We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great trip into the badlands”
Review of GeoFunTrek Tours

GeoFunTrek Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For those seeking a high-quality, day-long guided tour in the Black Hills and Badlands of South Dakota with exceptional guides - GeoFunTrek Tours is the answer! Specializing in Custom Tours, Private Tours and Traditional Family Tours, we bring the region to life in ways that are fun and memorable. We will work with you to design and deliver your personalized "Dream Tour". We use a rich mixture of local knowledge, history, geology, paleontology, poetry & folklore to take you places that few experience. Our tours are unique, intimate, and emotionally satisfying. We have the knowledge and experience to craft truly exceptional tours that you will enjoy and remember for years to come. Join us in the comfort and safety of a Sprinter van or Honda Pilot SUV for a day to remember.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

John Esposti is a veritable fount of knowledge; geology, history, culture, anthropology, paleontology, and poetry (!), all of which he freely dispenses and shares in the most friendly, interesting way. He knows this area like the back of his hand and he goes out of his way to make the tour just what you want. Although his background is technical, he explains what you are seeing in plain language that makes these ancient formations speak to you. His communication is superb to all levels of his guests regardless of age. Just a fabulous experience.

Thank BernieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

It never ceases to amaze me how much the Badlands affect visitors (and myself) in so many amazing ways. Thank you for sharing your experience with me and other guests. Come back and see us again some time and we will visit more amazing places in this great land of ours.

Take care and travel safely,

John Esposti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cowboy poetry"
in 11 reviews
"private tour"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 12 reviews
"thanks john"
in 5 reviews
"crazy horse"
in 34 reviews
"custer state park"
in 35 reviews
"black hills"
in 39 reviews
"mount rushmore"
in 19 reviews
"sunset tour"
in 3 reviews
"south dakota"
in 14 reviews
"needles highway"
in 13 reviews
"pinnacle point"
in 2 reviews
"geology museum"
in 3 reviews
"badlands tour"
in 4 reviews
"rapid city"
in 12 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 3 reviews
"dropped off"
in 2 reviews
Filter

104 - 108 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our tour into the Badlands of S D with John was called "Sunbeams and Moonbeams". It was the highlight of our entire trip to the Mt Rushmore area! He had so much knowledge to share about this amazing location. He knew where to take us for sights that were breathtaking. We were able to hike into the Badlands as well, and view the stars, planets, and satellites in the dark! We saw wildlife everywhere. The most spectacular part was watching the sun go down in the Badlands knowing how lucky we were to witness this amazing moment! It's something most people will never see. Go to the Badlands with GeoFunTrek!

2  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear E W Family,

It was a treat for me to get back to the Badlands and see so many wonderful features. The real treat was the night sky. Mother Nature never fails to deliver, in one way or another. Good luck with all your future ventures and trips.

Travel safely,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Despite a snowy surprise, John showed up right on time developed a customized itinerary for us and delivered an excellent day. His knowledge of the area, desire to provide an exceptional experience, and wonderful nature make John a guide I would definetely use again. Also, I have to mention John's talent for reciting poetry at exactly the right moment. What a great experience! Thanks John!

Joe from North Carolina

1  Thank JoesueFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Joe,

Thanks for spending such a great day with me in the Black Hills. I will always remember the Bison in the Park and how close they came to us and their unique behavior on that day.

Travel safely,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My daughter and I had a great day with John touring the Badlands. We started at the Museum of Geology at the School of Mines and Technology where he explained to us the theory behind what we were about to see. It enhanced our appreciation of the real landscape so much. Despite the park closure due to the government shutdown, John navigated us around areas that had public access so we were able to view practically everything. He also gave us great tips on what to see on the remainder of our trip that we would never have thought of such as the Mammoth Site in Hot Springs which was excellent. If you are in South Dakota definitely take this tour. It's excellent.

Thank NJ_Travel581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Amy,

anks for spending a great day with GeoFunTrek Tours. Hope the rest of your trip was wonderful as well.

Travel safely,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

John was great, so knowledgeable about the area and the geology. Due to the government shutdown we were unable to enter all the roads to the Badlands and Mount Rushmore National Park was closed, but with John's knowledge, we saw the Badlands and Mount Rushmore, although slightly restricted it did not spoil the tour. We got some great photos. The hike up Bear Butte was unforgettable. The snow and the foliage at Spearfish Canyon was unforgettable. We would definitely recommend Geofun Trek Tours.

Joyce & Phil (UK)

Thank Philip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoFunTrek, Owner at GeoFunTrek Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Joyce & Phil,

It was great spending three days with he two you in the Black Hills & Badlands. Your sense of wonder and your appreciation of what we have here made it a treat to spend time with you.

Thanks again,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GeoFunTrek Tours also viewed

 

Been to GeoFunTrek Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing