desk staff was helpful in getting quarters and buying detergent and dryer sheets (also just $1 each). The lobby area is really charming and warm and inviting to sit and chat. Breakfast was good the next day. Really close to Mount Rushmore if that is where you are going.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After two sleep deprived nights trying to fit "everything in" on a trip to Mount Rushmore, we needed a quiet place for a good nights rest. I actually think this is a decent enough Holiday Inn but it was pricey for off season. It needs some attention to detail and a refresher on professional dress code. Other than that the room was clean and we were able to open the windows to the hill out back and breathe fresh air for a nice 12 hr snooze. Breakfast was nothing special but sufficient to quick start the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonny132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear bonny132,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we
are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights in September of 2013 for our visit to Mount Rushmore. Great place, comfortable beds and clean. The parking was the only negative, even though we ourselves had no problems. Small parking area. Great location to Mount Rushmore!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom in good shape. The problem with the property was the inflated price and the lack of parking. The other annoyance was a very loud nearby bar. Breakfast was okay but the breakfast room was too small for everyone. The hotel was within walking distance of downtown Keystone and Mount Rushmore was a short drive away. When we return to Keystone we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Sue K,

Thank you for your candid review. We are delighted to read you liked your room accommodations. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here one night of course to see Mt. Rushmore. Hotel is in a good location, clean, and friendly staff. Breakfast was good and we had no issues. Free wifi was nice because we had been in Yellowstone for three days and I had not checked email (don't tell my work). Slept well and the bathroom was clean. No complaints.
On a side note, we called the hotel the day of our arrival and were told no rooms were available. So, I called the Priority Club hotline and they were able to find me a room. Hmmm... I hope I did not cause someone who had a reservation the chance to stay here? If that was you, I am sorry...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing