We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was pleased with the room we were provided. It had a king size bed that was very comfy. It had a fireplace, plenty of windows and was clean. We arrived last minute and this was all they had left, decent rate and a great room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina4237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked this hotel through the South Dakota tourism site (it was recommended to me). I did not realize that there were different choices in rooms until we arrived at the hotel. Once inside the room, the thought of spending 4 nights there was daunting. They were booked and could not give us a newer room (at an added cost) and we would have had to contact the tourism site to try and get our money back. We ending up staying. The room was damp and smelled terrible, several other families complained as well. It was not clean. Over the course of 4 days, breakfast was a mad house and there was never enough food, the wifi did not work on our wing of the hotel at all and nothing in the room was replenished (soap, coffee, etc). Often there was no where to park when you returned to the hotel in the evening. Also, most mornings, there was no hot water, the shower was lukewarm at best. The only positive things I can say about this place is it has a great location for spending time in the Mount Rushmore area. We usually left early and came back late to spend as little time as possible in this room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shann0n1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I feel like this hotel is a bit of a bait and switch...they have two sections of the hotel - the "old" section and the newly remodeled section - when looking at the photos online and reading comments online I now realize most of the great reviews were of guests who stayed in the new section. I thought that is what we were booking as well - and when we checked in then went to the front desk to ask if we could move to one of the suites and (of course) those rooms were booked up. So basically we were in a very standard hotel room. The other downside of booking here was that we paid a price of $130+ a night, but once we arrived in keystone saw prices for the hotel advertised at $49.99 a night. Availability might be an issue on busy weekends but paying over half for the hotel room would have been great. Breakfast was also a bit of an issue - very crowed, people running for the food that was brought out, and not enough of anything they served. We got by on the breakfast for the few days we stayed - but it was not the best experience or way to start the day.

The one plus I will give this hotel is the location - a little out from the "downtown" of Keystone (only by a few blocks) but still close to restaurants, a little strip mall with subway, coffee shop, and a dairy queen - and only about 2 miles from Mount Rushmore, close to the Black Hills, Crazy Horse and other attractions. And since we left each morning around 8 and didn't get back to the room until 9-10pm each evening we thankfully didn't spend much time in the actual room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We ended up staying the king bed suites with Jacuzzi tub on the third floor. The room was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was an added bonus that there was a fireplace and it was covered in granite and the bathroom also had granite. The front desk help was friendly.This hotel is in the back and does have limited parking but is away from the more noisy areas which I liked and was a good 10 minute walk to get to downtown. The only downfall was there was a limited breakfast for a couple of hours and there was only 22 channels for the TV. Granted we were busy most of the day but when we came back at night there was very few limited selection on what to watch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Pretty nice place. Nothing over the top, but not a dump. Had to ask for towels several times. Pretty decent breakfast. Limited parking though. Missed some of the extras like free newspapers and they really had limited children's channels on the TV. We really only slept and bathed there as we were bust from sun up to sundown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Our room was great. Everything was very high end and nice. The location was good too we could see Mt. Rushmore from the hotel. There were many things to do. We enjoyed the stay but the breakfast was lacking. Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgans32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I'm not sure what the suites in this hotel are like but the standard rooms on the front of the hotel leave a lot to be desired. Upon arriving we found our room to smell VERY moldy when the air was turned on, the staff quickly moved us to another standard room without a moldy smell. The room had an exterior entrance, so we often had to walk through a gauntlet of smokers sitting in lawn chairs outside of their rooms- not fun. The room itself was in need of updating. The chain lock was broken, the bathroom ceiling was peeling and the carpet was dirty. The breakfast was mediocre and only available for 2 hours! The pool was MUCH smaller than it appeared on the website and they ran out of towels.. Maybe most disappointing was the promised wifi didn't work the 2 nights we stayed there. On the plus side it was off the main strip and was quiet at night. It was very convenient to Mt Rushmore and within walking distance of all the shops in the area. The beds were comfortable and shower water pressure was good. Overall I would recommend people look elsewhere in Keystone, but would work as a last resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a new suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Address: 320 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £50 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing