We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saved our vacation”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I had done quite a bit of research on hotels for our vacation. After spending one awful night in Rapid City at the Marriott, I was desperate to find something that we could comfortably and economically fit our family of five into. The Holiday Inn at Keystone completely saved the trip for us. It was clean and much more roomy than the "suite" we tried in Rapid City. At the Holiday Inn, the customer service was fantastic. They were so kind, so accommodating, and very helpful. It was in a beautiful setting, the room was quiet and comfy - and the breakfast was very good for an economical stay. We even had a kitchenette, which was wonderful since there wasn't an on-site restaurant. Keystone was quaint, right next to Mt. Rushmore, and a much better location than a trumped up water park hotel. My kids, ages 5 through 13, had a blast. I loved our stay here and would highly recommend the hotel to people of all ages.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    225
    101
    22
    24
See reviews for
273
202
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

After hesitating to book a one-night stay due to some less-than-positive feedback on TA, I decided to make a reservation as we were on a very tight schedule and staying in nearby towns such as Custer or Rapid City was not a viable option.

On arriving, we were checked in quickly by a cheery and efficient receptionist. Although our room was on the ground floor just down the corridor from the lobby, we were not disturbed by any noise from the public areas. However, other reviewers are accurate in saying that noise from the room above can be troublesome. Fortunately our neighbors upstairs were quite light-footed so it was not as bad as it could have been.

The lobby is nicely decorated and the indoor pool a little larger than usual for a hotel of this standard. Breakfast is standard HI Express fare and quite adequate.

It is a short walk from the hotel to the main street, and several restaurants are close by. Mount Rushmore is about 5 minute's drive away.

I think in high season this hotel could be quite a noisy place particularly if there are youngsters running around in the rooms, but for us (in low season) it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express the last night of our wonderful vacation. The hotel and staff were great! The lady that checked us in that night was so sweet. The room was very clean, the breakfast was great, and everyone that worked at the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I have not one complaint about this hotel at all. I would highly recommend staying at this location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Service was excellent. Although the front desk was busy, we were checked in quickly and warmly welcomed. Staff recommended the Goldstone restaurant next door and even provided a coupon. The pool was a little too chilly but the hot tub was nice. Lobby decor was enchanting reflective of the rustic Black Hills.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApostolicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband and I arrived at the Holiday Inn Express in Keystone in the fog after a tiring drive. We were given a good size room with a comfortable bed, but our room on the 2nd floor (read 1st floor for British visitors) was overlooking the lobby which, although attractively located and appointed, proved to be rather noisy. As the property was busy the night we stayed, our fellow guests proved to be rather noisy and inconsiderate, banging doors in the early hours and talking loudly as they came past our room. Not the hotel's fault, but the sound proofing on the bedroom doors could be improved.

However, the breakfast was fine with a variety of breakfast items available and there was plenty of seating in the breakfast room.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and tidy.

The hotel is well located for Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse, as well as Deadwood and Spearfish Canyon.

I would recommend the hotel to other people, providing they are not hoping for an interrupted night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Didn't know what to expect but all in all the HI express was a good place to stay and use as a base for Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park. The rooms were fine, clean and comfortable and the front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants. Good breakfast, but the dining room was crowded and we had to take our breakfast to our room but other than that not much to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canuck in Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This was probably the strangest holiday inn express I have ever been too. The lobby was cluttered with way too many lodge type decorations and it all seemed a little grubby. We used the laundry facilities and wished we hadn’t. If you appreciate big, dry patches of unwashed clothes when you are done then this washing machine is for you. The bed was comfortable and I was amazed because it looked like it was going to be a long night. The room had a generally dated appearance. The breakfast was the same as every other location, which is fantastic if you like it. I loved Rushmore, but didn’t care for Keystone or this hotel at all.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lusciouskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 14 in Keystone
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Address: 321 Swanzey St, Keystone, SD 57751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is located at the base of Mt. Rushmore in the bustling historic town of Keystone, SD and central to all family-approved attractions. Just minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone is a new, deluxe hotel architecturally designed after the magnificent look of Mt. Rushmore. Come and enjoy our Great Room as you relax around our 3-sided fireplace featuring a Western/Native American flair. The hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed internet access, business center, and a large pool and hot tub.Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new continental deluxe Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring biscuits & gravy, bacon & eggs, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll, and much more. Visit Keystone, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Keystone
Holiday Inn Express Keystone
Holiday Inn Keystone
Keystone Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing