We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool and clean!”
Review of Powder House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Powder House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhart
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool and clean!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location and a welcomed change from your basic "hotel" room. We stayed in the smaller 8 room "hotel" since all the cabins were booked and we were not disappointed....very clean, nicely decorated and you could pull right up to your door and unload the family. Wish we would have eaten at the restaurant (ate at Ruby's instead - would not recommend -too pricey for small portions) Front desk was very helpful and our kids loved climbing the rocks and "exploring". Great and easy access to Mt. Rushmore and all Keystone has to offer. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms there were great too, especially for just a one night stay - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    88
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
102
124
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
omaha ne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at Powder House Lodge the week of the motorcycle rally in sturgis. We had stayed here years ago in a clean little cabin, but this time the only availability was a room in the eight room hotel. The hotel is up a side gravel road nestled in the hills. We were very pleased with the room. It was nicely decorated and very clean. The cleaning service did an excellent job everyday. We ate breakfast three different days at the restaurant on site and it was very good. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and they were kept very busy with all the bikers. We ate dinner two times and the prime rib was delicious. We had come to attend Sturgis week and like the location. Close to many attractions. Overall we were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fostoria, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay here in July...cabin 26 king bed...on motorcycles so this cabin was great could park on the pavement right in front of cabin...close to restaurant and pool which was heated. We didn't ride up the hill where the rest of cabins were so I don't know if drive is all the way paved...parking places by cabins are stone. Cabin was clean...bed comfortable and we heard no highway traffic at all. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent...be sure to try their brownie...melts in your mouth...breakfast was ok. The staff was very good at check in and out....servers at the restaurant hmmm not so good....but this place gets busy so maybe just too much for them to handle at times.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAgent026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed in a family cabin for a week in July of 2013. Cabins well maintained and very clean. Cabins are built at different levels on the side of a hill amongst tall pine trees. Location is great. Five minutes to Mt Rushmore and many attractions within 15-20 minutes in all directions. Powder house restaurant at base of hill also excellent. Has reasonable prices, excellent food and open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Have stayed here twice now and will stay here again next time in the area.

Room Tip: even if traveling as a couple, if you plan on spending any time relaxing in the room you may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWD435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in Cabin 22 and found it to be quiet and very comfortable. The location was central to everything - Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Fort Hayes and more. The staff was very helpful and even let us check out after dinner since we were planning to leave early the following morning.

We had several dinners at the restaurant and the food and service were excellent. It was nice to have a place we could walk to at the end of the day.

We would definitely stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luz2run2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We are so impressed with the quality of this little gem. Not much to look at if you don't look closely but the accommodations are extremely clean and comfortable. The Powder House Restaurant is fabulous! The food is the best we found in the surrounding area. We took the dining special with the room reservation (which we never do) and were gainfully rewarded. The abundant menu variety, meal presentation and portions, the wine selection and pricing was better than I would have ever expected. I thought the accommodations would be loud as they are located near the busy street but they were not at all. The General Manager, Ben, is a good businessman and very professional. He went above and beyond to insure our comfort. BTW, the pool was very nice, clean, and refreshing! We stay in top end hotels and have travelled extensively but Powder House was above our expectations especially considering all the options in the area. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Book early and get a room toward the pool area if available but if not, you will still love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regina,sask.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We tried to rent a cabin but they were all full so we stayed in the motel which turned out to be great. Big, nice clean room. The swimming pool was very clean and never crowded. Overall this is a great well run place

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carguy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
1.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
6.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder House Lodge

Property: Powder House Lodge
Address: 24125 Highway 16a, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Keystone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Powder House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powder House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder House Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing