We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Powder House Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
K Bar S Lodge(Keystone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Keystone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookside Motel(Keystone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
167
97
21
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
97
21
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribhoneymoon cabinnice cabinblack hillsstuffed quailfront porchbreakfast and dinnermt rushmorewooded settingoff the highwayking bedhot tubmini fridgeparking areacoffee makerlog cabinwould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had reserved one of the All American cabins up on the hill. Unfortunately, this is a steep gravel hill and not at all easy to negotiate on a motorbike. They did warn us about this beforehand and indeed once we arrived it turned out to be a no go for us. Thankfully they had another cabin available and although it was a duplex we never heard our neighbors and as we were out all day this was never an issue. The cabin itself was clean and very comfortable, with a perfect bed for a sound nights sleep. We were fairly close to the road but were never disturbed by the traffic.
It is a short drive out of town but in a lovely scenic location. We had dinner two nights in the Lodge restaurant and the food and service was excellent both times. We ended up purchasing a meal ticket with our room, this was good value at $85 for $100 to spend in the restaurant. However, we were never asked whether we wished to buy this or not - it was just added onto our invoice. I have to assume that there is a choice if you did not want to get it. Just something to be aware of when checking in.
We had consistently good WiFi access in our cabin # 28.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed at Powder House several times over the years and have never been disappointed. There are both cabins and hotel type rooms. We prefer the cabins, they are rustic yet modern inside. Office staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The dining room a very good selection , we have eaten there breakfast and dinner. It can be noisy but was not on this last trip. It is only moderately handicap friendly, there are uneven steps to each building.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We rented an all American cabin which was very nice and located up the hill. It had a porch with a nice view and we also had diner in their restaurant. The outdoor pool was nice but the only negative about this cabins is the noise the road in front of the cabins make. In the cabin we had you won't hear it at night with the airconditioning on but we were having breakfast at the porch and then the cars and trucks you hear are annoying

Room Tip: Again try to book a cabin that is as far away from the road as possible
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was a great place to stay! Staff was very professional, helpful, and friendly. Restaurant served some of the best food we've ever had. The sweet Italian dressing or bleu cheese dressings are a must! Cabins are quaint and clean. The upper cabins are even more private. Our three-year-old son loved the porch swing and my husband loved grilling on the deck. Overall, it was a great experience, and if we are ever in the Black Hills again, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: If you want seclusion, choose a single cabin, numbers 45-57.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here on a motorcycle trip with my wife and several friends. The staff was very friendly and the rooms and lodge were all very quaint. We stayed in the 4-room lodge building, which was up a flight of uneven stone stairs. The room was fairly clean, but was infested with spiders everywhere. It was bad enough I had to ask the front desk to call an exterminator to spray. I think they did because when I returned that evening, I didn't find as many spiders.

There are also chairs to sit on the porch outside which is a nice touch.

The Lodge also has a restaurant attached which is extremely tasty, and one of the big draws for us to stay there was to try to the game meats that are served.

Stayed July7-9.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews