We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed”

Gutzon Borglum Historical Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
Ranked #11 of 21 things to do in Keystone
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were expecting to see more of how Mt. Rushmore was built, but instead got a look into the life of the sculptor Borglum. While the audio tour was very informative, the building and exhibits needs an update. It looks like the building and exhibits were made quite some time ago and it has never been updated. We would not return here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlbug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    15
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It doesn't look like much from the outside but the inside will not disappoint. The history of Gutzon Borglum and Mt Rushmore is amazing. Such a talented man. Go here first before going to Mt. Rushmore. You will have a greater understanding of everything. The cost is $10 a person or $25 per family and this includes an audio tour of the museum. A must do!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do This Before Your Visit to Mount Rushmore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped here and spent 1 hour viewing the movie and taking the audio tour of the museum. Who knew that Gutzon Borglum was such a talented and diverse creator of not only art, but inventions!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RichlandTripsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Gutzon Borglum Historical Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

While an old building and too dimly lit I found this to be very interesting. The audio tour aided for a better experience and I enjoyed the film at the end even thought the film is old It provided good info.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“visit this before Mt. Rushmore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Learned alot about the artist and his passion for the creation of such a striking monument. Really enhanced our visit to Rushmore

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gutzon Borglum Historical Center also viewed

 

Been to Gutzon Borglum Historical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing