We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect except for breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms/suites are exquisite with spacious sitting area and granite fireplace and kitchenette with fridge, microwave, and small sink. The bed was comfortable and the bath was clean, spacious, and had a heated granite floor. The things that turned us off on breakfast were the herd of guests that acted as if they were the only ones that mattered..I know the hotel has no control over this. The second thing was the taste of the boiled eggs...we both only took one bite and had horrible tastes in our mouths. I mentioned this to the hostess and was told that they have to buy their eggs in buckets of brine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cgb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for the review, and for choosing Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your suite and your experience with us. Thanks also for your feedback on breakfast.

This response is not only to your review but also to other similar ones recently that have left constructive feedback regarding our complimentary continental breakfast bar. As a result of your feedback we've decided to change up how and what we serve to make it more suited to our guests needs. There are some things we cannot easily control (the attitude of the person in line in front of you) and other things we can and have (the way we serve you). We have recently redirected foot traffic, expanded our seating (including a new outdoor seating area), and revised our menu to make the breakfast experience more comfortable and enjoyable for our guests.

And regarding the eggs in brine: thank you for bringing this problem to our attention. This last week in response we've made some changes so this issue should not be a problem for you or for other guests in the future.

Thanks again and have a wonderful 4th of July!

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the first time 6 years ago and the room was so amazing that we booked here again for this trip. The family suite is huge. We stayed in an interior room (no outside entrance from room) and once again...The room was wonderful. The bathroom is huge for a hotel room. Beds were very comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Shower pressure was great too. They offer complimentary breakfast as well. Nothing fancy..cereal, oatmeal, bread, eggo waffles and hard boiled eggs. I would suggest offering fresh fruit and yogurt as well..it served the purpose but if your wanting a hot breakfast...This won't provide it. Peggy ' s is up the street and serves breakfast until 1pm and is very good. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is clean, very friendly and the room is well worth the price. Our family had an amazing time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an older remodeled hotel with a nice pool, nice Breakfast and friendly staff. We stayed in the original part of the motel, it looks like there is a newer section with more modern rooms in the building attached to the pool and spa. My kids loved the pool, parking fills up as this is a tourist town, no doubt. I would stay again for the price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Icensnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. We had two suites, both of which were luxurious; and with two queens in one room and a sofa in the living room, one would have been plenty for our family of four. Location to Mount Rushmore and town were excellent. Rooms were clean and included mini fridge, microwave. Beds were comfortable. Hot tub could have been cleaner, Wifi was slow. The price was a tad more then we would have liked to have paid but comparing it to the going rate for a nice hotel in Keystone, this was a good value. Which is why the sad breakfast is the only reason this is not a 5* review. Frozen french toast sticks, Poptarts might be a tasty for grandkids but we bailed and opted for a local diner as an added cost to our stay.

Room Tip: If you need to stay in Keystone this is a great place but for to visit all of the Black Hills, we fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen4kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello and thank you for the by-and-large very positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your time in your suite, we tend to get great feedback on the space. Thanks also for sharing your thoughts on your time, we always appreciate hearing of any ways we can further improve.

Regarding wifi: Keystone in general tends to struggle with wifi speed, since we don't have broadband out here (though ironically Mt. Rushmore does, 2 1/2 miles away…go figure). We've done our best to update it, and while this year it's been faster than ever, it does struggle from time to time. Our apologies for your inconvenience during your stay with this.

Thank you as well for sharing your thoughts regarding breakfast. Unfortunately we don't have the same prepping capacity as most of the restaurants in the area, so our complimentary continental breakfast does tend to be simpler than the local diners. However we always appreciate feedback, and this is an area we're currently looking to further develop, to make our guests' experience here as comfortable as possible.

Thanks for sharing your experience! We hope to see you again at the Express.

Sincerely,

Jennifer G, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful and the perfect choice for families. The room is spacious and is beautifully decorated. The L- shaped configuration gives privacy and roominess. The bathroom is oversized and is all marble. The family room furniture provides comfortable space after long days touring. The best part is that it is tucked back from the main drag but easy walking to many shops and restaurants. The staff is extremely friendly plus good parking. The reason for a 4-Star is that there is no window to the outside. There is one window that looks out into the hallway. If you are claustrophobic this might not be a good choice. Regular hotel rooms do have exterior doors and windows with a view of wooded hills and a zip line.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

On behalf of the Rushmore Express, thank you for your business, and for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a wonderful time in your suite and enjoyed your stay. (We love the rooms too, but maybe we're biased?) And I'll pass on your feedback to our staff, they do a great job.

Thank you as well for your feedback on the inside room. A total of 9 out of our 84 rooms are inside rooms, with a window to the hallway instead of outside due to location. We find that some of our guests love these rooms for the privacy and security of not having an outside window, and other guests have a harder time with the lack of natural light. In the future for your stay, or for any guests preferring more natural light, I would suggest making a note of it with your reservation; or if you call the hotel directly, request a non-inside room. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this!

We hope to see you again at the Express!

Thanks,

Jennifer G, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is up the street from all of the hubbub of tourist Keystone. It is quiet, well appointed and the front desk service was very helpful. I would make a point of staying here again. We were late checking in, but no problems at check in. Restaurants are close by and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hill6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICK G, General Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

hey thank you so much for your wonderful review. we hope to see you again sometime soon. it is pleasure to serve folks like yourself and offer you a pleasant comfortable stay. We take service seriously and seek to reach out to all everyone that walks through our doors. I hope the rest of your vacation in the Black Hills was a joy.
thank you again and have a wonderful year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I called about an hour before our arrival to confirm our reservation and they were not able to find my name. I reserved a room with 2 queen beds and was upgraded to a suite with a king size bed and an adjoining room with bunk beds and a pull out sofa at no extra cost. Both rooms were huge and very clean. They both had granite fire places and large bathrooms. All of the staff were very nice and accommodating. The breakfast wasn't the greatest, they ran out of a lot of stuff and the room they have to serve it in was not near large enough. The staff did their best with what they had. The hotel has a great location - many attractions only minutes away and many only a short drive. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 344 & 345. The entrance to these rooms was on the inside. There were some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Great! We're glad you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed your room despite the snafu with your reservation. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Jennifer G, Manager
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Mt. Rushmore/Keystone
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Address: 320 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £50 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing