We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

I am a fan of the Holiday Inn Express chain and this hotel did not disappoint. We stayed two nights out of our six day visit to South Dakota and this hotel was the best one in our stay.

There were three in our group, we had the extended suite with two queens and a sofabed. The room included a wet bar with fridge and microwave. The sink turned out to be extra handy when the bathroom was occupied.

We had good internet and phone service, the latter was surprisingly non-existent throughout most of the Black Hills/Badlands area (we have AT&T).

The beds were very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast included hot and cold options.

The hotel is located in Keystone, and is about five minutes from Mt Rushmore. I definitely recommend this place for all travelers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    205
    97
    21
    24
See reviews for
252
189
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Just stayed 6 nights at this hotel, below is my critique
1. Staff for the most part is "friendly" willing to answer questions.
2. Rooms are clean and well maintained
3. Public areas are also clean and well maintained.
4. Breakfast is plentiful but is your avaerage hotel breakfast, eggs, biscuits and gravy, assortment of beards, yougart and cereal. Katherine and Juan who staff the breakfast area are both very freindley and pleasant.
5. The pool is cool to cold (somedays colder than others), when you question the front desk staff there response is: we keep it at 82 degrees, any warmer causes stuff to grow in there - forgive me but I thought that was what chlorine is for????
6. The hot tub was hot 2 days, the rest of the days it was barely lukewarm, the front desk staff would assure us they turned it up but it never did warm up, they said the temp showed 104 degrees, NO way, it was slightly warmer than the pool.
7.This hotel is a short walk to the Boardwalk, good location.
8. Be sure you park in the hotel lot, the ticket if you park on the street.
9. Has 1 washer and 2 dryers, bring your own supplies, they charge $1.00 for a small box of detergent and 2 dryer sheets. Washers and dryers are both $1.00per load. (they are frequently busy, need to have more washers for a hotel this size)
10. "Business Center" consists of 1 computer and NO printer.
All in all we were happy with our stay and would return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momiam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Keystone is expensive and therefore it is hard to get value for money. The room was clean and adequate. The lounge was very nice. A good place to have a coffee and read the paper. The breakfast area was too small. We had to take our food back to the rooms a couple of mornings. This wasn't too much of an effort as we were on the first floor but would have been a pain otherwise. The breakfast itself consisted of cooked items , pastries, toasted items and fruit. There were also cereals and yoghurt. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel was in a good location for walking into town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cam405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
376 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Stayed there on a quick stop at Mt. Rushmore. Only downside was a crowded breakfast area with mediocre breakfast food. The accomodations were fine but skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gstrange8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We booked a stay here at the last minute after going one by one through the top rated choices in the area on Tripadvisor, and this was the first one with availability for the days we needed. The hotel was decent but in my mind overpriced for what you get.

Positives:
* nice sized rooms
* nice beds
* walking distance to shops and restaurants
* close to Mt Rushmore, and the other attractions in the area
* no major cleanliness issues that we noticed

Negatives:
* poor breakfast area (very small) as many others have noted, Ok food
* parking could be problematic if the hotel is full. Note that much of the close parking is marked for a 3 hour limit, or you will be fined so be careful where you park (see attached pic - the red sign is saying 3-hour parking in the lot out front).
* next to a biker bar. One of the days of our stay the bikes took up much of the hotel parking lot, though they didn't stay long.
* no fridge or microwave in our room, unusual at this higher price point
* priced $40-60 high in my mind based on other comparable recent stays other places

I did mark "recommend", though if we came back to the area, we would look for one of the higher rated hotels in the area. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

I booked this hotel almost a year in advance and got a very good rate. Contrary to the recent reviews I thought this hotel was great - nice size rooms, very good beds, a decent bathroom and although the breakfast room was small, the food selection was much better than the typical continental breakfasts and included cheese omlettes or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurts, fruit, muffins, etc.- what more could you want? The location is great. Short walk to the main boardwalk and next door to a great mexican restaurant - GoldStone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Positives were a clean room, easy walk to downtown Keystone, and a short drive to Mt. Rushmore. Other than that, not worth the price. Not enough parking area, small breakfast area, and hot tub was not clean according to my wife. The water is really hot! Since their coffee isn't all that good, we went shopping and got the Starbucks single serving pack. You could make it from the hot tap water. Overall not a bad hotel if priced no more than $115 a night. There really isn't any difference between this hotel and any other HI Express.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy1957_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's White House Resort
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, P.O. Box 430, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing