We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Best location on keystone, close to Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Check in was awkward and unfortunate. One lady was crabby and wouldn't make eye contact and the other young lady was so shy and quiet we couldn't even hear her. Played some dumb game to win points that was a complete waste of time. To the hotel staff: seriously don't bother... Just check us in with a smile, that's all I ask. Other than that experience the hotel was wonderful. The stuffed animals in the lobby were a little scary but oh well! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esayed84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here off-season and were very comfortable. The location is very close to Mt Rushmore. The staff was friendly and efficient. Indoor pool and spa, very clean. Breakfast was good - scrambled eggs that tasted like real eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy. Staff kept the breakfast bar well-stocked. Definitely would choose this hotel again. Walking distance to restaurants (only one was open, but that was because of off-season, and it was satisfactory).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NightowlCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The location is convenient to Mount Rushmore, Black Hills National Forest and Custer Park. Down side is most of the town is closed in April. Wasn't thinking that it wouldn't come to life until sometime in May, so my mistake. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Nice location and convenient to Mount Rushmore. Off-season stay. Very comfortable room. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly. Quiet area. would be a good place to stay during peak season. Shops and restaurants within walking distance of 2-3 blocks. Mount Rushmore, Black Hills National Forest, and Custer State park all within driving distance (2-3 miles).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9320Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I chose this hotel based on photos. It looked like a newer hotel, clean, some nice amenities. I had some initial issues at check in that started with Expedia but due to the hotel being understaffed and not prepared to handle issues like mine. It took over 45 mins to get my room key and after 9 hours in a car that was a punch in the stomach. On a Friday night at 7pm they had one person working and based on the number of guests they had and people continuing to come in the door I feel they could have staffed more appropriately. As for the room, the bathroom wasnt as clean as it should have been, then finding out the toilet seat was broken and nearly ending up on the floor... icing on the dirty cake. The bed was not comfortable and I barely got any sleep the 2 nights I was there. The pool was over chlorinated and you could feel it in your eyes walking in there. The hot tub was foaming something and didnt look appealing.All in all this Holiday Inn was no different than some old hole in the wall 1970's version but with new counter tops and LCD TVs

Room Tip: You pay for what you get.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Amy C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This area gets a lot of Visitors and for being an older but updated hotel, it's a great place to stay near Mt. Rushmore. We visited off Season, so most of the town was closed, but this hotel was busy with kids at the Pool and Hot Tub. There is a Restaurant & Bar Next door so grabbing a bite to eat was a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived in the off season during Spring Break. The Hotel is amazing as soon as you walk in the door...very welcoming. The presentation of the lobby was perfect for the area we were visiting, taking you away from what was going on in the real world. The free coffee/tea/hot chocolate was located at the door for customer convenience 24/7. Our room was exactly what we expected...large, clean, quiet and met all our needs. Another quality is its location, 5 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and within walking distance of all the stores and Perks of Keystone...Park your car at the hotel and walk, it's beautiful.

Room Tip: Most stores in Keystone were not open yet because of the off season, but we had a good time anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone

Address: 321 Swanzey St, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £49 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing