We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Powder House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Powder House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had wanted to stay in a nice cabin on this vacation instead of a chain hotel, so we chose the Powder House Lodge. It is centrally located to all of the Black Hills attractions, but is just outside of the town of Keystone in a wooded area so it is more peaceful. We stayed in All American cabin #45, which is just up the hill past the pool and not near any other cabins so it was very nice and quiet. The cabin itself was clean and comfortable with 2 queen beds, a fridge, microwave, sink, a small table and two chairs, flatscreen tv, and A/C. The large front porch had a nice swing that our daughter loved to sit on every morning. The outdoor pool was clean and refreshing. They didn't have a breakfast included, but offered guests a small discount on breakfast in the on-site restaurant. The food and service at the restaurant were excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again on a future trip.

Room Tip: The All American Cabins are located furthest from the road so they will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkmsMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our room was nicely furnished, quaint, clean & comfortable. However, we were in one of the very front cabins. The highway was very noisy, we used earplugs to drown out the noise. The pool was great. Ambience is wonderful. The restaurant was a little spendy $$$. The food was good, so the value was there. Close proximity to Keystone by car. We would stay again in a cabin farther back.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin away from highway road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatgoeswrongwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a great little place, Nice restaurant on site. Nice little cabins to stay in. Nice room. Loved it. 4 pillows and soft. Nice rocker chair. Room is more than clean and nicely done. quiet even though it is off the main road. Near downtown Keystone for shopping and night life. And a good price.

Room Tip: Stayed in 1 of the end cabins of 4 units to have less neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have visited the Black Hills lots of times since I was very young. I have stayed in everything from chain motes, historic hotels, rustic cabins, lodges, etc. As I've gotten older and have come to appreciate the little touches and qualities of the places we stay I was thrilled to have found Powder House Lodge. My husband and I spent a beautiful night in a cabin and what we appreciated the most incuded the super comfy matress, LOTS of yummy pillows, heat lamp in the bathroom, coffee maker, high quality toilitries, our swing on the front porch, the quietness of the property, high quality dining on site, satellite flat screen television and the super cleanliness of the cabin and property. Therer is nothing chintzy about this place!

Room Tip: After staying there for the first time I discovered there really isn't a bad location on the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My bf and I stayed in the smaller 1 bed cabin near the restaurant. The price was reasonable.
The room had a small fridge and a microwave. The only time we would be in the room would
be too sleep. The room was just right and clean. There was a couple of chairs in front of
our room to sit outside in the evening. Being close to the restaurant was nice and convenient
to get a cup of coffee eventhough there is a small coffee maker in the room. Overall.. very happy with the place. The staff was real nice and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IneeMeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I had cabin #56 up on top of the hill. Very nice, clean room and lots of space. The beds are great.Staff was very friendly and helpful. The Powder House Lodge is about 2 miles away from Keystone which was great. Had prime rib at the restaurant. The food there is really good. It was nice after sightseeing you could have a great meal and go right to you cabin!!!! Yes I have stayed here many times and this is the only place I will stay at when I'm in Keystone!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radio_Nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a duplex cabin near the front of the property. You could hear a bit of the traffic from the road but not enough to bother us. The cabin was very large with a full size bath (something that we came to appreciate after so many cabins with little tiny showers) There was a hair dryer already in the bathroom, WiFi access was good, the porch on the front of the cabin was shared with the other side of the duplex but it had a small table and 2 chairs and was nice for relaxing and watching the stars. I saw a flock of turkeys in the morning make their was from the road through the property. We met a couple earlier in the trip that had stayed in the motel portion of the property and had wonderful things to say about those rooms. They gave us a bag of ice each morning to start out for a day trips. They also brought in fresh towels even though we were only staying 2 nights. There was a window unit AC/Heater that warmed the room nicely in the cool evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnualAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keystone
1.6 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.5 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
5.0 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
6.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder House Lodge

Address: 24125 Highway 16a, PO Box 714, Keystone, SD 57751-6641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Keystone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Keystone
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Powder House Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Powder House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powder House Hotel Keystone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing