We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Even though it was the ONLY hotel open it was wonderful. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The lobby was very entertaining to my children since it was decorated with animals and buffalo fur like a bass pro shop just smaller. The breakfast was ok yogurt, cereal, there were warm items but the cinnamon rolls were hard.Overall quick check in and good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    205
    97
    21
    24
See reviews for
252
190
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay - the only negative is that there are limited restaurants and other amenities in this town and area in general. You are close to many of the attractions in the area so it's a trade off. During the winter except for the hotel everything else in town is closed and you will need to go into Rapid City.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and well kept. The breakfast offers variety and I appreciated the coffee/tea/cocoa in the lobby 24/7. I will say that this is the first hotel in all of North America that I've stayed at over the last year that didn't have a microwave in the room. This would be an extremely helpful feature - especially in the off season since virtually nothing is open in town.

The pool always had the cover on which I had to take off myself and the front desk was a little hard to get their attention. But I guess for a stay during the off season I got what I should expect.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Lauren R,

We value and appreciate your feedback. It was good to read you found the hotel clean and enjoyed the breakfast that was served. I apologize some aspects of our room amenities did not meet your expectations. Your comments and suggestions regarding the microwave and staff service are appreciated and will be used to ensure these area is improved on.

Once again, thank you for your review. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irkutsk, Russia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

When my family decided to visit Mount Rushmore, I read all Tripadvisor reviews about hotels around and chose the Holiday Inn, because it was very close to the Monument and offered good price for the traditional comfort. Finally we stayed in 2 room types - standard twin #302 and suite with jaccuzi #104 and both were really good. I agree with some reviews that the elevator works strange, but we did not have any troubles with that. Fortunately, we moved to the ground floor for the second night and it was more convinient for us. The staff was really nice and helpful. The property is located a little bit out of the main street and you have to walk to local restaurants. There is a neat antique store nearby, even if you do not buy anything, it is interesting to look. The swimming pool is also good. The breakfast area is pretty tiny, and you can take food to your room instead of sitting in the crowd. Internet works all right.

Room Tip: I would ask for the first floor, especially if you bring enough luggage with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, pool of the lobby, free breakfast and its right near Mt. Rushmore.

The room was a suite. King sized bed and pull out couch there was also a kitchenette, with sink, micro and coffee maker. The room as well as bathroom felt a bit old but ok. The decoration was typical Holiday Inn Exp.

One note the area around Keystone is pretty boarded up in the winter. There seemed to be either 1 or 2 restaurants open in town and maybe 4-5 rooms filled in the hotel. I am surprised they are open year round.

I would suggest staying in Rapid City if you visit Mt. Rushmore in the late fall or winter as you will find a better selection of places to goto dinner and its only about 20 minutes drive from Mt. Rushmore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowetide8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Lowetide8,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to read that you liked our rooms and the included amenities. However, I am sorry that only limited number of dining options in the area. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Keystone is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was expecting a bit more from this property as the photos made it seem a bit more of a luxury hotel than it turned out to be. There were a few problems with our stay. The elevator door would only close if you walked out of the elevator than jumped back in before the door closed. I used the stairs after the first two times.

Also our toilet would run unless you flushed it twice. We told the people at the desk and they wrote down a message to check and get it fixed. I assume that they did.

The desk staff was nice enough, but I've had much friendlier at most other hotels. The free breakfast was sufficient, but again, I've had much better.

If the price was right, I would stay here again, but I wouldn't pay extra for it.

Room Tip: The best part about this is it is only 3 miles from Mt. Rushmore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMother0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear AMother0f2,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with our facilities and services. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Just what you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. Room was clean and quiet. Free breaIkfast was nice. Free WiFi worked well. Basic but adequate. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants and it was a short drive to Mt Rushmore. If you come off season don't expect Amy of the attractions or shops to be open.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Halems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing