We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Powder House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
K Bar S Lodge(Keystone)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Keystone)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Keystone)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roosevelt Inn(Keystone)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
167
97
21
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
97
21
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribhoneymoon cabinnice cabinblack hillsstuffed quailfront porchbreakfast and dinnermt rushmorewooded settingoff the highwayking bedhot tubmini fridgeparking areacoffee makerlog cabinwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We're on our "dream" trip out west and stopped here while we visited Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Custer State Park. We stayed in one of their motel room, just up a drive from their cabins. We were on the second floor, so it was kind of a drag to cart all of our "stuff" up the stairs. The room was comfortable enough, especially after 2 nights at a very poor place back down the road. The bed is worn and barely passable, but the worst of it is the EXTREMELY noisy air conditioning unit. There is a small window that can be opened, but the road noise is tremendous as it's right on a highway. If you turn the air off, it gets REALLY stuffy REALLY fast, so it's very poor sleeping when you're wearing yourself out trying to see everything. It was clean and has very reasonably priced coin laundry ($1.00 per load) located just downstairs. The very best thing about this place is the restaurant. No free breakfast, but they do give you 10% off some very good food. The hotel is conveniently located to all the attractions, while not being in the middle of the hubbub downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjcachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the Powder House for a long weekend, Thursday til Sunday. Arrived late Thursday night, no problem they just left the key and directions to our cabin on the office door. We were surprised at how efficient the cabin was set up. We rented the Deluxe Family Cabin. We had 3 adults and 2 children staying in the cabin, it was enough room. Though not too much time spent there during the day as we were out enjoy the Black Hills area. The loft was perfect for the children, 8 and 11. The kids enjoyed the pool. We ate several times at the restaurant on the property, very good food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location and a welcomed change from your basic "hotel" room. We stayed in the smaller 8 room "hotel" since all the cabins were booked and we were not disappointed....very clean, nicely decorated and you could pull right up to your door and unload the family. Wish we would have eaten at the restaurant (ate at Ruby's instead - would not recommend -too pricey for small portions) Front desk was very helpful and our kids loved climbing the rocks and "exploring". Great and easy access to Mt. Rushmore and all Keystone has to offer. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms there were great too, especially for just a one night stay - great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifford W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at Powder House Lodge the week of the motorcycle rally in sturgis. We had stayed here years ago in a clean little cabin, but this time the only availability was a room in the eight room hotel. The hotel is up a side gravel road nestled in the hills. We were very pleased with the room. It was nicely decorated and very clean. The cleaning service did an excellent job everyday. We ate breakfast three different days at the restaurant on site and it was very good. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and they were kept very busy with all the bikers. We ate dinner two times and the prime rib was delicious. We had come to attend Sturgis week and like the location. Close to many attractions. Overall we were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay here in July...cabin 26 king bed...on motorcycles so this cabin was great could park on the pavement right in front of cabin...close to restaurant and pool which was heated. We didn't ride up the hill where the rest of cabins were so I don't know if drive is all the way paved...parking places by cabins are stone. Cabin was clean...bed comfortable and we heard no highway traffic at all. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent...be sure to try their brownie...melts in your mouth...breakfast was ok. The staff was very good at check in and out....servers at the restaurant hmmm not so good....but this place gets busy so maybe just too much for them to handle at times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgent026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews