We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a family suite for my family and Grandpa and Grandma and it worked out great! Plenty of room for all of us. Only thing I would change is the space in the breakfast area was very crowded. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Wonderful! We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us, and that your room worked out well. We tend to get a lot of good reviews on our Family Suites, as they're perfect for (as the name would suggest) families but also provide a high-end and comfortable hotel experience.

As far as breakfast, thanks for the feedback. One thing I think you will be happy to hear is that, since you stayed with us in June, we have expanded our breakfast area through providing outdoor seating as well. Breakfast is still bustling but it is now more spacious and with more options for seating.

Thanks and we hope to see you again at the Express!

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The room was not at all like the pictures. Not a good value for the price! We were on the 1st floor; rooms had not been remodeled here. I didn't take my shoes off for fear of walking on the carpet! People above us were noisy. Trouble is they charge a cancellation fee; otherwise, I for sure would have gone elsewhere. They ran out of food for the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites. We always appreciate guest feedback, whether positive or constructive.

On behalf of the Rushmore Express, I would like to begin by saying I am sorry your overall experience appears to have been quite negative. In the future the best thing to do would be to talk to one of our front desk staff or managers about your frustrations, as I believe many of them could have been averted. While we do have a no-cancellation policy, we do make exceptions, and we would have gladly moved you to a quieter room (or to one that better matched your expectations) or, if need be, let you out of your reservation had you brought up your concerns with us.

In regards to food running out for our continental breakfast, I will make a mention of this to our staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

As for the value, we would encourage any future guests to do a price comparison of other hotels in Keystone with comparable rooms and amenities, as we are incredibly competitive price-wise with other hotels here, and are actually underpriced.

As far as the first floor not being remodeled, I would like to add as an aside that the entire hotel was significantly and comprehensively renovated in 2005-06. Our Luxury Suites were added then, and the rest of the hotel was remodeled, so your room (including your carpet) should have been quite clean and fresh. Our Country Rustic rooms look vastly different from our Luxury Suites, and we do have 6 different room types, so perhaps this may have been the source of confusion with the pictures. Our website has excellent pictures of our different room types for future reference.

We hope you have a great summer,

Sincerely,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Visit Keystone every other year for the last 18 years and always stayed at the same motel (tradition) so glad I decided to break tradition and stay at the Rushmore Express. Stayed in the family suite, 2 queens, sofa sleeper, and bunk beds, very comfortable beds, bathroom clean and spacious, kitchen area wonderful with bar stools around, big dining room table with couch and sitting area. Great location, could easily walk downtown, will definitely stay again, I think we have a new tradition.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hailscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Fabulous! We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. Our family suites are definitely one of our most coveted room options here at the Express. Thanks for taking the time to review us and share your experience, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful family suite for a very reasonable price. Great pool area and friendly staff. Close to everything in Keystone. Microwave, 2 TVs, extra sink, fridge, granite counters, comfy beds, sofa sleeper. Very Luxurious Room! Shorter breakfast time (2 hours) but still a decent breakfast. Wish we had more time to enjoy the room!

Room Tip: Loved Suite 135 directly across from pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEM71988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Great to hear! Thanks for choosing Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, and for the positive review. We're really glad that you loved your stay and your room. Have a wonderful summer, and we hope to see you again at the Express!

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had newly renovated rooms inside the hotel. The hotel is a converted motel. Some rooms are still motel style. We only payed $125. The suites were very large with fireplaces. My friend had her two kids along and there was ample room in the suites. Her suite did not have a window which was a little odd. Breakfast was less than average. French toast stix, eggo waffles, bagels, toast, little Jell-O shots. By 8:45 they were almost out of everything due to the bus traffic. I would stay again in the newly renovated rooms with a window inside the hotel but go somewhere else for breakfast. Maybe PowderHouse??

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsprenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very friendly staff, the front desk attendants were great. The room/suites were awesome and quite, we stayed in the newer section of the hotel. They were spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was huge and everything was very clean. Breakfast was good, it does get crowded though. The kids loved the pool and hot tub. My family and I will definitely stay there again the next time were in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thanks for the great review! We're really glad you had an excellent experience with us. Thanks also for the positive and specific feedback, we love our facility here and our housekeeping team does a terrific job. Take care and we look forward to seeing your family next time you come through,

Jennifer G
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms/suites are exquisite with spacious sitting area and granite fireplace and kitchenette with fridge, microwave, and small sink. The bed was comfortable and the bath was clean, spacious, and had a heated granite floor. The things that turned us off on breakfast were the herd of guests that acted as if they were the only ones that mattered..I know the hotel has no control over this. The second thing was the taste of the boiled eggs...we both only took one bite and had horrible tastes in our mouths. I mentioned this to the hostess and was told that they have to buy their eggs in buckets of brine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cgb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer G, Manager at Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for the review, and for choosing Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your suite and your experience with us. Thanks also for your feedback on breakfast.

This response is not only to your review but also to other similar ones recently that have left constructive feedback regarding our complimentary continental breakfast bar. As a result of your feedback we've decided to change up how and what we serve to make it more suited to our guests needs. There are some things we cannot easily control (the attitude of the person in line in front of you) and other things we can and have (the way we serve you). We have recently redirected foot traffic, expanded our seating (including a new outdoor seating area), and revised our menu to make the breakfast experience more comfortable and enjoyable for our guests.

And regarding the eggs in brine: thank you for bringing this problem to our attention. This last week in response we've made some changes so this issue should not be a problem for you or for other guests in the future.

Thanks again and have a wonderful 4th of July!

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
0.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Keystone
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites

Address: 320 Cemetery Rd, Keystone, SD 57751-2062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Keystone
Price Range: £54 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel located 2 1/2 miles from Mt. Rushmore, Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites combines comfort, convenience and elegance for a truly monumental stay. An indoor pool and hot tub, Fitness Center, in-room wifi and a complimentary continental breakfast are just a few amenities that Rushmore Express offers, along with guest laundry and available meeting rooms for groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Express Keystone Hotel Keystone
Rushmore Express Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing