We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family trip to Mount Rushmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family trip to Mount Rushmore”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from a 4 day vacation to South Dakota. We really enjoy this hotel. The suite was very spacious. We had 2 queen beds in the back, with a sleeper sofa in the living area. It was very clean and pretty. We did have one window in the back bedroom. But we were not in the room much during the day, so it didn't really matter. The staff was very helpful. My only negative was there was a very nice sink area, with a microwave and refridgerator in the eating area with a large table that seats 6. But...the only wastebaskets were your typical small hotel wastebaskets. A large one would have been nice. We did travel with food and brought in pizza and had no where to get rid of the garbage. We would definitly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndi3164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    118
    46
    15
    9
See reviews for
213
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

From the outside, Rushmore Express looks like a cheap motel. Previous reviews suggest that the front rooms also imply this. However, the lobby and the suites look more like a mid range hotel. We stayed in a family bunk bed suite. The suite was very long and narrow. At one end, sofa and tv, a large dining table, then a set of bunks, a kitchen area, bathroom and finally a twin queen bedroom (which was separated from the rest of the suite by a door). The bedroom had a window. The suite was very nice, but felt incomplete. The addition of a stove and/or oven and some cutlery, crockery and utensils and it would have been much better. Breakfast was back in cheap motel territory - limited choice of food and basic furniture. However, we did not experience the same crowded room as previous reviewers. I recommend Big Time Pizza in the hotel next door. Grizzly Creek Restaurant is also nice. Avoid staying in Keystone during the Sturgis motorbike rally unless you are keen on bikes. The bikers were very friendly but there were lots of them and the noise in the village did spoil our stay. The hotel is on the edge of the village and very quiet when inside, which was a blessing. The pool is nice. Although I have expressed some reservations about this hotel, I recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Mount Rushmore.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here the end of July. Since we were traveling with a family of 5 we booked a suite! It was wonderful!! As previous people have said - you have to book a suite!! The other rooms are basic with doors to the outside and not as plush. The suites are inside, near the pool and just very nice. The bathrooms are big and the suites have nice space for a family of 5.
The breakfast is very basic - but our kids were fine with it. We all found something to eat each day.
We didn't spend a ton of time in our room - so no windows to the outside was fine! Parking was not a problem, they have extra space past the hotel, which worked well for us.
Great location. The staff was friendly and very helpful! They made excellent recommendations for restaurants too!!
We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel if you book a suite!!

Room Tip: Book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked this hotel largely based on reviews on this site, along with photos on the website. Based on the reviews and web photos, we knew we would be spending the additional money for a suite. The regular motel rooms looked quite dated, and after walking by the rooms and peeking in the windows, I could see the pictures did not lie. On the other hand, the pictures for the suites were extremely accurate as well, as the rooms looked exactly as pictured. We had a 2 queen suite with separate living area, fireplace, 2 flat screen tv's, and marble bathroom. The room was huge with ample storage. Cleanliness was superior. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, as was the sofa in the living room. Interestingly, we lucked out and had an end suite with windows, so we had no issues with sunlight. Our room was across from the pool, but we were not bothered by the noise from there at all.

Unlike some other reviewers, we had no housekeeping issues. Our room was cleaned meticulously, and trash was removed daily.

Parking is a bit tight here, but as long as you don't get back too late (after 8 p.m.), you will get a spot. Parking is tight at all hotels in Keystone, and this one was better than others.

Big Time Pizza is right next door at the Roosevelt Inn, and it is an excellent place to eat. The pizza is some of the best you will find anywhere.

We found the young staff very pleasant and accomodating. They seemed to care whether guests were having a good experience.

The only disappointment with the hotel was its breakfast. It really needs work in this area. As others have mentioned, choices are limited. The French toast sticks were cold most of the time, but you can heat them in the microwave. The waffles are basically thawed out Eggos. There were no bagels; they did have muffins and cookies as mentioned by others. I'd highly recommend investing in a couple of waffle makers, particularly for the price of the rooms. I would also recommend starting the breakfast earlier than 7 a.m. for those who wish to get on the road to attractions. Despite the poor breakfast, I still give this hotel a five star rating due to the superior quality of its suites. The suite was one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Based on what I saw, I would not give a motel room a rating of this caliber.

I highly recommend this hotel for those vacationing in the Black Hills, but be sure to book a suite. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slrtravelplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

The Keystone Express is tucked away behind the Roosevelt and easy to miss when driving into Keystone. We stayed in a suite in back of motel hotel. Room was clean but lack of windows made it dark with no view. Breakfast was just ok. Hard to not recommend but think there are just as good of options with views so price would dictate a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were in a suite on the backside of the hotel so no view but the room was great. We had a huge sitting area with a fireplace. Bed was very comfy. Room was clean. Continental Breakfast was very basic. Only complaint was that they cut off the breakfast at 9:00 am.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappinGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I will definitely stay here again, staff were very accomondating and helpful. We were street side on 2nd floor ad loved the view. We were her beginning of Sturgis week and room was quiet. Close to Rushmore and across from zipline. We loved the Pizza next door.

Room Tip: Street side 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
7.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Mt. Rushmore's Washington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Property: Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Address: 320 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, the Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that the Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing